Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

Hawaii Education Matters arose at a time when parents didn't have a voice, and needed one because critical decisions were being made about our children. HEM helps keeps me abreast of pressing education issues and helps plug in parents.
September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

Hawaii Education Matters (HEM) has developed an organization with a variety of resources for parents, teachers and community leaders to address issues related to learning and policy that influence outcomes in Hawaii's schools. HEM encourages family and community involvement at all levels of education and have partnered with various organizations to help implement appropriate programs for our communities.

Initially developed to address 17 furlough days implemented in the public schools in 2009, HEM has expanded their programs to include health education and other tools to help children excel in schools and parents get involved. In a state with limited resources and a notoriously poor public education system, HEM has provided a measurable impact with validated programs that improve the quality of our public schools. As a parent and an educator, I highly endorse HEM.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

As a leader in a Hawaiian private school's parent organization and military spouse, I have seen and heard the critical need for an organization like Hawaii Education Matters. Every child in Hawaii deserves an excellent education, and every family deserves a choice in how they pursue that. HEM not only raises awareness of how a healthy public school system benefits everyone in the community, they also provide tremendous vision with their child-focused initiatives that are applicable to all Hawaii schools, both public and private. I subscribe to the HEM newsletter and personally make every effort to incorporate HEM ideas and suggestions into our parent organization activities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

When Hawaii public schools choose to implement school furloughs on Fridays, as a member of the public I was pretty angry. I wanted to protest somehow but did not know what to do. I came across Hawaii Education Matters and learned that they were doing a rally at the State Capitol to protest the furloughs. I was able to meet HEM's organizers, members and volunteers. Everyone was working together collectively to get their voice heard. It was a great experience for me to be with concerned parents who were making themselves heard through peaceful protest. I have kept in touch with HEM through their website, following their activities after the rally.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

In my experience, HEM has both the passion and people-power necessary to reach their goals. When asked to partner in a high profile education Town Hall, their leadership jumped in with both feet. They assisted in networking with over 25 other education-based nonprofits to create a Take Action area, organized education professionals for a panel discussion and participated in follow-up activities.
In the world of nonprofits, this level of organization, collaboration and follow-up deserves an A+.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Collaborate with teachers and families to develop workshops for the Family Academy