Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

First Time Riding lessons for our 7 year old daughter .
What a beautiful serene spot to enjoy the afternoon .
Alyssa, our daughter enjoyed the entire experience . We were greeted by the owner and had a short oreintation on her responsibilities to the heard .. Lol, she was the boss !!
Onto grooming the horse, where she was taught brushing and getting the horse ready to ride . Then, .. immediately Alyssa was shown basic skill by Jarred how to direct her horse to turn right, left , and other stuff ..... Alyssa along with guidance from Jarred played horse soccer .. It was delightful for me as a spectator to watch from bleachers by arena . Alyssa learned the basic comands of horseback riding . Great experience with wonderful professional staff . Thank you Haven Horse !!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring lunch and have a picnic at the ranch !!

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

I have recently had the opportunity to learn more about the amazing things that are happening at Haven Horse Ranch and I only wish I would have heard about them sooner! Through my position as a Speech/Language Pathologist with Next Step Therapy, I have been able to become more involved with the ranch through becoming a Certified Equine Therapist. Now I am able to see the life changing activities first hand with the children that are being served on the ranch. Haven Horse Ranch is a wonderful place where children with various disabilities and/or challenges can go to help them achieve greater personal independence.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

My daughter has been riding at Haven Horse Ranch for over 4 years now. Her symptoms of Autism have been greatly reduced thanks to Smokey, Fancy, Rayne, and of course the wonderful staff & volunteers too! Thank you Haven Horse Ranch!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Haven Horseranch is a great organization to be a part of. Our team of therapists at Next Step Therapy recently started treating our kids out at the ranch and it has been great! Ric has made equine assisted therapy his top priority and it is amazing to see the results in the kids. We share his passion to help as many kids as possible achieve functional independence either through physical strength, speech, or controlled behavior. We are truly grateful for the opportunity to partner with Haven in changing the lives of children with special needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I have known about Haven Horse Ranch for a few years, but just recently became actively involved by becoming a Certified Equine Assisted Therapy Instructor. I now see first hand what an amazing facility Ric has made for children with special needs. I am a Speech Pathologist with 39 years experience, and I can truthfully say that what I see in the therapy sessions is remarkable, The children become animated and do and say things at the end of a session that they were not doing at the beginning. His horses are so well trained that I have no doubt that the riders are safe. I work with many children who have significant sensory issues, and I believe that the Equine Assisted Therapy is a definite asset to their therapy program. I will work with as many as I can at the Ranch. The staff there has been wonderful and are a joy to work with. My only regret is that I did not get involved with Ric and his programs sooner.l

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I have just started helping at Haven Horse Ranch and am just sorry I didn't get involved sooner. At the ranch, special needs children have taken their first steps or spoken their first words while in... more

August 13, 2013

I have had the honor as a board member of Haven Horse Ranch to see happy smiles from therapy students as well as riding students. When a student wants to show how well they are performing, it speaks volumes of the program, staff, and their commitment to the organization! If you are looking for a program where the student is number one, then Haven Horse Ranch is the place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

I have just started helping at Haven Horse Ranch and am just sorry I didn't get involved sooner. At the ranch, special needs children have taken their first steps or spoken their first words while interacting with wonderful horses that seem to know just what each child needs. Youth have learned that it is more important to turn their negative thoughts and actions into something positive while working with the horses and the needs of something other than themselves! It is like a large family, everyone different but all part of the family! Thank you Haven Horse Ranch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Wow! Is what I think when I think of Haven Horse Ranch a licensed SpiritHorse Therapeutic Center in St Augustine Florida. The ranch is ran with the children's safety first and the latest therapeutic approaches offered in the "therapy world" with equine therapy. This ranch truly benefits a child with a diagnosis through passion, love, knowledge, research, and the I CAN approach. With this type of enviroment a child CAN be successful. All therapeutic riding centers should be ran with the mission statement of Haven Horse Ranch. It is the most amazing professional experience not just for the volunteers/ professionals that make this ranch run but in turn gives the children a place to flourish through passion and spirit! I say congrads to Ric for a job well done! I would highly recommend the ranch to anyone.

Respectfully, Melanie COTA/L & Certified Equine Assisted Therapist

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I have seen first hand the impact this ranch has made on many lives. . .troubled youth that went from a detention center to a local private college because of the lessons learned at the ranch. . . Children walk unaided when doctors had all but given up on them. . . Autistic youth speak their first words from atop their trusted equine friend. . .physically challenged adults develop their core and balance to improve their quality of life, and a young boy play catch with his dad for the first time. . .a gift neither expected but both cherish. These are the clients, but the volunteers and staff also speak of the awe, the renewed sense of wonder they get to experience by working with these wonderful horses and the clients whose lives are changed forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to fund it o the max as its abilities to change lives is limited only by its resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

My wife and I went for a trail ride one day at the Haven Horse Ranch, and before leaving after talking to Ric and hearing about the Ranch and its mission, we decided that this was a place that we would like to become a volunteer. Seeing the strides made during and as a result of the equine therapy have been both amazing, truly remarkable and rewarding. We really enjoy working with both those who work for and or volunteer at the ranch and those who receive the equine therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

My seven year old son has cerebral palsy and walks with the aid of a walker. He has been receiving equine therapy at Haven Horse for three years now and within just a few months he was taking steps without his walker. His balance has also improved tremendously. The horses are beautiful and impressive, and the staff is incredible. They have been nothing but kind and supportive to our son and entire family. Our experience with Haven Horse has been nothing short of amazing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers