Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
December 19, 2014

more

December 19, 2014

I am Director of a newly implemented Clinical Research Unit (CRU) at the Lyndon B. Johnson (LBJ) Hospital, which is a joint effort between the University of Texas Health Science Center, MD Anderson Cancer Center, and the Harris Health System. A primary reason for locating a CRU at LBJ is to increase access to cutting-edge research for a patient population that is historically underrepresented in clinical trials. Toward this effort, we have developed a close working relationship with the staff of the Harris County Hospital District Foundation as we pursue common goals to bring beneficial research to patients the Harris Health System. Together we have assessed the needs of the CRU at LBJ and are in the process of finding solutions to overcome barriers to research in the facility. Going forward, the HCHD Foundation will be an essential partner in identifying and/or providing funding for the LBJ CRU to ensure its viability.
December 11, 2014

more

December 11, 2014

Through our partnership with the Harris County Hospital District Foundation, the women and children of Santa Maria Hostel have been able to greatly benefit and improve their quality of life. Over the past several years, Santa Maria Hostel has been able to develop and implement two unique programs that were generously supported by the Harris County Hospital District Foundation.
Santa Maria Hostel was proud to partner with the Harris County Hospital District Foundation to improve the overall health of our clients and their children utilizing the Fitness and Nutrition Connection (FAN) program. By providing nutrition information and structured fitness programs to indigent women and their children, we were able to create a knowledge base and foundation for a much healthier community for generations to come.

Most recently, with support from the Harris County Hospital District Foundation, Santa Maria Hostel was able to create the Healing Hearts program to address the mental health needs of the children in our care. Santa Maria Hostel was able to add the Healing Families program component to our existing services and provide family therapy services, Nurturing Parent classes, as well as specialized services for the children including: play therapy and art therapy. Although still a relatively new program, we have already seen great outcomes for our mothers and their children in residence.

November 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 11, 2014

The HCHD Foundation is a foundation within the public hospital system that oversees my department. They support programs, services and initiatives inside and outside the hospital system in an effort to better serve our patient population. I have worked with them on a number of internal issues that impact a larger geographic area and have been impressed with their capabilities. They are strong, creative thinkers that are not afraid to "think outside the box". The staff and board understand the hospital's role in the community and how seemingly unrelated issues are, in fact, related and important to address if we are going to serve patients to the best of our ability. I gave one less star simply for a branding issues. They will better serve the hospital and the county if the community better understands their role and possibilities to assist.
Thank you!
August 1, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 1, 2013

I am proud to serve on the board of this outstanding organization that is helping sustain Harris Health System that provides medical services to thousands of under-served Harris County residents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to have had the opportunity to tour Ben Taub, LBJ, and Quentin Mease hospitals as well as several of the neighborhood clinics. Although the District (Harris Health) often serves as the medical provider of last resort, tending to some of the most challenging cases, I was impressed and inspired not only by the dedication and compassion of the medical personnel and administrative staff but also by the high quality of their services. The District is truly an unsung hero in our community. A tax supporter entity the District operates on a very lean budget. Amenities often taken for granted depend on outside coummunity support. I truly believe my contribution, as meager as unfortunately it was, was gratefully received and appreciated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am happy to donate to the Foundation because I know my donation goes to the cause of improving Diabetes care - not to overhead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was invited to tour Ben Taub and LBJ hospitals as a good will ambassador. I was so impressed with the facilities and the high level of care given to patients. HCHD trains the next generation of doctors at their facilities (hospitals and clinics) who then go on to care for patients across the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an advisor to multiple Harris County Hospital District Foundation funding activities, I have the pleasure of seeing how the funds are directed specifically towards serving those who are in need, and the staff who serve those in need. Funding decisions are made prudently and responsibly, with great care to stretch every penny to serve as many who have needs as possible. I am proud to be part of a group of dedicated professionals and volunteers who take their responsibilities toward allocation of these funds very seriously. Donations to the Harris County Hospital District Foundation are a very worthy investment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Harris County Hospital District Foundation assisted our inpatient rehabilitation department by taking a once vacant outdoor space and transformed it into a beautiful horticultural therapy garden. The grant helped our department in purchasing the much needed therapeutic gardening equipment, shading for the garden, as well as for ongoing projects and seasonal plantings. The garden provides an outside location for patients to engage in a therapeutic activity, while incorporating all the same goals of increasing activity tolerance, standing tolerance, cognition, range of motion etc. normally addressed within the confines of a traditional gym or inpatient setting. The inpatient rehabilitation department at Quentin Mease Community Hospital is extremely grateful to the Harris County Hospital District Foundation for all their hard work and dedication in making our dreams a wonderful reality.
Amy Parker, CTRS –Recreation Therapist.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an occupational therapy assistant working on an inpatient psychiatric unit at Ben Taub Hospital. Personal grooming and hygiene are critical to our clients physical and emotional health. We offer our clients the opportunity to engage in personal care activities daily. Through the generousity of a grant from the Harris County Hospital Foundation, we have been able to secure the basic grooming supplies that a majority of our patients don't have access to. For many of them, this is the first time in days or weeks that they have been able to attend to grooming and appearance. It is such an honor to witness both the physical and spiritual transformation that occurs in addressing the simple self care activities most of us take for granted.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers