Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

Haven Horse Ranch is a wonderful place for kids and adults with disabilities. The look on their faces when they are on the horse is priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I started volunteering at Haven Horse Ranch as a horse handler for the Equine Therapy program at the beginning of 2014. I love being around horses and have a background in early childhood education and thought what a great way to combine the two. I have been amazed at the changes that can be seen in a handicapped child after only a few visits to the ranch. Whether it is a physical handicap that is helped by the strengthening of the core muscles and the limbering of tightened muscles by playing games of stretching as we ride around the ring; the verbal responses from one who doesn't speak that are initiated from being at the top of the world, on their horse; or the autistic child who verbalizes and begins interacting with the world; they all may seem small goals, but to the child, the parent and therapists these are huge steps to be celebrated!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

My wife and I went for a trail ride one day at the Haven Horse Ranch, and before leaving after talking to Ric and hearing about the Ranch and its mission, we decided that this was a place that we would like to become a volunteer. Seeing the strides made during and as a result of the equine therapy have been both amazing, truly remarkable and rewarding. We really enjoy working with both those who work for and or volunteer at the ranch and those who receive the equine therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

We have been volunteering almost a year as horse handlers in the Equine Therapy sessions. We have received excellent training and lead horses during the therapy sessions for individuals with autism, CF, brain or spinal cord injuries etc. For those with limited mobility, can you imagine the experience of moving along on a horse as they take the therapy? Seeing the smiles of the students and their expressions of love toward the horses is simply amazing. All the other activities at the ranch, such as trail rides and riding lessons, help support the therapy. Ric, the owner of the ranch has a true calling to make the equine therapy happen and that calling shows in everything that is done at the ranch. We have been very touched by working there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

My experience with Haven Horse Ranch has been much more amazing than I could have possibly hoped. I originally reached out to them to become a volunteer and gain necessary observation hours with their equine therapy program (I am applying for a master's program). They made the entire process extremely easy and accessible for my schedule. Once I began volunteering, I was disappointed with myself for not reaching out to them sooner. They do amazing work with their equine therapy, and the staff all welcomed me with open arms. The way their program works, many children don't even realize they are doing therapy, and the joy is definitely contagious! They also offer riding lessons, summer camp, a special needs camp and provide a show on Friday nights for their riders to show off their skills!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have been involved with Haven Horse Ranch for 15 years. I was first introduced to the ranch by my daughter. Over the years I have seen so many lives changed. I have seen children that never spoke before say their first words to the horse. I have seen crippled children experience the freedom and joy of being on a horse. I have witnessed young people learn responsibility and kids that had no self image stand tall hold their heads up high as they interacted with the staff and learned to control the horse. I have seen hardened young people that were one step away from jail stand in the arena and weep with gratitude. I am proud to be a volunteer at this amazing facility. The staff at the ranch is dedicated, trained and full of heart. I cannot recommend it high enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Haven Horse Ranch is amazing! The Ranch provides Hippotherapy for developmentally disabled children and adults. While I work directly with the horses, I am able to watch some of the therapy sessions, and it's wonderful to see the pride and smiles of the clients. No one is turned away; if someone has the need or desire, the staff will find a way to accommodate them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I am proud and honored to serve Haven Horse Ranch. The Equine Therapy Program assist adults and children with disabilities to reach their full potential. Miracles are witnessed at the ranch. One can see an autistic child speaks their first words. When they speak, we are left speechless. It is just one of many wonderful aspects of this exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I have just started helping at Haven Horse Ranch and am just sorry I didn't get involved sooner. At the ranch, special needs children have taken their first steps or spoken their first words while in... more

August 13, 2013

I have had the honor as a board member of Haven Horse Ranch to see happy smiles from therapy students as well as riding students. When a student wants to show how well they are performing, it speaks volumes of the program, staff, and their commitment to the organization! If you are looking for a program where the student is number one, then Haven Horse Ranch is the place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

I have just started helping at Haven Horse Ranch and am just sorry I didn't get involved sooner. At the ranch, special needs children have taken their first steps or spoken their first words while interacting with wonderful horses that seem to know just what each child needs. Youth have learned that it is more important to turn their negative thoughts and actions into something positive while working with the horses and the needs of something other than themselves! It is like a large family, everyone different but all part of the family! Thank you Haven Horse Ranch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Haven Horse Ranch is a wonderful organization that truly provides a unique service touching the lives of people in the community who have obstacles to overcome. I love how they reach people through interactive experiences with horses. The therapy they provide with their horses and staff builds confidence and hope in the clients they serve and the community they impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers