Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2011

As a health professional working with older adults with hearing loss I became aware of the extremely valuable role played by the HLAA through its support of individuals with hearing loss, its ability ... more

October 28, 2013

HLAA is making a major difference to the lives of persons with hearing loss through its outreach activities and work informing policy makers. Many of the benefits that are available that enhance everyone's ability to communicate and stay actively engaged in the community are made possible partly by the efforts of HLAA. It also provides a wonderful network of individuals who can share their experiences and learn from each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its overall visibility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2011

As a health professional working with older adults with hearing loss I became aware of the extremely valuable role played by the HLAA through its support of individuals with hearing loss, its ability to push for legislative reform that supports persons with hearing loss, and its support of educational programs and opportunities. It's a wonderful advocate and has a very strong commitment to promoting access to health care services for persons with hearing loss at any age.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Access to educational opportunities and seeing the impact on the lives of persons with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more individuals aware of it and its programs.

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I have just become a board member of the Hearing Loss Association of America but I have been a member since 2010, and my review is based on my experience as a member.

I have had hearing loss since 1980, which got progressively worse until by 2009 it had deteriorated to the extent that I
was profoundly deaf in one ear and close to it in the other.

I left my long time job as a journalist at the end of that year, and suddenly found myself without hearing, without a job, and really without any sense of what kind of life was open to me.

I had not heard of HLAA until March of 2010. I signed up to go to the Annual Convention, just to see what it offered. I was amazed by the resources discussed at the convention, by the expert advice offered, by the advocacy for people like me. I became an active member of the national organization and then of the Manhattan chapter, where I met many others with hearing loss like mine.

Joining HLAA literally restored my life, and gave me the confidence to figure out how to live productively with hearing loss.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more younger people in the organization. Hearing loss is stigmatized as a condition of aging (even though more than 55 percent of those with hearing loss are under the age of 60). I wish HLAA had the funding to publicize how widespread hearing loss is, how damaging it is not to treat it, and to encourage people of all ages with hearing loss to come out about their condition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

When I first learned that I had a severe hearing loss I was introduced to the local chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America. Through the local members, their informative monthly meetings, and the excellent magazine and publications from the national umbrella organization I learned about my own hearing loss, its possible causes, treatments, assistive devices, and unending resources available to my family & me to better cope with my worsening hearing loss.The HLAA resources & meetings are open to all persons with hearing loss, that know someone with hearing loss, or just people that are interested in knowing more about hearing loss. The membership covers all ages, all backgrounds, and all home locations in the US. I've attended state & national conventions, been introduced to magnificent speakers and information on all subjects related to hearing loss, I've been able to share information with other newly identified people with hearing loss thanks to the Hearing Loss Association of America. It is so empowering to be in a room full of Hard of Hearing people that are learning about their disability together from knowledgeable people and together advocating for their needs in their own home communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow and have more chapters in more communities across the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

HLAA is a important resource for everyone. We are all touched by hearing loss in some way, personally or someone that we know and love at some point in our lives. Education and resources provided by HLAA help arm people with the tools to help improve their quality of life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HLAA offered an educational presentation on hearing loops, including a live demonstration and superb information from real professionals who know the technology and the human elements. Following up on this presentation I was able to work with one of the professionals who was present to develop a proposal for installing a hearing loop in my church. The installation has been a success, and church members and visitors are benefiting from improved hearing in church services and other events held in the church. The local HLAA chapter offers regular educational sessions that are a real help for people with hearing loss.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

HLAA is extremely influential and effective in all things related to hearing loss. They fight for our rights in Congress and then take the time to tell us what we can do to fight for our rights. They are staffed by an amazing group of people who are totally dedicated to helping us live successfully with hearing loss. They have all the materials and supplies to provide information on a large range of topics. They are the source for answers to many questions people have about hearing aids, such as cost, rights, and insurance. HLAA is a truly amazing non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Alternate the W4H and the Conventions so they're every other year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

One of the counselors at the Endependence Center in Virginia Beach introduced me to the local chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America. I have learned so much from the caring members about what HLAA is doing to help those of us with a hearing disability... advocating for compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act nationally and getting local businesses and venues to provide devices that allow hearing impaired individuals enjoy theater performances, movies and social functions again. I have learned much about personal devices available to help with daily living activities and can again live a nearly normal life. I encourage everyone to support this fine organization and the caring members in the great work that they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand efforts to create more active local chapters through Audiological professionals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Back when I was loosing my hearing and hit the profoundly deaf stage in the early 1970s, I would ask my doctors, audiologists, hearing aid dealers, etc., can you put me in touch with others like me so I can find out how to better cope with my hearing loss? The answer was always no. I had Cochlear Implant surgery in 1984 and it helped me to lip read. Finally in 1985, a friend found out about HLAA (then SHHH) and she asked me if I wanted to help start a chapter here, and I said "YES"! HLAA is the answer to prayers. They are the leading advocacy association for people with hearing loss. If not for HLAA, strives in hearing technology, the ADA law, education, places where we are at 'home' with our hearing loss (HLAA meetings & conventions), CAN & CART, Captions, Relay services, captions in movie theaters, etc. would not have advanced as quickly as it did. With a large group advocating for people we have a bigger voice for changes to be made to help us Hard of Hearing Folks to be more independent and so much has been developed to help. I can remember the first HLAA convention I went to in Bethesda, MD back in the 1980s. I had felt since I lost my hearing that I rode a fence; I wasn't a part of the hearing world, but did not fit in with deaf culture. With HLAA I found a home. MW

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want every person who has lost their hearing to join HLAA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Hearing Loss Association of America...who is this? HLAA comprised of local chapters and state associations all across the U. S. is the ONE non-profit organization that represents all people who live with hearing loss. She speaks for all of us all the time through education, advocacy and self-help support at both national and international levels.

I found Hearing Loss Association of America back in 1983 after having been a member of several other so called organizations serving both Deaf and hard of hearing folks during my youth and young adulthood. Through participation in local chapter development and leadership, as a member of the National Board of Trustees for 8 years, by working behind the scenes at my local level in education and advocacy projects and as liaison representing former Board trustees with the National Office for the past ten years, I finally found MY organization and MY niche in society. HLAA has truly made a difference in my personal life and helped to lead me toward a more positive outlook and fulfilling experiences.

Today I remain super-active in my local chapter work, our annual Walk4Hearing event, and my support of the work in the HLAA National Office. As a person living with hearing loss, as a retired professional educator and as a mentor/advocate for others who are Deaf and/or hard of hearing, it is a privilege to give back to Hearing Loss Association of America in a small effort to repay this organization for all of the blessings I've received over the years. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do my best to do MORE to support the wonderful work of Hearing Loss Association of America. There's so much to be done and WE can each one be a part of that rewarding work. HLAA continues to change and to improve in all aspects of their work and service to people with hearing loss. I can only say, "just keep on 'keeping on' making a difference in my life and the lives of all folks with hearing loss."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

What the heck is SHHH, now HLAA. That's what I asked my wife many years ago when she read an add in the local weekly paper. We went to the local HLAA, Capital Region Chapter meeting and have been going ever since. I had a hearing aid, could not hear well, meet a lot of wonderful hard of hearing people. Got a real education on what was available for the likes of me. I served on the Board, Was President of our chapter for three years. Still serve as Vice Pres. Went on to get Bilateral Cochlear implants, attended HLAA Conventions. Met more wonderful, helpful people I also talk to people with hearing loss thru the Cochlear Awareness Network who may be a candidate for a "Implant".
All because my wife saw the add, and wanted me to hear better. I say, God bless her. Thats what HLAA is!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try hard to get the word out!!! Who we are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers