Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I found the HLAA about three years ago. I have a severe hearing loss and this organization changed my life.
I feel part of the world again. I do not feel isolated. I have learned so much from this organization. such as using ASL (assistive listening devices), speaking up about my hearing loss,
generally and in situations where I particularly need to understand , like Doctor's meeting, traveling, or just wanting to understand conversation.
It's a great organization I can't say enough wonderful things about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I have 15 year old child who was diagnosis at birth with severe hearing loss. HLAA is an awesome organization and has a tremendous impact and wealth of information to help people learn and cope with living with hearing loss. Helped me and and my child in many ways at the early stages and through the years. There fundraising events like Walk4hearing to help spread awareness, we are actively involved every year. We walk proudly and raise funds to help this awesome organization continue to help others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a late-deafened adult who is still working. I lost my hearing during what should have been the peak years of my career. Had I known about the Hearing loss Association of America, I could have availed myself earlier of all the wonderful education, advocacy and support than I did. However, it is never too late. I am so grateful to be a part of HLAA. The education, advocacy, and support I have received by being a member in HLAA has enabled me to achieve and maintain competitive employment in the career of my choice. I am so grateful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. The organization is well-run and totally committed to compliance with ever-evolving not-for-profit best-practices in management, board-governance, and fund-raising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

HLAA changed my life, I am a Volunteer, Client and Donor. I joined this organization in 1996, I learned to cope with my progressive Hearing Loss, I went to every Convention since except when health issues stopped me. I have helped start two HLAA Chapters where I learned even more, because not only do all of us with hearing loss benefit from this organization, we learn from each other, especially when it concerns coping skills. Their advocacy helps us all, not just those who are members. I am now a bilateral Cochlear Implant user as a result of all that I learned about technology. I could go on and on, I really feel like my deafness has been a gift to me, through all the wonderful caring people I met from HLAA over the years. I learned that advocating for myself was important in all I do and since joining I do so much more. This is the Self Help that I so needed and I want to share it with everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

It is very hard to explain the enormous impact HLAA has been on my life, and many others around me.

Having grown up with a hearing loss and never meeting anyone who looked like me for 33 years, it was a startling revelation. It truly is an invisible existence - and there are millions
more beyond the 50 million indentified with hearing loss.

I've learned how to prepare myself to cope in the workplace, hospitals, airports, hotels, family events. It's never been just about me - but about everyone in my life who wants to be able to fully communicate and particpate.

HLAA teaches us by exanple that we are not victims - but how to advocate and educate those around us. Accessible technology has been the tipping point for many of us to succeed and flourish.

I can't even imagine what my life would have looked like without HLAA. I'm grateful to everything they've done for me and all of the friendships that form my second family today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It needs to expand its tiny staff to accommodate all of the people out there who want more chapters, meetings, webinars, presentations, etc. They are restricted in the fact that a staff of 12 cover the entire U.S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

HLAA, formally SHHH, is a premeir hearing loss association for helping those with hearing loss to connect, educate, advocate and seek legislation in support of accommadating persons with hearing loss. In my wife's case she was able to get the best available hearing assistive devices along her journey toward total deafness by learning about the different companies and technologies. Her deafness was overcome with bi-lateral cochlear implants. The national organization and local chapters provide the needed support for those with all degrees of hearing loss. Also, the social interaction provided in this group helps HOH people to improve their social skills and to be more open to their enviroment thereby improing their quality of life and their ability to communicate with others. My wife's first hearing dog came from Dogs for the Deaf and we learned about them through a national convention of HLAA (SHHH). We are members, volunteers, donors and general public and the role did not offer more than one choice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure we are doing everything to reach all those in need of this wonderful organization. However, I know that we (our organization) does all it can with the resources at hand. Grants and gifts of resources and more volunteers would enable us to do more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Finding the Hearing Loss Association of America has literally changed my life. Because of them, I discovered the cochlear implant which helped me regain more than adequate hearing to live my life.

I learned about how to advocate for myself in employment, in medical offices, in the travel
industry, with family and friends, in church, in public and with the government. The list is endless.

Bolstered by many, many friends who also have hearing loss, I was able to go out and teach others what I have learned – about assistive listening technology, hearing devices, emergency preparedness, and much more.

This is a very special organization that exists specifically to help 48 million Americans with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 15, 2011

I have been an active volunteer for HLAA for more than ten years. When I went to my first chapter meeting, I was overwhelmed with emotion to learn I was not alone in dealing with my hearing loss. I ... more

September 19, 2013

The Hearing Loss Association of America is a very special organization, with a very small paid staff. Hundreds of volunteers around the country lead almost 200 chapters, helping many people with hearing loss. The national organization and the chapters support, inform and advocate for those with hearing loss. While the national office works with Congresspeople to enact laws to help the hard of hearing, the chapters provide captioning at their meetings, write monthly newsletters for their members, have monthly meetings on hearing loss topics, organize annual Walk4Hearing events and make grants to deserving high school graduates with hearing loss, theater development fund for captioned Broadway performances, and lots more, not to mention all the advocacy work resulting in hearing loops and captioning in many public places.

My role in all the above is I had the opportunity to chair the first Walk4Hearing in New York City. Now I work with the NYC Loop Committee of which I was chair for three years. We educate public places about hearing loops and how they help people with hearing loss.

How I got started and how the organization has helped me? A relative of a friend told me about the organization. I went to my first meeting and was enthralled with the idea that everyone in the room understood what I was going through. I learned so much about coping strategies and technology. I wanted to share my knowledge and became a mentor. In the process of doing for the organization, I had the opportunity to grow, to stretch my experience, my abilities and to gain more confidence in myself. I made great friends, caring people who want to help others. Through outreach via street fairs, exhibiting at organizational fairs and online, on-air and print publicity our chapter grew and is now outgrowing its meeting space.

I no longer isolate or feel sorry for myself because I don't hear so well. My focus is on helping others. There is no other organization that does so much for those with hearing loss. I vote for Hearing Loss Association of America as one of the best nonprofits around. Check it out. See for yourself. www.hearingloss.org.

Thank you for allowing me to talk about my favorite subject.

With love and affection to HLAA.

ellen semel
Manhattan Chapter
Hearing Loss Association of America

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change a thing although I'd like to find more dedicated people to work with. We always need more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2011

I have been an active volunteer for HLAA for more than ten years. When I went to my first chapter meeting, I was overwhelmed with emotion to learn I was not alone in dealing with my hearing loss. I had been so frustrated by not hearing well in the workplace and losing jobs in the previous few years, it was so good to meet others who had similar experiences. I learned a multitude of valuable information -- concrete strategies to help me communicate better, specific assistive devices I had never heard of before to help me hear better in different situations, and I made new wonderful friends who have been so supportive.

Because of my very positive experience with this organization, I wanted to give back, teach others what I had learned so I became an active participant by joining the Planing Committee of my chapter, then becoming Chair of the Planning Committee for five years. In addition, I chaired the first New York City Walk4Hearing, a great success to my surprise! I am now the Chair of the Looping Committee, a group that advocates for the installation of induction loops in public places to help those who have a t-coil (telephone program) in their hearing aids/cochlear implants hear better at lectures, religious services, performances, etc.

Together all the volunteers of this organization work together, all around the nation. We have an electronic leaders list and share our knowledge that way. We gain support from others through our email interaction and meetings. We get together at annual conventions where we learn so much and have a chance to discuss our problems.

There is nothing more supportive than being with people who share your problem. There is no other organization I know of that provides so much information, education and advocacy in Congress as well as with privately held companies like cell phone companies, airline industry and many others that are now providing services and products geared to those with heaing loss.

If I had to rate this organization with stars I would give it the maximum, five stars. Go HLAA, go!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the Manhattan Chapter. My first meeting was awesome. I grew from needing the chapter participants' help to one who can help others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire more paid employees, if possible.

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Walk 4 hearing brings the young and old together! Hearing loss cuts across all ages and impacts 40 plus million! walk4 hearing brings awareness that technology can bring access to communication!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Having each chapter keep a certain percentage of funds raised by $$$ and national will get a certain percentage .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

HLAA is an International Organization that reaches far and wide to educate, advocate and engage everyone about all aspects of hearing loss.
Their annual national convention is the best ever!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have HLAA be as common as the Red Cross!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers