Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
123.6666745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 16, 2013

more

January 16, 2013

I loved working for Heal the Bay Aquarium under the Santa Monica Pier. Worked as a Naturalist for the Key to the Sea program that educated school children on the importance of our marine eco systems and our impact on it upon it. Curriculum focused mainly on the Santa Monica Bay and Southern California's oceans. What are watersheds? How can we keep them clean and healthy for humans and marine life? Together, how do we make a difference.

I first became involved with Heal the Bay after moving to Los Angeles and living for several years in Marina Del Rey. Seeing the amount of trash that floated down the Biona Creek and out to the Santa Monica Bay after a rain storm was always so upsetting. Heal the Bay was working hard to make things better and I wanted to be apart of it so I began working and volunteering at the Aquarium in 2005- 2008 up until I moved to Texas. Now living in Austin I only wish a chapter to Heal the Bay existed here. I see the same problems here with streams, rivers, aquifers and lakes!

I have nothing but positive things to say about all the staff and volunteers I came into contact with during my years of involvement with Heal the Bay. The staff was extremely dedicated and passionate about their roles in bringing about a change for the better. With limited funds I was always impressed to see what powerful community outreach, education programs and involvement campaigns Heal the Bay could execute on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

January 15, 2013

Heal the Bay is a fabulous non-profit run by passionate, dedicated and extremely hard-working employees and volunteers. I volunteered here for several years (before starting a family) and was (and still am!) impressed by the excellent work that they do and the results that they achieve. I was involved in the education program through the Santa Monica Pier Aquarium. One of the excellent aspects of this work is the education of school children (and their parents/teachers!) about the environment in which they live and the importance of their role in keeping this environment clean and safe. In my opinion, Heal the Bay is fighting an immensely important battle of which your average Angeleno is unaware. Keep up the good work, Heal the Bay!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A note about the star rating of Heal the Bay: Charity Navigator currently rates non-profit organizations on two criteria, finance and accountability/transparency. Heal the Bay still maintains four stars on accountability and transparency, but is rated much lower on finance. Charity Navigator's finance rating is based on year over year numbers, and ranks groups that are growing in revenue and program expense at a higher level. Last year, due to a number of factors, Heal The Bay did have a revenue decrease in comparison to the previous year. Therefore, Charity Navigator dropped our rating. The efficiency of our programs, education, and advocacy are still top notch and fueled by our mission. We are working diligently to increase our contributions and donations this year so that we can continue our important work.

Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions or comments!
Signed: Danielle Portnoy, Advancement Director for Heal the Bay
Dportnoy@HealtheBay.org

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Cleaning up the bay and beaches is a safety issue as well as being good for locals and tourism in our City

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The anonymous “Rosewater” makes some reckless accusations about the management of Heal the Bay in the post above. I’m not sure what Charity Navigator’s process is for vetting baseless claims from a disgruntled ex-employee before publishing them. But, as chairman of its board and a long-serving volunteer, I can personally vouch that Heal the Bay operates in the most ethical and fiscally responsible way possible. Hard-working staff and thousands of passionate volunteers have been the lifeblood of the organization, with many of them working with us for decades. They are appreciated, valued and respected. Our 27-year history of community support and environmental progress speaks for itself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 3, 2012

Heal the Bay's ED and now Acting ED conduct unethical and unprofessional activities. They also mislead supporters and actually lie to the hard working employees and volunteers. They spread false rumors about those working with it and will throw anyone under the bus at anytime. Change at the top is needed to begin healing Heal the Bay. In the meantime, STAY AWAY!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Heal the Bay since 2003, when they acquired the UCLA Ocean Discovery Center and reopened it as the Santa Monica Pier Aquarium. I have continued to volunteer with them because EVERYONE there is amazing! They are knowledgeable, friendly, open, smart, realistic and dedicated!!! They have goals and continually work towards achieving them through education programs for the schools and for the public. I have extremely high standards and they continually exceed my expectations with amazing organization of tens of thousands of Angelenos every year! They graciously accept everyone's support, whether it's financial, volunteer hours, services donations, or simply accepting one of their free reusable bags and USING IT! This is an amazing organization and deserving of your support! I continue to give as much as I can to them in these extremely lean times!!! I encourage you to find out more and give back to our environment, in whatever manner you are comfortable with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2011

As a member of Heal the bay, I find their materials very helpful in safeguarding my health and well being. In particular, their "Beach Report Card" is a great snapshot of which coastal areas are an A+, and which I should avoid. Thanks Heal the Bay!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...my use of the Beach Report Card, and other useful educational and informational materials, and advocacy efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...expand its scope nationally so all coastal US citizens and visitors oucld benefit from their expertise.

April 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2011

I was a Volunteer and treated very poorly as well.
They take money from the Plastics industry while trying to ban plastic bags

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping with Beach cleanups and school talks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat your Volunteers better

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers