Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
December 19, 2014

more

December 19, 2014

I am Director of a newly implemented Clinical Research Unit (CRU) at the Lyndon B. Johnson (LBJ) Hospital, which is a joint effort between the University of Texas Health Science Center, MD Anderson Cancer Center, and the Harris Health System. A primary reason for locating a CRU at LBJ is to increase access to cutting-edge research for a patient population that is historically underrepresented in clinical trials. Toward this effort, we have developed a close working relationship with the staff of the Harris County Hospital District Foundation as we pursue common goals to bring beneficial research to patients the Harris Health System. Together we have assessed the needs of the CRU at LBJ and are in the process of finding solutions to overcome barriers to research in the facility. Going forward, the HCHD Foundation will be an essential partner in identifying and/or providing funding for the LBJ CRU to ensure its viability.
December 11, 2014

more

December 11, 2014

Through our partnership with the Harris County Hospital District Foundation, the women and children of Santa Maria Hostel have been able to greatly benefit and improve their quality of life. Over the past several years, Santa Maria Hostel has been able to develop and implement two unique programs that were generously supported by the Harris County Hospital District Foundation.
Santa Maria Hostel was proud to partner with the Harris County Hospital District Foundation to improve the overall health of our clients and their children utilizing the Fitness and Nutrition Connection (FAN) program. By providing nutrition information and structured fitness programs to indigent women and their children, we were able to create a knowledge base and foundation for a much healthier community for generations to come.

Most recently, with support from the Harris County Hospital District Foundation, Santa Maria Hostel was able to create the Healing Hearts program to address the mental health needs of the children in our care. Santa Maria Hostel was able to add the Healing Families program component to our existing services and provide family therapy services, Nurturing Parent classes, as well as specialized services for the children including: play therapy and art therapy. Although still a relatively new program, we have already seen great outcomes for our mothers and their children in residence.

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris County Hospital District Foundation assisted our inpatient rehabilitation department by taking a once vacant outdoor space and transformed it into a beautiful horticultural therapy garden. The grant helped our department in purchasing the much needed therapeutic gardening equipment, shading for the garden, as well as for ongoing projects and seasonal plantings. The garden provides an outside location for patients to engage in a therapeutic activity, while incorporating all the same goals of increasing activity tolerance, standing tolerance, cognition, range of motion etc. normally addressed within the confines of a traditional gym or inpatient setting. The inpatient rehabilitation department at Quentin Mease Community Hospital is extremely grateful to the Harris County Hospital District Foundation for all their hard work and dedication in making our dreams a wonderful reality.
Amy Parker, CTRS –Recreation Therapist.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris County Hospital District Foundation fosters innovation by supporting pilot programs within the Harris Health System such as the creation of the Horticultural Therapy Program at the Quentin Mease Community Hospital (https://www.harrishealth.org/en/news/pages/horticultural-therapy-garden.aspx) and the award-winning Healthy Harvest initiative( http://www.newswise.com/articles/harris-county-hospital-district-wins-prestigious-naph-award). Additionally, the foundation builds public-private partnerships on behalf of low-income, uninsured children. Just in the last 10 years, the Foundation has given more than $2.5 million to various children’s health projects in Harris County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris Health Foundation has been instrumental in changing lives - I work at the Neuro Psychiatric Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Occupational Therapy Department, and because the Foundation funded the Work Reintegration Program, to date, we have clients who are now gainfully employed, productive members of society. The Foundation has also funded and continues to fund other projects like the Self Care Group and the Cooking Group, which allows our clients to practice good hygiene and healthy eating / healthy meal preparation on a daily basis. Words are not enough to describe the impact that these projects have had on the lives of our clients. More Power to the Foundation and Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Michelle F. Phillips, OTR

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers