Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Write A Review
October 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2011

The Hearing Loss Association of America has grown from a small grassroots organization called Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, Inc. (SHHH) to become 'The Nation's Voice for People with Hearing ... more

October 2, 2014

The Hearing Loss Association of America, Inc., a consumer based organization, which was formerly known as Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, Inc., has done more to create an awareness of the uniqueness of partial deafness than any other organization in the world. There are millions of hard of hearing Americans. According to the National Institutes of Health 50 million are affected by this invisible condition. SHHH/HLAA has educated, advocated and provided peer support since its founding in 1979. Prior to receiving information from this organization my life was falling apart. I was a 40-something who had given up my career because I didn't hear well, and felt I was being unfair to my students. I felt isolated and misunderstood. I had received no information from my hearing healthcare professionals about assistive technology that could enhance my hearing instruments. I learned what I know from people, like me, who have hearing loss; members of HLAA. I'm most grateful to this organization for the work it does. Today, I'm comfortable living in the hearing mainstream in spite of progressive sensorineural hearing loss. I now have a cochlear implant, something I would likely not have done, had it not been for the opportunity to meet others through HLAA who had gone before me. It is a miracle, as are the new hearing aids that can do so much more than they could do even a decade ago. HLAA has been a frontrunner in promoting research and development in both medicine and technology, legislation, and the kind of personal support that hard of hearing people need. Chapters of HLAA are located throughout the United States,. Many more should be formed. I can't say enough about the importance of the work HLAA does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find the financial support to create regional offices that would make it possible to reach more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The Hearing Loss Association of America has grown from a small grassroots organization called Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, Inc. (SHHH) to become 'The Nation's Voice for People with Hearing Loss', as The Hearing Loss Association of America, Inc. (HLAA) today. No other consumer based organization had reached out to people with partial deafness prior to SHHH. A major achievement of SHHH was to identify the much larger hard of hearing population as being separate from the better known population that embraces Deafness as a culture. By so doing, medical research has increased remarkably in the field of deafness, in spite of the fact that Deaf Culture advocates (Less than 1% of the whole 32 million Americans with hearing loss) continue to oppose curing the disability to preserve the culture. Without the force of SHHH/HLAA the advancements in cochlear implants, hearing instruments and other hearing assistive technologies would likely be way behind where they are today. Against many odds, HLAA has made a positive difference in the way the public perceives people with hearing loss. And, I believe the organization can achieve much more than it has already if it has more resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I learned about SHHH in 1983, and knew I needed to be involved. I was 40 years old. Hearing loss had cut my career short & was pushing me towards social isolation. SHHH changed my life. Through active involvement, I regained self confidence & learned how to cope more positively with my progressive hearing loss. I have had the opportunity to watch others grow as I did. I sincerely recommend membership in HLAA to anyone who wants to live well with hearing loss; theirs or someone else’s.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

HLAA is wonderful the way it is, but must find the financial resources that will allow it to reach more of the 32 million Americans who can benefit from the education, information, advocacy and support the organization is capable of providing.

May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

I've just joined my local chapter and really enjoyed meeting the welcoming, fun people. Based on what I've seen and read about in the newsletters, I think it's going to be a great place for me to keep informed about new technologies (I wear bilateral hearing aids) as well as join efforts to implement hearing technology at local venues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HLAA offered an educational presentation on hearing loops, including a live demonstration and superb information from real professionals who know the technology and the human elements. Following up on this presentation I was able to work with one of the professionals who was present to develop a proposal for installing a hearing loop in my church. The installation has been a success, and church members and visitors are benefiting from improved hearing in church services and other events held in the church. The local HLAA chapter offers regular educational sessions that are a real help for people with hearing loss.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Hearing Loss Association of America...who is this? HLAA comprised of local chapters and state associations all across the U. S. is the ONE non-profit organization that represents all people who live with hearing loss. She speaks for all of us all the time through education, advocacy and self-help support at both national and international levels.

I found Hearing Loss Association of America back in 1983 after having been a member of several other so called organizations serving both Deaf and hard of hearing folks during my youth and young adulthood. Through participation in local chapter development and leadership, as a member of the National Board of Trustees for 8 years, by working behind the scenes at my local level in education and advocacy projects and as liaison representing former Board trustees with the National Office for the past ten years, I finally found MY organization and MY niche in society. HLAA has truly made a difference in my personal life and helped to lead me toward a more positive outlook and fulfilling experiences.

Today I remain super-active in my local chapter work, our annual Walk4Hearing event, and my support of the work in the HLAA National Office. As a person living with hearing loss, as a retired professional educator and as a mentor/advocate for others who are Deaf and/or hard of hearing, it is a privilege to give back to Hearing Loss Association of America in a small effort to repay this organization for all of the blessings I've received over the years. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do my best to do MORE to support the wonderful work of Hearing Loss Association of America. There's so much to be done and WE can each one be a part of that rewarding work. HLAA continues to change and to improve in all aspects of their work and service to people with hearing loss. I can only say, "just keep on 'keeping on' making a difference in my life and the lives of all folks with hearing loss."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I found SHHH (Self Help for Hard of Hearing) shortly after it was formed. My dad wore a hearing aid which didn't help much. What I learned from subscribing to that helped both Mothe and me learn to communicate better with Daddy. Eight years ago, I had to start wearing hearing aids - and learned of the HLAA (Hearing Loss Association of America), then learned that it was the new name of SHHH. Even the advertizements in the HLAA magazine are interesting and informative. I've learned more about all kinds of hearing loss, how to deal with various situations (parties, meetings, being in crowds, one-on-one, etc.) than I ever learned from any ENT doctor I went to. The articles cover a variety of things: assistive technology, various hearing conditions, legal problems, work situations, etc. - and all are written so that even the most uninformed lay person can understand.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... hope that they have enough money to issue the magazine every month!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

When my son was diagnosed with hearing loss, I had no idea what to expect. I found resources, support and many educational opportunities from the hearing loss association of America.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 15, 2011

The HLAA are so helpful. I experienced left ear deafness suddenly. My group has been so supportive as I adjust to this 'new normal'.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Coping with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No chages.

February 15, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 15, 2011

Hello,

I am so happy to share my comments on SHHH, now, HLAA. I am profoundly hard of hearing and wear two hearing aids, Thanks to HLAA, I can now participate in daily life wih family, friends, and business relaionships and contacts.
The information on self help and
education on hearing loss and advocacy results on accessibility has and still is extrenly important and necessary in my daily life and contacts. I can live a life and communicate as well as anyone else.
I feel so joyful just writing this.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daily life , both personal, family, friends, and business.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love it just the way they are

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers