Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2013

I was introduced to this wonderful place by my neighbor Nancy Elkins. She and I go out there to help Bev in any way that we can. I have only been involved for a few months, but during that time I ha... more

April 24, 2013

Things are looking so much brighter for the horses and children who so need this program. Taking abused, neglected and abandoned horses, rehabilitating them with nutrition, training and oodles of love creates a new life for these animals. They then go on to be a new life line to children with emotional, physical and learning issues. What a beautiful way to bring love to both horses and children. Great job Beverly....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to this wonderful place by my neighbor Nancy Elkins. She and I go out there to help Bev in any way that we can. I have only been involved for a few months, but during that time I have seen many miraculous things happen. Whether it be a horse coming in that was abused in some way and then see the progression of the love and kindness to transform that animal into a trusting loving creature is beyond words. To see a child with a learning or physical challenge, become at one with such an animal is truly the most beautiful thing you'll ever see. Besides these things, it brings me personally to a new place in my own mind and heart that is better than any place I've ever been in my life.

Bravo Bev, may God keep you here for a long, long time to continue your unselfish care of those who need you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of meeting Bev and Healing Horses about a year ago. I was so interested in the horses that I asked about volunteering there. Only problem I had was I had never been around horses. Bev explained that they are just “over grown puppy dogs”.

With trepidation I went the
next week to see how I could help. I have been able to see the transformation in the horses. When a new horse arrives at Healing Horse …”One child at a time”, you can see the fear in their eyes and posture. After being there for a few weeks or even days, you see them relax in their new environment. They know that they will receive the vet help, food and love that they crave.

The horses know me and accept me. I look forward each week to volunteer there. The horses greet me a nudge in the back which is their way of saying “Welcome”.

I think Healing Horses does amazing work and both the horses that have been abused and the special needs children they help because of the relationship with the horses. I have had the privilege of seeing the changes in the children that come there and their amazing progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

From my fist time at Healing horses I felt at home. Everyone I've met here have hearts of gold, and it's so incredible to see the difference made in the lives of the kids that come here. Beverly is an amazing and wonderful person, and truly has a gift for helping both horses and special needs children. As a whole, Healing Hoses is a warm and welcoming place, and I look forward to volunteering each weekend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

As the mother of 2 of the volunteers that work here, all I can say is that I wish we would have found Healing Horses sooner. We are equine owners, but this place provides a safe and fun learning enviroment for my girls to explore more about horses and the field of study involving kids with disablities.It is a second home to us.The comraderie that is felt is family based.We have been there long enough to witness the improvement of the horses she houses here,compared to how they hit her property to now is astonishing.In addition, the kids that do therapy have made major milestone improvements.Personally, we have seen our youngest daughter grow in self esteem and knowledge.She would rather be at Healing Horses then hanging out at the mall, or really anything else.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

There are not enough words in the English language to describe how fantastic this place is. To me this is where I feel safe. No one judges, no one puts people down. It is just a place where you can go when you are having a bad day that will turn your it all around. Beverly, the owner and founder, is one of those people sent to you to make a difference. She would give her limbs and more for these kids, especially the special needs. Without Healing Horses I don't know where I'd be. This, to me, and all of my friends who volunteer with me- This is a second home. Every weekend this is what I look forward to. No other place has done that to me. But we also have the cutest horseys in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Healing horses to me is a place i can go and just be myself.It helped me make new friends and explore my passion for horses!The other volunteers welcome you with open arms and are so nice and funny!Beverly has helped me so much and has also welcomed me with open arms ,Beverly knows so much about horses and has a great program !Everyday i learn something new and i cant wait for the week to got by so i can help with the horses! I can honestly say healing horses has helped me to be a better person and just be myself !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Healing Horses "One Child At A Time" is a incredible place. I am extremely grateful for my experience here as a volunteer. I have made many new friends and enjoy working with the horses. I have finally found a place where I am not judged and It brings joy to my heart to know what a difference we make even if only in the heart of one child or one horse. Healing Horses has allowed me to feel accepted and know that I am part of something greater and together we are making a difference. Thank you Bev for everything that you do, allowing others to share in a truly wonderful cause and thank you volunteers. You inspire me. :-)


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I was never really a horse riding when I started but it didn't take long to fall on love with the horses, the special needs kids, as well as the other volunteers and Bev! I was looking for a shelter where I could escape and have fun, a place where no one judged only helped. I now know so much! I can ride without running into a tree and can pony as well! I have never met someone with a bigger heart then Bev. Where she doesn't just put back the light in abused horses but also build kids love towards horses. You could never find a better shelter of horses or people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I love Healing Horses. It is a beautiful facility home to many different stories and lives. Every Sunday is a blessing; getting to see all my friends. Human and horse alike. I was truly blessed to meet Ms.Bev and all her horses

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Healing Horses is just an amazing place. I love going there on Sundays and helping out with chores like cleaning feed buckets, washing and grooming the horses, and just helping the horses to feel at home. When my mom first toldme about it, I kind of thought it would be boring, but its really fun and I've made a lot of new friends. I'm learning a ton about horses and it's just a great time knowing that I'm helping to make a difference with these horses.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Bath and groom horses, clean water troughs and do barn chores.