Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

My brother in-law had a 12pm appointment and signed in at 11:50am. At 12:50 he asked the receptionist when he would be seen. He was told he was next in line. I arrived to pick him up at 1pm. At 1:40 he still had not been seen. By this time I was extremely irritated to say the least. I ask the receptionist when he might be called and she her self seemed shocked that he had a 12pm appointment and had not been seen. The receptionist then informed me we would have to wait until the staff returned from lunch. I asked to speak to the office manager and rather than her addressing the issue she went into a back room and closed the door. Both my brother in-law and I stood at the front counter completely ignored. I am a manager at a non profit medical clinc as well and my job would be terminated immediately if my customer service didn't reflect excellence at minimum. After being seen he returns to the lobby only to find the pharmacy was closed for lunch. This clinic is a customer service nightmare and the mission statement should include the truth, they'll see you on a walk-in basis and there is no such thing as a scheduled appointment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

As a pre-med student at UCF, I was simply looking for a clinical setting to perform my volunteer hours. At HCCH I got much more. My first tasks included organizing their donation center as well as preparing bags of essentials (toothpaste, toothbrushes, soap etc) for the HOPE team's clients. I then began volunteering in the office doing anything from filing paperwork to putting together office equipment and even looking for patients who had maybe strayed too far from the waiting room at the time that the nurses were ready to bring them to an exam room. About 6 months into my volunteer work at HCCH, my partner and I were invited to accompany the HOPE team, which is HCCH's outreach program. This was a truly life-changing experience for my partner and I. Seeing the struggle of the homeless here in central Florida was eye-opening yet at the same time the gratitude we saw in the HOPE team's clients proved to us that what HCCH does for the community is uniquely altruistic and innovative in it's approach to helping the least privileged in our society. any patients have told my partner and I that they "don't know what they would do" without HCCH and their services. From the front desk staff to the nurses, clinicians, admin and even Roger the maintenance man, everyone in this organization is truly dedicated to their mission. Your time will be well spent at HCCH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

Health Care Center for the Homeless is the sole provider of health care services for the homeless population in the tri-county Orlando area, as well as serving uninsured and under-insured Orange Co. residents facing catastrophic health care costs.

As a member of a local philanthropic
group, Femmes de Coeur, I became aware of HCCH in 2005 and on 2006 was thrilled to have been a part of the initial funding of the Femmes de Coeur Mammography Program for the Health Care Center for the Homeless in 2006. This program now provides free mammogram screening for 30 women each month, with appointments booked months in advance and additional capacity needed.

I recently toured the newly expanded and remodeled Center and was duly impressed by the facility including pharmacy and by the medical and dental staff on site that evening. On any given day, the center’s crowded lobby reveals the tremendous need in this community. But to witness the general atmosphere of professionalism and respect offered by everyone involved at the Center, is truly inspirational. I am proud, in my own limited way of donating, to play a part in supporting their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

Orange County and Seminole County, Florida have been ranked as the first, second or third wealthiest counties in Florida based on median income 27 of the last 30 years. Yet there remains a huge gap of low to middle income families struggling in facing bankruptcy and foreclosure the past ten years.
Harvard University and Ohio University conducted a study and found that every 90 seconds a family faces bankruptcy and foreclosure related issues due to ongoing medical adversity in this country. The ironic part of it all, the study found over 70% of those same families were insured at the time of facing their overwhelming medical challenges. It can happen to any of us at a given moment.
Health Care Center for the Homeless provides a clean, multipurpose facility for those individuals faced with such uncertainty in their lives. The medical, dental, guidance and support offered at their facility is done with compassion, caring and skill. It truly is an example of what can be accomplished to help those facing difficulties in their lives.
We believe Health Care for the Homeless represents an excellent model for other communities throughout this country. Faced with much uncertainty in our family as well - I am proud of the work they offer to the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hopefully they will have opportunity to expand their operations to another location in Seminole County, FL in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers