Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

I first learned of HUA on Facebook, and being the animal lover I am, I "liked" their site immediately. I have a soft spot for Chihuahuas, so I checked their inventory. ;) I already had a Chihuahua and really wasn't in the market for another dog, however I was drawn to little Sarita in a instance. An elderly little girl who spent way too many years in a puppy mill. I fell in love with her and knew I had to have her. I knew she needed to live with us and be spoiled beyond belief.
The online application process was a breeze. I was contacted within a few days and had a volunteer interview us at our house a few days later. I think it's wonderful how concerned HUA is with making sure their dogs go to good, loving homes.
My daughter and I made a trip to Auburn to get our new girl. The volunteers were all so friendly and helpful. We've had Sarita since November 2013, and she is such a sweetheart. She learned to potty outside almost immediately. Old dogs DO learn new tricks. :) We will definitely return to HUA for our future fur babies!
February 22, 2014

more

February 22, 2014

HUA always puts the animals first and that is why we were drawn to them when looking for a new family member. We visited once and we weren't able to see many dogs because it was late on Saturday and they didn't have many volunteers around to help, which I understand because they rely on volunteers. We did see a few wonderful dogs through the fences and came back the following week during hours that were better for them (around 11 am). The volunteer was very personable and brought the German Shepherd we wanted to see to meet us in the obstacle course area. She was very shy and they explained to us her story and everything they have noticed about her so far. We fell in love and went home with our sweet Zoe (known as Constance at HUA). We are so lucky to have found her and HUA was the match maker. They do a good job and have a lot of animals who need homes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

I was looking for a dog, I found HUA through a friend and searched their website. I was lured to the shelter by a cute little fluffy pup, however the little guy had already been adopted out. I visited the shelter while in Nebraska for the holiday. I was overwhelmed by the kindness of all the volunteers/staff. They provided information about EVERY dog that was in the shelter and asked many questions of myself to help make the right fit between me and my potential new pup. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the conditions in which the dogs were kept. There were many staff and volunteers available to help facilitate all of the happenings between prospective adopters and dogs. Due to traveling, I had to make arrangements to pick up my dog a few days later. When arriving at the shelter, they had Jeremy all packed up with leash/harness, papers, and jacket (it was negative zero outside). They all gave him hugs goodbye and you could feel the compassion in their hearts when they had to say farewell. A few weeks after I had brought him home, an HUA rep contacted me to ensure that things were going well. Jeremy has been a PERFECT fit in my home and I am truly blessed at the care they provided for him during his homelessness. They are truly wonderful people providing a phenomenal service. The animals adopted from HUA are well cared for and loved during the time they need it the most. Each of those dogs/cats will be soon adopted and it is a reassuring feeling knowing that the time they were in HUA was spent being loved so their transition to a new home will be rewarding for the people as well as the pups!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

We had been following Hearts United For Animals online for several years. Last year we visited there and were immediately impressed by the caring people. The animals all seemed to love them and you could tell that they were loved right back! A couple of months ago HUA posted a picture of a momma and her puppies that were found under a bush after a severe rainstorm. I IMMEDIATELY fell in love with a little black and tan female named, Skittles. We had lost two of our beloved pets within a year of each other and our little Schnauzer was lonely. I contacted HUA and they set up an in home interview with a local volunteer. We were approved and within a few weeks we went and got our little girl! She is a joy and the people at HUA were terrific. They are always helpful and will answer any questions you have. Their first and foremost concern is the welfare of the animals. I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to adopt a pet or looking for a worthwhile organization to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

We had been searching to adopt a Dachshund and when we found the Hearts United for Animals site, and the story of Monty, we knew we found the perfect fit – both with this brave young dog and in this wonderful no-kill organization who had rescued him from a disgusting puppy mill. Their mission to shut-down puppy mills and to educate is so important, and the care they take of each animal is so admirable. Their website is clear and easy to navigate, and they include lots of great photos of the animals, along with their stories. I found the adoption process very easy and thorough, the people I worked with are caring and professional, and when we were quickly approved, they were able to fly little Monty to us. I now follow their postings on Facebook, which are timely, and both heartbreaking and uplifting, and when the time comes to adopt another dog or cat, they will be the first place we will contact – but in the meantime, we will continue to support them as they continue to support the animals and animal rights – their Amazon Wish List is a very easy way to help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - they know what they are doing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 5, 2014

I have not only adopted 5 dogs from HUA, I have also visited the shelter, met some of the directors and volunteers. I have spent time in the sunroom and in the big field, watching dogs heal. Carol Wheeler, the woman who started this is a tireless advocate for the animals. I could not imagine a better organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...figure out how to have a national fund raising campaign for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We adopted our Tess from Hearts United for Animals 10 years ago. She was rescued from a puppy mill. We have followed their work ever since and spent time volunteering. HUA is a godsend for puppy mill dogs. They receive amazing care and are kept happy and healthy until they find wonderful new homes. We will always be grateful for our Tess and for the thousands of other dogs that HUA has helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

It is with pleasure to provide a review of Hearts United for Animals. I started following HUA on Facebook a year ago. I would see their postings, read the heartfelt stories of the animals coming into HUA and then being adopted into happy homes. I would watch their frequent HUA contests they would have showcasing their dogs up for adoption and I would donate $10 as they posted in need, but it wasn't until recently I started seeing the work they do more closely.

I recently adopted a nine year old puppy mill survivor from them. I was a new adoptee so I was put through their process of qualifying a good home for their dogs. I was so impressed by their thoroughness and their attention to detail in making sure that the people who adopt their dogs are committed to spending a lifetime with their animals. And I was even more confident in HUA when we signed the paperwork for my new dog that included an agreement that if for some reason I cannot care for the dog I adopted that I would agree to give the dog back to HUA. HUA makes a lifetime commitment to their dogs they rescue.

HUA is beyond amazing and the people there are simply incredible! I am beyond grateful for HUA and they will forever be in my thoughts and prayers for the work they do on behalf of animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

A truly great charitable organization to both donate to and to adopt a pet from, we have done both. They truly care about their cause and you can clearly see your dollars at work. They have several ways to donate, one of which I thought was a great idea, it's a wish list on Amazon where you directly buy the supplies that they need and they ship to the facility, in this case you know exactly how your contributing. I would encourage anyone in the area to make the drive and meet the staff and volunteers and see the open book that is this charity, something that seems to be harder to find these days. For those that are further away rest assured your donations are being used wisely and don't let distance stop you from adopting, they arranged for our dog to be flown to NY for us to pick him up, it was a great experience from start to finish.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more funding and perhaps satellite facililties in larger cities to help spread awareness and put these pets in homes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have been a long-time supporter of HUA. They rescue dogs from puppymills. They take in dogs that have come from closed down shelters, hoarding situations and any other reason a dog may need their help. I have sponsored Sanctuary Sweethearts for many years. These are dogs that are very intimidated by people and often have to stay at HUA their whole lives. This is a wonderful NO-KILL shelter for dogs and I am proud to be a monthy donor and also a lifetime supporter of HUA.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers