Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been involved with the Hawaii Wildlife Center since 2007 - first as a pro-bono consultant, then as an Advisor and finally serving on the Board of Directors. I first became involved due to the site of the Hawaii Wildlife Center being located on the former Halaula Sugar Mill and plantation, where my father's family lived and worked. They attended the adjacent Halaula Elementary School (now called the Kohala Middle School). However, it took just moments to become affected by Linda Elliot's infectious enthusiasm for her concern for Hawaii's native bird and bat populations. It was easy to understand what an important function the Center would provide for both crisis and on-going rehabilitative treatments for injured birds. Beyond the rehabilitation and release efforts for native birds, Hawaii Wildlife Center is a resource for conservation, education and community volunteerism. Now that the Center is operational, Linda has been able to begin realizing all of those goals and now has a talented staff, a dedicated group of volunteers and Board to support her efforts. HWC and Linda are an inspiration to witness and participate with. I am excited to be able to part of this journey and look forward to the future. Jason Umemoto

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

When I first heard of the creation of the Hawaii Wildlife Center, it immediately jumped to to the top of my list as THE place I wanted to be involved with. Hawaii's extremely unique and threatened native wildlife needs ALL of us to help, in whatever way we can! Having worked in wildlife care at wildlife centers in other states, I've experienced both good and bad wildlife rescue and rehabilitation practices; at Hawaii Wildlife Center, not only is it the top priority of the Director and staff to save and sustain ALL our endangered native wildlife, but they truly appreciate what they're striving for, including anyone who is interested in helping them! I feel extremely privileged to be working with them as a volunteer in wildlife care. Please consider helping in any way you can, too, be it volunteering, donating needed supplies to the Center, planting native trees and plants in your yard, or simply leading the cause by example! You may also enjoy spending time on http://www.hawaiiwildlifecenter.org :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I lived in Kailua Kona Hawaii I was looking for a place to volunteer. I found the WIldlife Center and met Linda. I believe in what they do and am so proud to have been even a little bit of a part of their growth. I was impressed with LInda and the community and how they pulled together in some of the toughest economic times in a while and were able to get this center up and running! Hats off to all of the crew! Not only are they helping the wildlife in Hawaii, but I know that the plants that children planted in the front part of the Center are also native species. What a way to teach the kids about their native island! This Center is not only helping the wildlife but also the culture!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The Hawaii Wildlife Center is a stellar effort to further the conservation effort in the islands and the Pacific as a whole, as it's the only center of its kind in the area. Linda's enthusiasm and well thought out efforts have caught hold in the community and not just people; Linda tells me that a pue'o did a careful fly-over inspection and then perched atop a pole to indicate approval. What better stamp of approval can you have? Mahalo Linda! Jan Wizinowich

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

As the HWC Director I am immensely grateful to work with a highly qualified and wonderfully dedicated team working tirelessly to achieve our mission to conserve native Hawaiian wildlife through hands-on rehabilitation, education and research. As president of the HWC board of directors I am also honored to work side by side with the diverse group of board members that are accomplished professionals, compassionate, committed and resourceful supporters of HWC. The journey to realizing the dream of this critical resource for Hawai‘i’s endangered birds and bat has been entirely a community effort and a heartwarming experience. Our enthusiastic volunteers have put forth untold hours and expertise to bring HWC to life. HWC is truly an outcome of Aloha!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I volunteer at the Wildlife Center. The first time I went, I was given a tour of the facilities. I am really impressed with this state of the art place. It is amazing! I am also glad I have met such dedicated, knowledgeable and friendly staff! It is very important for Hawaii's future to have a place like this that will protect and preserve Hawaii's native wildlife.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Hawaii Wildlife Center is meeting a long-time need of the State of Hawaii. Already rehabilitating and releasing its first "patient" HWC will be helping save Hawaii's native species for many years to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Linda Elliott and her crew at the Hawai`i Wildlife Center an amazingly committed group. Linda spent more than 12 years getting this wildlife rehabilitation organization off the ground, then battled through the deepest recession our country has seen since the Great Depression raising money and awareness for the cause of protecting Hawai`i's endangered wildlife and building a state of the art facility to ensure the survival of these endangered species. Hawai`i has more endangered species than the rest of the country combined, and yet Hawai`i used to be the only state that did NOT have such a facility. No longer! Hawai`i's endangered species now have a much better chance of survival, thanks to the HWC. As a volunteer architect, as a donor, as a bird-lover, I feel so blessed to have met Linda and her team, and to have been able to play a role for such a critical cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

The Hawai'i Wildlife Center is offering a critical service in rehabilitating injured and ill wildlife. Thank you for how hard and long you've worked to be able to provide the care that these native species need in order to be released back into the wild.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

From the first day I started volunteering at the Hawaii Wildlife Center, I knew it was a special place. The energy in the garden is not unlike the feeling of being in Waipio, of returning home. The more time I spend here, the more I believe that the Hawaii Wildlife Center was destined to be. The proof of that can be seen by the continuous support from the community, to the efforts and backing from the other Hawaiian Islands and beyond. This place has a natural healing vitality and I feel so privileged to be a part of it. I am fortunate to be here at this time, as the facility is opening and growing in all directions. From the education side that offers children and adults a unique look into how life evolves and how our actions can affect the environment and the wildlife within it, to the opportunity to research our findings and most importantly to rescue and rehabilitate the sick and injured native species found in this part of the world. Linda Elliott’s vision truly is inspirational and an important part of the history and culture of Hawaii. Let’s keep it alive, let’s help it thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers