Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Back when I was loosing my hearing and hit the profoundly deaf stage in the early 1970s, I would ask my doctors, audiologists, hearing aid dealers, etc., can you put me in touch with others like me so I can find out how to better cope with my hearing loss? The answer was always no. I had Cochlear Implant surgery in 1984 and it helped me to lip read. Finally in 1985, a friend found out about HLAA (then SHHH) and she asked me if I wanted to help start a chapter here, and I said "YES"! HLAA is the answer to prayers. They are the leading advocacy association for people with hearing loss. If not for HLAA, strives in hearing technology, the ADA law, education, places where we are at 'home' with our hearing loss (HLAA meetings & conventions), CAN & CART, Captions, Relay services, captions in movie theaters, etc. would not have advanced as quickly as it did. With a large group advocating for people we have a bigger voice for changes to be made to help us Hard of Hearing Folks to be more independent and so much has been developed to help. I can remember the first HLAA convention I went to in Bethesda, MD back in the 1980s. I had felt since I lost my hearing that I rode a fence; I wasn't a part of the hearing world, but did not fit in with deaf culture. With HLAA I found a home. MW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want every person who has lost their hearing to join HLAA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

What the heck is SHHH, now HLAA. That's what I asked my wife many years ago when she read an add in the local weekly paper. We went to the local HLAA, Capital Region Chapter meeting and have been going ever since. I had a hearing aid, could not hear well, meet a lot of wonderful hard of hearing people. Got a real education on what was available for the likes of me. I served on the Board, Was President of our chapter for three years. Still serve as Vice Pres. Went on to get Bilateral Cochlear implants, attended HLAA Conventions. Met more wonderful, helpful people I also talk to people with hearing loss thru the Cochlear Awareness Network who may be a candidate for a "Implant".
All because my wife saw the add, and wanted me to hear better. I say, God bless her. Thats what HLAA is!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try hard to get the word out!!! Who we are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I found the HLAA about three years ago. I have a severe hearing loss and this organization changed my life.
I feel part of the world again. I do not feel isolated. I have learned so much from this organization. such as using ASL (assistive listening devices), speaking up about my hearing loss,
generally and in situations where I particularly need to understand , like Doctor's meeting, traveling, or just wanting to understand conversation.
It's a great organization I can't say enough wonderful things about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

HLAA changed my life, I am a Volunteer, Client and Donor. I joined this organization in 1996, I learned to cope with my progressive Hearing Loss, I went to every Convention since except when health issues stopped me. I have helped start two HLAA Chapters where I learned even more, because not only do all of us with hearing loss benefit from this organization, we learn from each other, especially when it concerns coping skills. Their advocacy helps us all, not just those who are members. I am now a bilateral Cochlear Implant user as a result of all that I learned about technology. I could go on and on, I really feel like my deafness has been a gift to me, through all the wonderful caring people I met from HLAA over the years. I learned that advocating for myself was important in all I do and since joining I do so much more. This is the Self Help that I so needed and I want to share it with everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

It is very hard to explain the enormous impact HLAA has been on my life, and many others around me.

Having grown up with a hearing loss and never meeting anyone who looked like me for 33 years, it was a startling revelation. It truly is an invisible existence - and there are millions
more beyond the 50 million indentified with hearing loss.

I've learned how to prepare myself to cope in the workplace, hospitals, airports, hotels, family events. It's never been just about me - but about everyone in my life who wants to be able to fully communicate and particpate.

HLAA teaches us by exanple that we are not victims - but how to advocate and educate those around us. Accessible technology has been the tipping point for many of us to succeed and flourish.

I can't even imagine what my life would have looked like without HLAA. I'm grateful to everything they've done for me and all of the friendships that form my second family today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It needs to expand its tiny staff to accommodate all of the people out there who want more chapters, meetings, webinars, presentations, etc. They are restricted in the fact that a staff of 12 cover the entire U.S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Finding the Hearing Loss Association of America has literally changed my life. Because of them, I discovered the cochlear implant which helped me regain more than adequate hearing to live my life.

I learned about how to advocate for myself in employment, in medical offices, in the travel
industry, with family and friends, in church, in public and with the government. The list is endless.

Bolstered by many, many friends who also have hearing loss, I was able to go out and teach others what I have learned – about assistive listening technology, hearing devices, emergency preparedness, and much more.

This is a very special organization that exists specifically to help 48 million Americans with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2011

I have been an active volunteer for HLAA for more than ten years. When I went to my first chapter meeting, I was overwhelmed with emotion to learn I was not alone in dealing with my hearing loss. I ... more

September 19, 2013

The Hearing Loss Association of America is a very special organization, with a very small paid staff. Hundreds of volunteers around the country lead almost 200 chapters, helping many people with hearing loss. The national organization and the chapters support, inform and advocate for those with hearing loss. While the national office works with Congresspeople to enact laws to help the hard of hearing, the chapters provide captioning at their meetings, write monthly newsletters for their members, have monthly meetings on hearing loss topics, organize annual Walk4Hearing events and make grants to deserving high school graduates with hearing loss, theater development fund for captioned Broadway performances, and lots more, not to mention all the advocacy work resulting in hearing loops and captioning in many public places.

My role in all the above is I had the opportunity to chair the first Walk4Hearing in New York City. Now I work with the NYC Loop Committee of which I was chair for three years. We educate public places about hearing loops and how they help people with hearing loss.

How I got started and how the organization has helped me? A relative of a friend told me about the organization. I went to my first meeting and was enthralled with the idea that everyone in the room understood what I was going through. I learned so much about coping strategies and technology. I wanted to share my knowledge and became a mentor. In the process of doing for the organization, I had the opportunity to grow, to stretch my experience, my abilities and to gain more confidence in myself. I made great friends, caring people who want to help others. Through outreach via street fairs, exhibiting at organizational fairs and online, on-air and print publicity our chapter grew and is now outgrowing its meeting space.

I no longer isolate or feel sorry for myself because I don't hear so well. My focus is on helping others. There is no other organization that does so much for those with hearing loss. I vote for Hearing Loss Association of America as one of the best nonprofits around. Check it out. See for yourself. www.hearingloss.org.

Thank you for allowing me to talk about my favorite subject.

With love and affection to HLAA.

ellen semel
Manhattan Chapter
Hearing Loss Association of America

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change a thing although I'd like to find more dedicated people to work with. We always need more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2011

I have been an active volunteer for HLAA for more than ten years. When I went to my first chapter meeting, I was overwhelmed with emotion to learn I was not alone in dealing with my hearing loss. I had been so frustrated by not hearing well in the workplace and losing jobs in the previous few years, it was so good to meet others who had similar experiences. I learned a multitude of valuable information -- concrete strategies to help me communicate better, specific assistive devices I had never heard of before to help me hear better in different situations, and I made new wonderful friends who have been so supportive.

Because of my very positive experience with this organization, I wanted to give back, teach others what I had learned so I became an active participant by joining the Planing Committee of my chapter, then becoming Chair of the Planning Committee for five years. In addition, I chaired the first New York City Walk4Hearing, a great success to my surprise! I am now the Chair of the Looping Committee, a group that advocates for the installation of induction loops in public places to help those who have a t-coil (telephone program) in their hearing aids/cochlear implants hear better at lectures, religious services, performances, etc.

Together all the volunteers of this organization work together, all around the nation. We have an electronic leaders list and share our knowledge that way. We gain support from others through our email interaction and meetings. We get together at annual conventions where we learn so much and have a chance to discuss our problems.

There is nothing more supportive than being with people who share your problem. There is no other organization I know of that provides so much information, education and advocacy in Congress as well as with privately held companies like cell phone companies, airline industry and many others that are now providing services and products geared to those with heaing loss.

If I had to rate this organization with stars I would give it the maximum, five stars. Go HLAA, go!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the Manhattan Chapter. My first meeting was awesome. I grew from needing the chapter participants' help to one who can help others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire more paid employees, if possible.

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Walk 4 hearing brings the young and old together! Hearing loss cuts across all ages and impacts 40 plus million! walk4 hearing brings awareness that technology can bring access to communication!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Having each chapter keep a certain percentage of funds raised by $$$ and national will get a certain percentage .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

HLAA is an International Organization that reaches far and wide to educate, advocate and engage everyone about all aspects of hearing loss.
Their annual national convention is the best ever!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have HLAA be as common as the Red Cross!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Having hearing loss for more than 35 years, I first found HLAA in 1990 and immediately embraced the organization. I found people who understood what it is like, were non-judgmental and best of all offered the support I needed to wade through the ever changing technology we were thrust into in the 90s.

I have worn a lot of hats over the years but most recently serve as Walk4Hearing chair in Chattanooga, a position I love. I have no doubt in my mind that because of HLAA, and because of the Walk4Hearing events held all over the US, hearing loss is becoming less of a social issue and more of a health issue.

Walk4Hearing has brought community awareness to our local HLAA chapter and in turn HLAA actually means something to many people. it gives us a chance to help others in the community and educate others about hearing loss. i cannot say enough good things about HLAA - except join!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more captioned webinars about technology and provide a good one on navigating Convio for Walk chairs to view.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers