Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 8, 2011

more

July 8, 2011

The American Hearing Research Foundation is a worthy organization that provides small grants to worthy investigators to initiate their research. Both basic science and translational research grants are funded on a one year cycle. Manny AHRF funded investigators later apply for and are awarded larger NIH grants.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing the high quality of the reports of the funded grants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like the organization to be able to award more than the 5 grants annually. There are many worthy grant applications submitted each year that are able to be funded.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a friend.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

continue to number of grants funded annually.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Fund more research projects than the usual 5 per year.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

Founded in 1956 by Dr. George E. Shaumbaugh, Jr., The American Hearing Research Foundation serves two vital roles: to fund significant research in hearing and balance disorders, and to help educate the public.

We fund 5 to 10 research projects per year, with an average grant of $20,000.
These research projects cover a wide range of research areas and are conducted with the hopes that we might better understand how we lose hearing and balance functions, how we regain them, and, most importantly, how to preserve the function we still have. Recent topics include “Development of Audiovisual Integration Skills in Deaf Infants Following Cochlear Implantation” and “Otolith Function on the Cardiovascular System.” Please see our list of Funded Grants from the last several years.

As a not-for-profit organization, a major source of our income is through donations. We have received generous contributions from individuals, corporations, and institutions, and continue to rely on these donations to fund future research.

We have created this Web site as a means to help educate the general public on many aspects of hearing and balance disorders. Here, you will find general information on many common ear disorders, including descriptions, causes, diagnoses, and treatments. References are also included as a source for further information. We also publish a Newsletter, available by subscription, as well as a number of pamphlets on a variety of topics.

Our Board of Directors comprises a distinguished panel of experts in the fields of hearing and balance, medicine, and business. Our Research Committee includes clinicians, researchers, and educators who evaluate Grant Applications and select the most promising ones.

http://www.american-hearing.org


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've met several people that have been helped by research that the AHRF provided initial seed money for. It is good to be able to meet people who have directly benefited from the reseach we fund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like to see the AHRF continue to grow and provide even more money for more reseach in it's effort to address hearing related problems to the point when they are essentially eliminated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

How did you learn about this organization?

A close associate asked me to become a board member more than 10 years ago.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Funding great research that produces results and strategically growing and becoming even more effecitve in it's mission.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To essentially emilinate hearing related disorders.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2011

more

June 24, 2011

The American Hearing Research Foundtion provides monetary support for scientific projects that have great potential in alleviating hearing loss. Hearing loss is a common sensory disorder with wide-ranging impacts that include impaired language acquisition in deaf children and social isolation and depression in adults who lose their hearing later in life. ~33% of American adults begin to lose their hearing between the ages of 19 and 44 years (NIDCD), and this is likely to increase with the widespread use of portable music players.

The funding provided by the foundation allows young investigators the means to pursue their own line of independent work in the auditory field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

These seed grants are important for young investigators, like myself, who are just beginning to pursue thier own line of research. The American Hearing Research Foundtion has provided me the opportunity to start a new project that shows great promise for alleviating hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hearing loss is a widespread sensory disorder that affects the quality of life in many individuals, but underappreciated by the general population. I would increase the resources provided by the AHRF to match the magnitude of auditory disorders.

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

The AHRF has provided me with start-up funds to collect pilot data regarding the effects of progressive hearing loss on the auditory brainstem. My team and I are now able to investigate some important unanswered questions about hearing loss. These data will form the basis for future grant applications to federal funding agencies.

The AHRF has been instrumental in providing seed money to young investigators just starting out on their own course of research. As the federal budget tightens, these seed grants become more and more essential to making the transition to independent investigator.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

obtaining funding for my research project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the amount of awarded grants.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers