Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I accepted the board member invitaiton because I wanted to volunteer for a local charity that makes a difference in people's lives. I is very gratifying to know that all the monies are used localy to help local Savannahanians. I am on a few charity boards, and it is by FAR my most satisfying and inspring.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

An amazing non-profit organization that provides many services through its dedicated volunteers. Counseling, work readiness, gardening, and culinary are just a few of the many programs created to support the needs of the under-served members of our community. I volunteer for HUGS because I know it has changed lives for those who had no other resources and needed a "hand up" and not a "hand out."
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have decided to start volunteering with Heads Up Guidance Services because they are in the business of changing lives and giving a hand up instead of a hand out. HUGS believe that everyone can have the opportunity to have a second chance if needed. As a volunteer I help to spread the message that there is always hope for a better life even after bad decisions. Therefore, I am so excited to be involved in the vision and mission of HUGS as we work together to change the fabric of our community one person at a time.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I completed my graduate internship with HUGS, and now am volunteering as a professional counselor. This organization extends a hand-up to individuals who are usually cast aside by society (those suffering from addiction, homelessness, joblessness, emotional dysfunction, and so forth). As a counselor, I have first-hand experience as to how the work we do is critical and necessary to increasing the quality of life of those we serve. I volunteer my services to HUGS, because it is a benevolent organization.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

As a volunteer with Heads-Up Guidance Services, I have seen first handily the impact of our work within the Savannah community. Our outreach have impacted the lives of our local folks, and continues to do so on a daily basis. Persons who needed counseling services and can't afford to pay for such are helped by HUGS who provide these services free of cost.

I am truly blessed to be a part of such a great and most encouraging organization, whose main goal is to reach out to as many of our community folks as we can.

Evelyn m. Thomas, M.S.W.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The entire staff at HUGS is dedicated to providing services to those most in need. Best of all the participants are a part of the process because they pay a minimal fee for services. They also have the opportunity to learn skills needed to be a contributing member of the community. There is a very positive feeling among clients, staff and volunteers.
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a licensed professional counselor for all of my adult life, I have seen the huge need for counseling in our community. I worked with teens and their families and know that once they finished high school, their counseling needs did not necessarily go away. So many people could and would benefit from ongoing counseling, but most people are not able to pay for the counseling they need or feel it is not the priority purchase when it comes to their budgets. Those people who are homeless or addicted or in volatile family situations often are the ones who most need and never get counseling. How nice to have a local organization here to provide these services to those in special need. HUGS does great work in our community, and with ongoing support, will continue to "give a hand up" to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more professional counselors to the staff

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Heads-Up guidance services has been a big part of my life and the lives of many people who need a hand up, Once their new facility is finish I will be the caretaker of that building. Andrea and the other members of their team, has effected my life in such a way that it is hard to express in words.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have watched this organization grow from its inception as the brain child of Andrea Epting and Ellen Bradley. These two dedicated women have consistently kept their focus on the goal of building an organization which lends "a hand UP" to members of our Savannah community, who are working hard to overcome the personal and professional obstacles in their lives.
I'm so very proud to be a part of this wonderful organization as a volunteer. I have pledged my time and financial resources to support their efforts.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

HUGS is an incredible nonprofit organization that provides professional services to those in need throughout Savannah and its surrounding areas. Speaking from personal experience, I have been using their counseling services over the past year and a half and it has completely changed my life for the better. The staff and volunteers are some of the most compassionate, loving, and sincere people I have ever met. I tell everyone I know about HUGS and highly recommend them to anyone who is in need of help. Thank you, HUGS, for all you have done for me and all the other lives you have changed over the years!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers