Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I found SHHH (Self Help for Hard of Hearing) shortly after it was formed. My dad wore a hearing aid which didn't help much. What I learned from subscribing to that helped both Mothe and me learn to communicate better with Daddy. Eight years ago, I had to start wearing hearing aids - and learned of the HLAA (Hearing Loss Association of America), then learned that it was the new name of SHHH. Even the advertizements in the HLAA magazine are interesting and informative. I've learned more about all kinds of hearing loss, how to deal with various situations (parties, meetings, being in crowds, one-on-one, etc.) than I ever learned from any ENT doctor I went to. The articles cover a variety of things: assistive technology, various hearing conditions, legal problems, work situations, etc. - and all are written so that even the most uninformed lay person can understand.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... hope that they have enough money to issue the magazine every month!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Having hearing loss for more than 35 years, I first found HLAA in 1990 and immediately embraced the organization. I found people who understood what it is like, were non-judgmental and best of all offered the support I needed to wade through the ever changing technology we were thrust into in the 90s.

I have worn a lot of hats over the years but most recently serve as Walk4Hearing chair in Chattanooga, a position I love. I have no doubt in my mind that because of HLAA, and because of the Walk4Hearing events held all over the US, hearing loss is becoming less of a social issue and more of a health issue.

Walk4Hearing has brought community awareness to our local HLAA chapter and in turn HLAA actually means something to many people. it gives us a chance to help others in the community and educate others about hearing loss. i cannot say enough good things about HLAA - except join!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more captioned webinars about technology and provide a good one on navigating Convio for Walk chairs to view.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

When my son was diagnosed with hearing loss, I had no idea what to expect. I found resources, support and many educational opportunities from the hearing loss association of America.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 27, 2011

‘Life-changing’ is an expression that’s used frequently when people talk about their engagement with HLAA. After living with moderate hearing loss for over 30 years, my hearing suddenly deteri... more

August 31, 2013

An organization that excels in fulfilling its mission of providing information, education, support and advocacy for people with hearing loss, HLAA is also unique in its approach. A relatively small, but highly effective staff in the national office provides leadership and support to thousands of members and volunteers in an extensive grassroots network of statewide associations and local chapters.

Most of us come to HLAA through our local chapters seeking help in coping with our hearing loss. Grateful for the knowledge and support we receive from those who share our experience as well as experts in the field, we become members and work in our communities to help others with hearing loss. Perhaps the greatest benefit is the sense of empowerment we experience through self-help and by engaging in outreach and advocacy.

One of the most unique aspects of HLAA is the Walk4Hearing program, the largest of its kind in the country. As we walk in 22 cities raising awareness and funds for hearing loss, we also partner with over 100 alliances representing organizations such as hospitals, schools and social programs for children with hearing loss, and colleges and universities. Alliances retain a portion of the funds their teams raise to support their own programs, expanding our reach and building a stronger more effective hearing loss community. The Walks enable us to meet new friends and celebrate all we have accomplished.

There are currently 48 million people in the United States with hearing loss and as the numbers continue to grow, HLAA’s leadership and support is needed more than ever. An increase in membership will help us meet this need. I am very fortunate to serve on the Board of Trustees and to work actively with my chapter and the Walk4Hearing program. Whether your relationship with hearing loss is personal or professional, I urge you to join HLAA and experience the benefits of affiliation with this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand our chapter network to provide services and support in cities where we do not yet have a presence

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2011

‘Life-changing’ is an expression that’s used frequently when people talk about their engagement with HLAA.

After living with moderate hearing loss for over 30 years, my hearing suddenly deteriorated to a level of profound deafness over a period of a few days. When I returned home from a
weeklong stay in the hospital where efforts to reverse my deafness proved unsuccessful, I had no idea how I would begin to live my new life. Living with hearing loss had always been difficult, but profound deafness made me feel as if I’d landed on another planet.

I somehow found my way to an HLAA Manhattan Chapter meeting and the experience was indeed…‘life-changing’. First, because I was welcomed by a caring group of people, who immediately began jumping through hoops to learn about my communication needs and make sure they were met at the meeting. Secondly, it was the first time I’d heard an audiologist (the evening’s presenter) address the fact that hearing loss isn’t something that’s only treated in a medical setting. It encompasses every aspect of our lives, there are great variations in levels and types of hearing loss, and lifestyles and communication needs can widely differ. I was hooked. I knew I’d found the right place and it’s been a four-year whirlwind of learning, personal and professional growth, and positive experience ever since.

I believe HLAA is so effective because it addresses the varied needs of people with hearing loss, at every level. We have a relatively small number of paid staff at the national level that are highly effective in forming partnerships and impacting legislation for access and services. An extensive network of volunteers, benefiting from the training and support of our national office, are also truly effective in carrying out HLAA’s agenda at the local level. A perfect example is our HLAA Walk4Hearing. Supported by our national office staff, and organized and implemented by volunteers in 23 cities across the country, the Walks are one of the best opportunities to create awareness and raise funds for hearing loss.

One of my most valuable memories is the awards ceremony breakfast at my first HLAA Convention. As I sat and listened to the incredible accomplishments of so many HLAA members, I was really stunned at what this organization had inspired other to do. I was also encouraged to know that each and every one of us can accomplish great things, for ourselves, and others, by utilizing the support HLAA offers in moving forward with our lives. Life-changing indeed.


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add paid staff to help support the many new members/volunteers (families, students, hearing health professionals) coming into the organization

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

I am a lifetime member of HLAA and also a donor. HLAA is the go-to organization for anyone experiencing hearing loss and their family members. It provides reliable, up-to-date information and resources to enable us to live and work succesfully with hearing loss. You cannot know what is out there for those of us with hearing loss without joining this organization. Not to mention their extremely effective advocacy that is making the environment more accessible for us and impoving the quaility of our lives. BEB

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more known among the general public. Encourage more people to donate to expand the scope of their work. They are not short of ideas and expertise but more donations will definitely help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I have been a member of the Hearing Loss Association of America (HLAA) for over 10 years and I continue to be amazed how much the HLAA has done to provide people with information about hearing loss, as well as offering assistance, guidance, and support. HLAA members are active, energetic, and very appreciative of being able to seek and receive help and advice from the HLAA. As an audiologist, I am amazed with the indomitable spirit of members who have hearing loss, as well as their wonderful efforts to help others. The HLAA staff is incredible, always welcome to work late (often including weekends), to offer help to people who need information and assistance, to develop and launch new programs that will be helpful for people with hearing loss, and to assist the Board of Trustees. As an audiologist, I have gained tremendous information about living with hearing loss, far more than I received in college as an audiology. I am grateful to be a member of the HLAA and to be serving on the HLAA Board of Trustees. The HLAA has done so much to help people and my most important wish for the HLAA is that the vast majority of people with hearing loss will be a part of the HLAA. They will benefit significantly, resulting in far greater quality of life, happiness, and health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that we can raise the number of members, many of whom choose not to seek guidance, the result being that they are likely to discontinue being active with friends and family. Research has shown that folks with untreated hearing loss who continue to avoid addressing their hearing difficulties are far more likely to have health problems through the years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

When I first learned about HLAA (then SHHH) in 1995 I had already been struggling with my hearing loss for 30 years. I was amazed to find an organization that not only understood the many problems that hearing loss presents, but welcomed me and offered solutions to those problems. I joined the organization initially as a chapter member, but soon became involved in the state level, representing hard of hearing people on advisory boards. I also soon learned to overcome my initial nervousness in public speaking and shared my learnings with others who could benefit from the information. As my hearing continued to deteriorate I found the courage to have cochlear implant surgery after talking to HLAA members who had benefitted from the procedure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping hard of hearing people learn to live with their disability and participate fully in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add staff to enableHLAA to better fulfill its mission of advocacy and support.

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

HLAA's purpose is: education, advocacy and support for those with hearing loss and their families. The organization was started by Rocky Stone in 1979. It's originally named was "Self Help for the Hard of Hearing" (SHHH). My parents met Rocky and his wife, Alme, as the organization was beginning. It was the best thing that could have happened to my mom who suffered from profound hearing loss in both ears and had lost much self confidence. She ended up starting SHHH chapters in Winnetka, IL and Sarasota, FL and served on the SHHH national board for nine years. The organization has also been helpful to me. I am deaf in one ear and don't hear very well in my other ear even with the best hearing aid available. I have been told for many years by the doctors and audiologists, where I live, that I wasn't a candidate for a cochlear implant. Thanks to the recommendation of Brenda Battat and some of the HLAA board members I have gone to NYU and will have cochlear implant surgery there in the near future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above review

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I find the home page of the web site to be a visual nightmare -I'd simplify it. The organization is great - I wouldn't change it.

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

HLAA is the premier organization that provides education to those with wide varieties of hearing loss in addition to advocating to influence governmental policies as they pertains to persons with hearing loss. HLAA accomplishes an ambitious agenda with a small but extremely high quality national staff. In addition HLAA supports a large number of local and state chapters that do advocacy at a state level and also provide personal support to persons with hearing loss and their families. HLAA also provides on its website and in its publications a wide variety of objective information about hearing aids, cochlear implants and assistive equipment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a person with a cochlear implant, I am grateful for the what HLAA has accomplished to change in FCC policy concerning cellphones, TVs and closed captioning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Considering the number of persons with hearing loss, HLAA needs to be a larger organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Started with local involvement.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Advocacy for policy affecting those with hearing loss.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Providing more resources to those with hearing loss.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011

I discovered HLAA in 1988 (back when it was called SHHH). I lived in a rural area where information and resources were scarce and I felt very isolated. HLAA/SHHH became my lifeline. I eagerly awaited the arrival of the Journal and scoured it from cover to cover as soon as it arrived. I have saved every copy.

It was such a relief to discover that I was not alone with my hearing loss. I realized there were lots of people out there who understood exactly the hurdles and frustrations I was dealing with everyday. The writers had great ideas, suggestions and insights. I learned effective communication strategies and techniques. I also became knowledgeable about helpful technology and assistive listening devices which I never even dreamed existed.

But, HLAA taught me so much more than just coping skills and technology. Within those Journal pages, I found a distinctly different and refreshing attitude for relating to my hearing loss in an informed, healthy and empowered way.

Rocky Stone and the other people I "met" in those pages were not only warm and supportive, but their energy and enthusiasm infused each issue. They were not talking about merely surviving hearing loss, but living full, connected lives and actually thriving (?!?) with hearing loss. I felt that I had been given an extraordinary gift, a gift I then wanted to share.

I went on to a fulfilling career of helping other people with hearing loss improve their communication skills and knowledge so they too could find satisfaction in their jobs and lives.

A unique strength of this organization is that it gives each member many opportunities to be both student and mentor. I credit HLAA for giving me the tools, encouragement and support to pursue my dreams and achieve far more than I ever could have imagined when I started out.

HLAA has changed innumerable lives for the better, including mine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

HLAA gave me communication tools and confidence to go out and participate in local, regional and national activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More people need to learn about HLAA and the kinds of help that is available not only for people with hearing loss, but for their families and friends, co-workers and employers. Hearing loss affects far more than just the person with the loss.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers