Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris County Hospital District Foundation fosters innovation by supporting pilot programs within the Harris Health System such as the creation of the Horticultural Therapy Program at the Quentin Mease Community Hospital (https://www.harrishealth.org/en/news/pages/horticultural-therapy-garden.aspx) and the award-winning Healthy Harvest initiative( http://www.newswise.com/articles/harris-county-hospital-district-wins-prestigious-naph-award). Additionally, the foundation builds public-private partnerships on behalf of low-income, uninsured children. Just in the last 10 years, the Foundation has given more than $2.5 million to various children’s health projects in Harris County.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris Health Foundation has been instrumental in changing lives - I work at the Neuro Psychiatric Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Occupational Therapy Department, and because the Foundation funded the Work Reintegration Program, to date, we have clients who are now gainfully employed, productive members of society. The Foundation has also funded and continues to fund other projects like the Self Care Group and the Cooking Group, which allows our clients to practice good hygiene and healthy eating / healthy meal preparation on a daily basis. Words are not enough to describe the impact that these projects have had on the lives of our clients. More Power to the Foundation and Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Michelle F. Phillips, OTR

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012

more

December 26, 2012

Our Rehabilitation Department has received several small fund grants from HarrisHealth Foundation over the last few years. We could not have provided the service that we were able to if it wasn't for the assistance from the HarrisHealth Foundation. The Inpatient Rehabilitation Department at Quentin Mease and the Occupational Therapy Department at the Neuro Psychiatric Center (NPC) at Ben Taub are 2 recent examples. We were able to provide community re-integration outings to our Inpatients at Quentin Mease that will assist them in those skills prior to discharge fromm the hospital. We were also able to provide a work re-integration group; a cooking group and an activity of daily living group with the assistance from the Foundation for our patient at the NPC. These activities are extremely important to prepare the patients for discharge and community re-integration.Our department is grateful to the Foundation for all this assistance. The HarrisHealth Foundation has a great mission that they fullfil will the assistance in grants. Thank you HarrisHealth Foundation!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The mission of the Harris County Hospital District Foundation is to support the Harris County Hospital District in the delivery of high-quality healthcare to Harris County residents. Our system includes 14 community health centers, eight school-based clinics, a dental and dialysis center, mobile health units, a rehabilitation and specialty hospital and two full-service hospitals; Ben Taub General Hospital and Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital.

Ben Taub General Hospital is a world renowned Level I Trauma Center with 586 licensed acute-care beds and provides a wide range of specialty care outpatient services. Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital is a 328 licensed bed acute-care hospital with a newly expanded Level III trauma center and a distinguished regional center for neonatal intensive care for high-risk deliveries.

The Harris County Hospital District is a teaching facility for Baylor College of Medicine and The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth). We train the next generation of healthcare providers on the latest medical procedures and technological breakthroughs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers