Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2011

As a health professional working with older adults with hearing loss I became aware of the extremely valuable role played by the HLAA through its support of individuals with hearing loss, its ability ... more

October 28, 2013

HLAA is making a major difference to the lives of persons with hearing loss through its outreach activities and work informing policy makers. Many of the benefits that are available that enhance everyone's ability to communicate and stay actively engaged in the community are made possible partly by the efforts of HLAA. It also provides a wonderful network of individuals who can share their experiences and learn from each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its overall visibility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2011

As a health professional working with older adults with hearing loss I became aware of the extremely valuable role played by the HLAA through its support of individuals with hearing loss, its ability to push for legislative reform that supports persons with hearing loss, and its support of educational programs and opportunities. It's a wonderful advocate and has a very strong commitment to promoting access to health care services for persons with hearing loss at any age.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Access to educational opportunities and seeing the impact on the lives of persons with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more individuals aware of it and its programs.

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

While in the receiving line at my wedding my Mom realized she couldn't hear the names of people introduced to her. Her hearing continued to decline and she was fitted for stronger and stronger hearing aids bilaterally. Going to social events was difficult in spite of my father's translating much of what was being said. It got to the point that she didn't want to go out. Then my parents met Rocky and Ahmy Stone and attended the SHHH Conference in Chicago. Those two events were life changers for my mom. She learned to speak up for herself and started the first SHHH (later to be renamed HLAA) chapters in Winnetka, IL and Sarasota, FL. She also taught lip reading for over 35 years.

Thus when my hearing began to go I knew to ask for hearing aids. I received one in my right ear but was told that I was deaf in my left ear and a hearing aid would not help that ear and I was not a candidate for a cochlear implant. After asking for a cochlear implant for several years I was told by fellow HLAA trustees to get out of the state in which I live and go to New York. I now have a cochlear implant and have my life back.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a late-deafened adult who is still working. I lost my hearing during what should have been the peak years of my career. Had I known about the Hearing loss Association of America, I could have availed myself earlier of all the wonderful education, advocacy and support than I did. However, it is never too late. I am so grateful to be a part of HLAA. The education, advocacy, and support I have received by being a member in HLAA has enabled me to achieve and maintain competitive employment in the career of my choice. I am so grateful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. The organization is well-run and totally committed to compliance with ever-evolving not-for-profit best-practices in management, board-governance, and fund-raising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 27, 2011

‘Life-changing’ is an expression that’s used frequently when people talk about their engagement with HLAA. After living with moderate hearing loss for over 30 years, my hearing suddenly deteri... more

August 31, 2013

An organization that excels in fulfilling its mission of providing information, education, support and advocacy for people with hearing loss, HLAA is also unique in its approach. A relatively small, but highly effective staff in the national office provides leadership and support to thousands of members and volunteers in an extensive grassroots network of statewide associations and local chapters.

Most of us come to HLAA through our local chapters seeking help in coping with our hearing loss. Grateful for the knowledge and support we receive from those who share our experience as well as experts in the field, we become members and work in our communities to help others with hearing loss. Perhaps the greatest benefit is the sense of empowerment we experience through self-help and by engaging in outreach and advocacy.

One of the most unique aspects of HLAA is the Walk4Hearing program, the largest of its kind in the country. As we walk in 22 cities raising awareness and funds for hearing loss, we also partner with over 100 alliances representing organizations such as hospitals, schools and social programs for children with hearing loss, and colleges and universities. Alliances retain a portion of the funds their teams raise to support their own programs, expanding our reach and building a stronger more effective hearing loss community. The Walks enable us to meet new friends and celebrate all we have accomplished.

There are currently 48 million people in the United States with hearing loss and as the numbers continue to grow, HLAA’s leadership and support is needed more than ever. An increase in membership will help us meet this need. I am very fortunate to serve on the Board of Trustees and to work actively with my chapter and the Walk4Hearing program. Whether your relationship with hearing loss is personal or professional, I urge you to join HLAA and experience the benefits of affiliation with this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our chapter network to provide services and support in cities where we do not yet have a presence

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2011

‘Life-changing’ is an expression that’s used frequently when people talk about their engagement with HLAA.

After living with moderate hearing loss for over 30 years, my hearing suddenly deteriorated to a level of profound deafness over a period of a few days. When I returned home from a
weeklong stay in the hospital where efforts to reverse my deafness proved unsuccessful, I had no idea how I would begin to live my new life. Living with hearing loss had always been difficult, but profound deafness made me feel as if I’d landed on another planet.

I somehow found my way to an HLAA Manhattan Chapter meeting and the experience was indeed…‘life-changing’. First, because I was welcomed by a caring group of people, who immediately began jumping through hoops to learn about my communication needs and make sure they were met at the meeting. Secondly, it was the first time I’d heard an audiologist (the evening’s presenter) address the fact that hearing loss isn’t something that’s only treated in a medical setting. It encompasses every aspect of our lives, there are great variations in levels and types of hearing loss, and lifestyles and communication needs can widely differ. I was hooked. I knew I’d found the right place and it’s been a four-year whirlwind of learning, personal and professional growth, and positive experience ever since.

I believe HLAA is so effective because it addresses the varied needs of people with hearing loss, at every level. We have a relatively small number of paid staff at the national level that are highly effective in forming partnerships and impacting legislation for access and services. An extensive network of volunteers, benefiting from the training and support of our national office, are also truly effective in carrying out HLAA’s agenda at the local level. A perfect example is our HLAA Walk4Hearing. Supported by our national office staff, and organized and implemented by volunteers in 23 cities across the country, the Walks are one of the best opportunities to create awareness and raise funds for hearing loss.

One of my most valuable memories is the awards ceremony breakfast at my first HLAA Convention. As I sat and listened to the incredible accomplishments of so many HLAA members, I was really stunned at what this organization had inspired other to do. I was also encouraged to know that each and every one of us can accomplish great things, for ourselves, and others, by utilizing the support HLAA offers in moving forward with our lives. Life-changing indeed.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add paid staff to help support the many new members/volunteers (families, students, hearing health professionals) coming into the organization

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I have been a member of the Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA) for over 10 years and I continue to be amazed how much the HLAA has done to provide people with information about hearing loss, as well as offering assistance, guidance, and support. HLAA members are active, energetic, and very appreciative of being able to seek and receive help and advice from the HLAA. As an audiologist, I am amazed with the indomitable spirit of members who have hearing loss, as well as their wonderful efforts to help others. The HLAA staff is incredible, always welcome to work late (often including weekends), to offer help to people who need information and assistance, to develop and launch new programs that will be helpful for people with hearing loss, and to assist the Board of Trustees. As an audiologist, I have gained tremendous information about living with hearing loss, far more than I received in college as an audiology. I am grateful to be a member of the HLAA and to be serving on the HLAA Board of Trustees. The HLAA has done so much to help people and my most important wish for the HLAA is that the vast majority of people with hearing loss will be a part of the HLAA. They will benefit significantly, resulting in far greater quality of life, happiness, and health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that we can raise the number of members, many of whom choose not to seek guidance, the result being that they are likely to discontinue being active with friends and family. Research has shown that folks with untreated hearing loss who continue to avoid addressing their hearing difficulties are far more likely to have health problems through the years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I first learned about HLAA (then SHHH) in 1995 I had already been struggling with my hearing loss for 30 years. I was amazed to find an organization that not only understood the many problems that hearing loss presents, but welcomed me and offered solutions to those problems. I joined the organization initially as a chapter member, but soon became involved in the state level, representing hard of hearing people on advisory boards. I also soon learned to overcome my initial nervousness in public speaking and shared my learnings with others who could benefit from the information. As my hearing continued to deteriorate I found the courage to have cochlear implant surgery after talking to HLAA members who had benefitted from the procedure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping hard of hearing people learn to live with their disability and participate fully in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add staff to enableHLAA to better fulfill its mission of advocacy and support.

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

HLAA's purpose is: education, advocacy and support for those with hearing loss and their families. The organization was started by Rocky Stone in 1979. It's originally named was "Self Help for the Hard of Hearing" (SHHH). My parents met Rocky and his wife, Alme, as the organization was beginning. It was the best thing that could have happened to my mom who suffered from profound hearing loss in both ears and had lost much self confidence. She ended up starting SHHH chapters in Winnetka, IL and Sarasota, FL and served on the SHHH national board for nine years. The organization has also been helpful to me. I am deaf in one ear and don't hear very well in my other ear even with the best hearing aid available. I have been told for many years by the doctors and audiologists, where I live, that I wasn't a candidate for a cochlear implant. Thanks to the recommendation of Brenda Battat and some of the HLAA board members I have gone to NYU and will have cochlear implant surgery there in the near future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above review

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I find the home page of the web site to be a visual nightmare -I'd simplify it. The organization is great - I wouldn't change it.

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

HLAA is the premier organization that provides education to those with wide varieties of hearing loss in addition to advocating to influence governmental policies as they pertains to persons with hearing loss. HLAA accomplishes an ambitious agenda with a small but extremely high quality national staff. In addition HLAA supports a large number of local and state chapters that do advocacy at a state level and also provide personal support to persons with hearing loss and their families. HLAA also provides on its website and in its publications a wide variety of objective information about hearing aids, cochlear implants and assistive equipment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a person with a cochlear implant, I am grateful for the what HLAA has accomplished to change in FCC policy concerning cellphones, TVs and closed captioning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Considering the number of persons with hearing loss, HLAA needs to be a larger organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Started with local involvement.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Advocacy for policy affecting those with hearing loss.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Providing more resources to those with hearing loss.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

I discovered HLAA in 1988 (back when it was called SHHH). I lived in a rural area where information and resources were scarce and I felt very isolated. HLAA/SHHH became my lifeline. I eagerly awaited the arrival of the Journal and scoured it from cover to cover as soon as it arrived. I have saved every copy.

It was such a relief to discover that I was not alone with my hearing loss. I realized there were lots of people out there who understood exactly the hurdles and frustrations I was dealing with everyday. The writers had great ideas, suggestions and insights. I learned effective communication strategies and techniques. I also became knowledgeable about helpful technology and assistive listening devices which I never even dreamed existed.

But, HLAA taught me so much more than just coping skills and technology. Within those Journal pages, I found a distinctly different and refreshing attitude for relating to my hearing loss in an informed, healthy and empowered way.

Rocky Stone and the other people I "met" in those pages were not only warm and supportive, but their energy and enthusiasm infused each issue. They were not talking about merely surviving hearing loss, but living full, connected lives and actually thriving (?!?) with hearing loss. I felt that I had been given an extraordinary gift, a gift I then wanted to share.

I went on to a fulfilling career of helping other people with hearing loss improve their communication skills and knowledge so they too could find satisfaction in their jobs and lives.

A unique strength of this organization is that it gives each member many opportunities to be both student and mentor. I credit HLAA for giving me the tools, encouragement and support to pursue my dreams and achieve far more than I ever could have imagined when I started out.

HLAA has changed innumerable lives for the better, including mine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

HLAA gave me communication tools and confidence to go out and participate in local, regional and national activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More people need to learn about HLAA and the kinds of help that is available not only for people with hearing loss, but for their families and friends, co-workers and employers. Hearing loss affects far more than just the person with the loss.

February 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2011

Serving on the Board of HLAA was a rewarding experience that allowed me to meet a wonderful, diverse group of people that had a shared commitment to improving the lives of those with hearing loss.

HLAA has a very active advocacy program that works tirelessly to ensure access to a variety
of programs and benefits for those with hearing loss, such as captions in theaters, hearing aid compatible cell phones and providing caption for online content.

I've expanded my circle of friends through my work on the Board of HLAA, and while I no longer serve on the Board, the friends I've made will be lifelong. Now as a member of HLAA, I garner the benefits of its work, including the most up-to-date information on accessibility and how emerging technology affects the lives of those with hearing loss. HLAA has been a wonderful resource for me and the people that work with it, both its staff and vast volunteer corps, are dedicated, professional and extremely knowledgeable.

It's quite simply, a great group of people doing excellent work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

. . .obtaining my cochlear implant. HLAA provided me with a incredible array of information on how to get an implant, the insurance coverage, what to expect, questions to ask my audiologists, etc. Once I had my surgery, I had a wonderful group of people to cheer me on and provide me with support. It was like having an instant support group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . .expand its advocacy efforts but I realize this is a question of funding. I know HLAA has big goals and works tirelessly to keep moving forward on those goals. It's just a matter of utilizing its resources in the best way and this is something that the organization does very well.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers