Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

This is the most dedicated, passionate and effective non-profit I know of!The volunteers are committed to prevent more destruction to our beautiful ocean; as well as to "fix" the destructive things that can be! (for example septic systems near the shore; and pesticide pollution to name two!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Heal the Ocean is a driving force in coastal environment education and action, from changing the way we treat our sewage to helping support other non-profits like our owe with general public education and youth sponsored beach clean-up. The HTO staff have the passion, commitment and knowledge to continue to improve our coast and keep our water clean and safe for humans and marine life. Great work Heal the Ocean. Earl Richmond, Our World of Oceans, Founder

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

Heal the Ocean is a terrific non-profit that is changing the way we treat and think about the ocean. "The ocean can no longer be used as a dump!"is their motto. Septic systems in shallow ground water along the beaches and creeks have been replaced by new sewer systems locally. In doing so Heal the Ocean has shaped policy in the State of California regarding ground water and septic systems. Heal the ocean works to help City's and County's identify contaminated ground water that needs treatment. Heal the Ocean works with sewage treatment plant operators to help them upgrade their plants and begin wastewater recycling projects so that water used in sewage treatment avoids entering the ocean and can be reused as a new resource. Since 1998, when they funded DNA studeis to test for human fecal coliform at the Rincon, Heal the Ocean has undertaken cutting edge scientific studies to identify sources of pollution. Heal the Ocean continues to help protect the health of the ocean and the life within it. Including us humans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

Heal the Ocean has led the way for the protection of our ocean for a long time. With Hillary Hauser at the helm, H.T.O. has been instrumental in safe-guarding this valuable resource for all. They have brought forward an amazing amount of information that the majority of the public was not aware of. In doing so, intelligent decision making processes have been made on local and statewide policies,...further strengthening the 'protection of this most critical resource'.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

Heal the Ocean is doing exactly that -"healing the ocean". They have become a wonderful voice to all those who enjoy our beautiful oceans by drawing attention to the many ways we can help heal the water. Starting with a major household septic system to sewer project at the world famous Rincon surf break, they have become the "go to" organization for identifying sources of pollution going into our water and how to mitigate these pollution problems. They have worked with many governmental agencies on why they need to upgrade sewage treatment plants and then help find grants to finance these upgrades. Heal the Ocean's library of scientific tests, observations and expert testimony in cases involving ocean pollution are used by many agencies to focus on pollution sources and ways to mitigate these problems. We all are benefiting from the work they have done and are doing. The ocean can no longer just be a dump for all our waste and Heal the Ocean is doing the work to make us all become aware of how clean our oceans can and should be. Thank you Heal the Ocean.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers