Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

HGHW is a remarkable, young, innovative and unique organization working with girls to encourage them to strengthen their ability to know, be grounded in , be comfortable themselves and therefore to explore what they can know and do for themselves and with their communities. Rather than "empower" girls, HGHW focuses on how to support girls to empower themselves, providing programming in everything from developing critical thinking through fun activities, to conferences for girls to learn and hear from one another, to a curriculum to develop literacy for being a critical thinking girl in a society that gives very mixed messages. I am proud to be part of HGHW, its ability to grow smart and to partner effectively, to develop and use resources strategically, to have fantastic leadership, and to have become a model organization for working with girls in the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Hardy Girl Healthy Women launched an anti-bullying campaign to support LGBT youth five years before most of the rest of the nation. It was a courageous initiative at a time when most girls' organizations were invested in pretending that a lesbian or queer identity was something that only happened to adults.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

As one who has funded Hardy Girls Healthy Women for work on our philanthropy's initiative to change the cultural acceptance of violence against women and children, I can tell you that Hardy Girls is an exceptional grantee to work with. Not only does the organization do the work they propose to do, they involve girls themselves and community collaborators to help achieve their goals and vision. The fact that all of the staff are young women is even more exciting and great role modeling for the girls they serve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been involved with Hardy Girls Healthy Women since I was a junior at Colby College in 2005. Over the years, I have been able to facilitate girls groups at a local middle school, run two hockey clinics on Colby's Johnson Pond, be a facilitator at Girls ROCK! weekend, and more! I love being part of a group of committed leaders who want the best for girls and women. I enjoy watching the excellent programming that HGHW provides to their surrounding community. The mission of HGHW is to strengthen girls' self confidence, give them a critical eye towards the media, and expose them to careers and activities they might not have considered for themselves. I have seen girls look at me wide-eyed and say, "WOW! I didn't know I could do THAT!" I fully support all that HGHW is doing and will help them continue to thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My daughter isn't quite old enough to actively participate in the exceptional programming at HGHW but I am counting down the minutes until she can. Until then I benefit from their articles, resources and posts as I provide may daughter with a solid foundation to build on in the next phases of her life. I so appreciate HGHW and feel incredibly lucky to have them as a close by resource.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Working in the domestic violence field, primary prevention is key to the elimination of domestic violence. I have long been looking for resources that expand, enhance, and celebrate the individuality of each young woman. HGHW presents a model that should be replicated world-wide. The organization works to scaffold the work of young women - empowering them not by acting on their behalf - but by standing behind them as they navigate the course of their desired/intended actions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

They provide great information and resources to girls not only in our area but all over the country. Their message is one of empowerment for girls and women of all ages. They want our world to be one where women are equals, treated fairly and and are safe in our communities. I adore this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers