Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.921575
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

One of the counselors at the Endependence Center in Virginia Beach introduced me to the local chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America. I have learned so much from the caring members about what HLAA is doing to help those of us with a hearing disability... advocating for compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act nationally and getting local businesses and venues to provide devices that allow hearing impaired individuals enjoy theater performances, movies and social functions again. I have learned much about personal devices available to help with daily living activities and can again live a nearly normal life. I encourage everyone to support this fine organization and the caring members in the great work that they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand efforts to create more active local chapters through Audiological professionals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Back when I was loosing my hearing and hit the profoundly deaf stage in the early 1970s, I would ask my doctors, audiologists, hearing aid dealers, etc., can you put me in touch with others like me so I can find out how to better cope with my hearing loss? The answer was always no. I had Cochlear Implant surgery in 1984 and it helped me to lip read. Finally in 1985, a friend found out about HLAA (then SHHH) and she asked me if I wanted to help start a chapter here, and I said "YES"! HLAA is the answer to prayers. They are the leading advocacy association for people with hearing loss. If not for HLAA, strives in hearing technology, the ADA law, education, places where we are at 'home' with our hearing loss (HLAA meetings & conventions), CAN & CART, Captions, Relay services, captions in movie theaters, etc. would not have advanced as quickly as it did. With a large group advocating for people we have a bigger voice for changes to be made to help us Hard of Hearing Folks to be more independent and so much has been developed to help. I can remember the first HLAA convention I went to in Bethesda, MD back in the 1980s. I had felt since I lost my hearing that I rode a fence; I wasn't a part of the hearing world, but did not fit in with deaf culture. With HLAA I found a home. MW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want every person who has lost their hearing to join HLAA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Hearing Loss Association of America...who is this? HLAA comprised of local chapters and state associations all across the U. S. is the ONE non-profit organization that represents all people who live with hearing loss. She speaks for all of us all the time through education, advocacy and self-help support at both national and international levels.

I found Hearing Loss Association of America back in 1983 after having been a member of several other so called organizations serving both Deaf and hard of hearing folks during my youth and young adulthood. Through participation in local chapter development and leadership, as a member of the National Board of Trustees for 8 years, by working behind the scenes at my local level in education and advocacy projects and as liaison representing former Board trustees with the National Office for the past ten years, I finally found MY organization and MY niche in society. HLAA has truly made a difference in my personal life and helped to lead me toward a more positive outlook and fulfilling experiences.

Today I remain super-active in my local chapter work, our annual Walk4Hearing event, and my support of the work in the HLAA National Office. As a person living with hearing loss, as a retired professional educator and as a mentor/advocate for others who are Deaf and/or hard of hearing, it is a privilege to give back to Hearing Loss Association of America in a small effort to repay this organization for all of the blessings I've received over the years. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do my best to do MORE to support the wonderful work of Hearing Loss Association of America. There's so much to be done and WE can each one be a part of that rewarding work. HLAA continues to change and to improve in all aspects of their work and service to people with hearing loss. I can only say, "just keep on 'keeping on' making a difference in my life and the lives of all folks with hearing loss."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

What the heck is SHHH, now HLAA. That's what I asked my wife many years ago when she read an add in the local weekly paper. We went to the local HLAA, Capital Region Chapter meeting and have been going ever since. I had a hearing aid, could not hear well, meet a lot of wonderful hard of hearing people. Got a real education on what was available for the likes of me. I served on the Board, Was President of our chapter for three years. Still serve as Vice Pres. Went on to get Bilateral Cochlear implants, attended HLAA Conventions. Met more wonderful, helpful people I also talk to people with hearing loss thru the Cochlear Awareness Network who may be a candidate for a "Implant".
All because my wife saw the add, and wanted me to hear better. I say, God bless her. Thats what HLAA is!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try hard to get the word out!!! Who we are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I found the HLAA about three years ago. I have a severe hearing loss and this organization changed my life.
I feel part of the world again. I do not feel isolated. I have learned so much from this organization. such as using ASL (assistive listening devices), speaking up about my hearing loss,
generally and in situations where I particularly need to understand , like Doctor's meeting, traveling, or just wanting to understand conversation.
It's a great organization I can't say enough wonderful things about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I have 15 year old child who was diagnosis at birth with severe hearing loss. HLAA is an awesome organization and has a tremendous impact and wealth of information to help people learn and cope with living with hearing loss. Helped me and and my child in many ways at the early stages and through the years. There fundraising events like Walk4hearing to help spread awareness, we are actively involved every year. We walk proudly and raise funds to help this awesome organization continue to help others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a late-deafened adult who is still working. I lost my hearing during what should have been the peak years of my career. Had I known about the Hearing loss Association of America, I could have availed myself earlier of all the wonderful education, advocacy and support than I did. However, it is never too late. I am so grateful to be a part of HLAA. The education, advocacy, and support I have received by being a member in HLAA has enabled me to achieve and maintain competitive employment in the career of my choice. I am so grateful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. The organization is well-run and totally committed to compliance with ever-evolving not-for-profit best-practices in management, board-governance, and fund-raising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

HLAA changed my life, I am a Volunteer, Client and Donor. I joined this organization in 1996, I learned to cope with my progressive Hearing Loss, I went to every Convention since except when health issues stopped me. I have helped start two HLAA Chapters where I learned even more, because not only do all of us with hearing loss benefit from this organization, we learn from each other, especially when it concerns coping skills. Their advocacy helps us all, not just those who are members. I am now a bilateral Cochlear Implant user as a result of all that I learned about technology. I could go on and on, I really feel like my deafness has been a gift to me, through all the wonderful caring people I met from HLAA over the years. I learned that advocating for myself was important in all I do and since joining I do so much more. This is the Self Help that I so needed and I want to share it with everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

It is very hard to explain the enormous impact HLAA has been on my life, and many others around me.

Having grown up with a hearing loss and never meeting anyone who looked like me for 33 years, it was a startling revelation. It truly is an invisible existence - and there are millions
more beyond the 50 million indentified with hearing loss.

I've learned how to prepare myself to cope in the workplace, hospitals, airports, hotels, family events. It's never been just about me - but about everyone in my life who wants to be able to fully communicate and particpate.

HLAA teaches us by exanple that we are not victims - but how to advocate and educate those around us. Accessible technology has been the tipping point for many of us to succeed and flourish.

I can't even imagine what my life would have looked like without HLAA. I'm grateful to everything they've done for me and all of the friendships that form my second family today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It needs to expand its tiny staff to accommodate all of the people out there who want more chapters, meetings, webinars, presentations, etc. They are restricted in the fact that a staff of 12 cover the entire U.S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

HLAA, formally SHHH, is a premeir hearing loss association for helping those with hearing loss to connect, educate, advocate and seek legislation in support of accommadating persons with hearing loss. In my wife's case she was able to get the best available hearing assistive devices along her journey toward total deafness by learning about the different companies and technologies. Her deafness was overcome with bi-lateral cochlear implants. The national organization and local chapters provide the needed support for those with all degrees of hearing loss. Also, the social interaction provided in this group helps HOH people to improve their social skills and to be more open to their enviroment thereby improing their quality of life and their ability to communicate with others. My wife's first hearing dog came from Dogs for the Deaf and we learned about them through a national convention of HLAA (SHHH). We are members, volunteers, donors and general public and the role did not offer more than one choice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure we are doing everything to reach all those in need of this wonderful organization. However, I know that we (our organization) does all it can with the resources at hand. Grants and gifts of resources and more volunteers would enable us to do more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers