Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Diane Nilan has worked extensively with the homeless population for many years. She has devoted her life to helping homeless kids. They are the fastest growing segment of the homeless population explosion. They try to give a voice and a face to the kids who are the most affected and least responsible for the situation they find them selves in. How can a child learn in school if they don't know where they are sleeping, and when they are going to eat again. Hear Us have won honors for the documentary video they put together. My husband was a former client, as well as a couple of friends and an ex boy friend. All except the ex got back on their feet, and are now home owners. We are all so grateful to be blessed by this special Heaven sent woman.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I worked with Diane Nilan many years ago and was not surprised when she embarked on this amazing journey to work toward the eradication of homelessness in America. There are few Americans more devoted to making this world a better place and I wish we had a thousand more of her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I became involved in HEAR US (Homeless Education Awareness Raising in the U.S.) after reading Diane Nilan's book Crossing the Line and viewing My Own Four Walls documentary. I believe the ability for such a small amount of people to advocate for so many is remarkable. I have met people who have been helped by HEAR US and heard their stories. I am committed to staying on the board and working hard to advocate for the homeless population throughout the United States. I encourage everyone to see all the documentaries and read the publications to see how they too can help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I also serve on the advisory board of HEAR US. I wanted to mention that up front for two reasons. Firstly, I -- of course -- would not want anyone to think that I was a "plant" writing a favorable review. And secondly, it is important to note that I rarely lend my time and energy serve in this capacity. Only when a group or organization works tirelessly and with a dedication that I admire on behalf of the greater good do I try and help out. It is an honor to be involved with HEAR US. And I only hope that what little I can contribute to their good work is worthy of the homeless children served by these fine folks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Hear Us gives a voice to the forgotten and vulnerable in our country through production of high quality, moving and informative documentaries featuring homeless, formerly homeless or those on the edge of homelessness individuals, who tell their stories in their own words. Founder, Diane Nilan, travels around the country listening, producing the documentaries, presenting at conferences and in university social work classes, testifying and advocating in Washington and partnering with those in the field to change perceptions and make the local and national changes needed to bring an end to homelessness in this country. Inspiring and effective, please give generously to this orgainzation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The documentaries are inspiring and informative. They change perceptions about the face of homelessness in our country and move people to make changes in their own community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hear Us documentaries should be shown on Independent Lens or POV to get a wider audience. More funding would help the organization do more. Please give generously.

April 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

An absolutely wonderful organization helping the most vulnerable and often overlooked.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Follow very closely

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers