Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

Hearing Loss Association of America is a wonderful organization that helps people with hearing loss through support advocacy and education. I have found many wonderful friendships from being part of this organization. From those friendship forges the ability to advocate and educate others about hearing loss and HLAA.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

HLAA teaches people how to cope with hearing loss. It is the best source of information on assistive devices and how to hear in challenging situations. HLAA is my favorite non profit because it does its job of educating hard of hearing well. What a difference HLAA made in my life. It gave me the tools to succeed in Graduate School.
September 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 18, 2013

While in the receiving line at my wedding my Mom realized she couldn't hear the names of people introduced to her. Her hearing continued to decline and she was fitted for stronger and stronger hearing... more

September 26, 2014

My mom had profound hearing loss from about the age of 45 years. My dad understood what she was going through but I really didn't get it. She got involved with Rocky and Amie and SHHH and her life improved dramatically. Then I lost my hearing and eventually was put on the HLAA national board. After the 2nd meeting several board members took me aside and told me I should go to NYU to be evaluated for a cochlear implant. I did this and shortly thereafter Dr. Thomas Roland implanted a cochlear on my left side. I feel so lucky to have gotten my life back and I owe it to HLAA.
October 18, 2013

While in the receiving line at my wedding my Mom realized she couldn't hear the names of people introduced to her. Her hearing continued to decline and she was fitted for stronger and stronger hearing aids bilaterally. Going to social events was difficult in spite of my father's translating much of what was being said. It got to the point that she didn't want to go out. Then my parents met Rocky and Ahmy Stone and attended the SHHH Conference in Chicago. Those two events were life changers for my mom. She learned to speak up for herself and started the first SHHH (later to be renamed HLAA) chapters in Winnetka, IL and Sarasota, FL. She also taught lip reading for over 35 years.

Thus when my hearing began to go I knew to ask for hearing aids. I received one in my right ear but was told that I was deaf in my left ear and a hearing aid would not help that ear and I was not a candidate for a cochlear implant. After asking for a cochlear implant for several years I was told by fellow HLAA trustees to get out of the state in which I live and go to New York. I now have a cochlear implant and have my life back.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

I joined HLAA f/k/a SHHH in 1998 at the age of 46 when I lost my hearing. The members and staff of this organization changed my life and made my loss of hearing much more manageable than I thought it would be. I have been involved with this organization in various capacities, but what I like most is passing on the knowledge that I gained from HLAA and the people whom I have met as a result of my membership in this organization. In 2000 I had the privilege of meeting Rocky Stone, the founder of SHHH, at the annual convention. He knew who I was before I even introduced myself. I was impressed top say the least and will never forget that experience. HLAA has been nothing but good experiences for me, and I amgrateful to Rocky Stone for having founded this organization.
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

Like so many with hearing loss, I was in denial. I was about 30 and gradually losing my hearing, and just didn't want to believe it could become a real problem. I was a professional working for a large corporation, and finally got hearing aids when I became a manager and really need to hear my best. They helped for a while, but as my loss increased, I really needed to take advantage of additional features that was starting to emerge in hearing aids and assistive technology.

My Wife and Daughter were a major support for me, but I still didn't understand how much technology and strategies could help me, until my Wife literally dragged my to my first HLAA meeting. I didn't want to go (see "denial", above), but was surprised to find a great group of people who knew so much more than I did about hearing aids, assistive technology (like hearing aid features, FM and telecoils) and strategies for making the most of my hearing. I have never been a "joiner", but I was hooked because of the great people I met and how much they helped me.

That was 25 years ago. I've now got a cochlear implant, all the best assistive technology and strategies. After retiring, at 50, I wondered how I'd ever work again, but since then, I've been hired by three great company and am happily still with latest and best of them ... a fact that I attribute, at least in part, to how much HLAA helped me be good at having a hearing loss.

If you've got a hearing loss, then join HLAA immediately. If you have a friend or family member with hearing loss, buy them a membership and go with them to meetings and conferences. Volunteer, and you'll never be without good friends and support. Donate and you'll be making a difference for everyone with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change the organization ... except to encourage everyone with hearing loss and all hearing loss professionals to join and support HLAA.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

HLAA saved me from a life of sudden deafness and the isolation it brought by supporting me with the guidance and educating me with the tools, both of which I needed to communicate with people again. The result has been a much more active family, social and career-restoring lifestyle than I thought I could ever experience again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....not change a thing within the organization, but ask foundations, donors and media to fully support HLAA's cause so it could reach most of the 48 million Americans coping with hearing loss alone and provide them with the much needed tools to change their lives for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I have just become a board member of the Hearing Loss Association of America but I have been a member since 2010, and my review is based on my experience as a member.

I have had hearing loss since 1980, which got progressively worse until by 2009 it had deteriorated to the extent that I
was profoundly deaf in one ear and close to it in the other.

I left my long time job as a journalist at the end of that year, and suddenly found myself without hearing, without a job, and really without any sense of what kind of life was open to me.

I had not heard of HLAA until March of 2010. I signed up to go to the Annual Convention, just to see what it offered. I was amazed by the resources discussed at the convention, by the expert advice offered, by the advocacy for people like me. I became an active member of the national organization and then of the Manhattan chapter, where I met many others with hearing loss like mine.

Joining HLAA literally restored my life, and gave me the confidence to figure out how to live productively with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more younger people in the organization. Hearing loss is stigmatized as a condition of aging (even though more than 55 percent of those with hearing loss are under the age of 60). I wish HLAA had the funding to publicize how widespread hearing loss is, how damaging it is not to treat it, and to encourage people of all ages with hearing loss to come out about their condition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

When I first learned that I had a severe hearing loss I was introduced to the local chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America. Through the local members, their informative monthly meetings, and the excellent magazine and publications from the national umbrella organization I learned about my own hearing loss, its possible causes, treatments, assistive devices, and unending resources available to my family & me to better cope with my worsening hearing loss.The HLAA resources & meetings are open to all persons with hearing loss, that know someone with hearing loss, or just people that are interested in knowing more about hearing loss. The membership covers all ages, all backgrounds, and all home locations in the US. I've attended state & national conventions, been introduced to magnificent speakers and information on all subjects related to hearing loss, I've been able to share information with other newly identified people with hearing loss thanks to the Hearing Loss Association of America. It is so empowering to be in a room full of Hard of Hearing people that are learning about their disability together from knowledgeable people and together advocating for their needs in their own home communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow and have more chapters in more communities across the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HLAA is extremely influential and effective in all things related to hearing loss. They fight for our rights in Congress and then take the time to tell us what we can do to fight for our rights. They are staffed by an amazing group of people who are totally dedicated to helping us live successfully with hearing loss. They have all the materials and supplies to provide information on a large range of topics. They are the source for answers to many questions people have about hearing aids, such as cost, rights, and insurance. HLAA is a truly amazing non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Alternate the W4H and the Conventions so they're every other year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

One of the counselors at the Endependence Center in Virginia Beach introduced me to the local chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America. I have learned so much from the caring members about what HLAA is doing to help those of us with a hearing disability... advocating for compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act nationally and getting local businesses and venues to provide devices that allow hearing impaired individuals enjoy theater performances, movies and social functions again. I have learned much about personal devices available to help with daily living activities and can again live a nearly normal life. I encourage everyone to support this fine organization and the caring members in the great work that they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand efforts to create more active local chapters through Audiological professionals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers