Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hardy Girls is an incredible resource to our school, our students, and the broader community. As a school counselor, I often work with female students who have low self-esteem and have a hard time recognizing their strengths. Hardy Girls' programming helps girls and young women take a critical view of the messages that they get from media sources and empowers them to take action and change this culture for the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

HGHW is an amazing resource for the State of Maine. As a public school educator, woman, and mother of two daughters, I am beyond thankful that we have access to HGHW. I know that when my daughters are old enough, I will encourage them to be involved with HGHW. I don't know if others realize what a gift HGHW is, with an amazing dedicated staff whose main mission is to empower girls!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I've been involved with HGHW for many years now and I stay involved because their vision will help girls and women lead more healthy lives. The leadership stays focused on the goals and consistently creates and runs programs that are achievable, fun and make palpable differences in girls lives. I know when I contribute to HGHW my money is used wisely. I don't know who gets more pelasure from giving - me or the girls!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

HGHW is inspiring. As a young feminist it is a place to feel warm and welcomed. PBG, (Powered By Girl) the website for girls by girls that HGHW launched is amazing! It's full of spunk, satire and passion for girls and the issues that we face in today's harsh and uncompromising society. HGHW's mission to eliminate negative, sexist and stereotypical portrayals of women and girls in the media is one that is dear to my heart. I have two little sisters that are aged six and four. My hope is that by the time they are 16 they will see real, positive and powerful women in ads, movies and television shows. I think that HGHW is making this happen through their programs, websites and events.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

It's all about great leadership. Many organizations have strong missions to create changes but HGHW excels because of great leadership that includes collaboration. My husband and I have been supporters and know the most is made of our support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

As the co-president of the Girls Advisory Board at Hardy Girls, I have been involved with the program for five years. As a younger student, I attended Adventure Girls sessions, as well as other programming. Hardy Girls has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, and it has shaped me in many ways. Hardy Girls has educated me on the issues that face girls and women today, as well as how I, and others, can address these issues and encourage positive change. Hardy Girls has also helped me to develop leadership skills with both peers and adults. The relationships I have formed while working on the Girls Advisory Board will be long lasting, and the skills that I have learned from my work with Hardy Girls will be important for the rest of my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I am the president of the Girls Advisory Board at Hardy Girls. I have been involved in Hardy Girls programming since I was in 2nd grade and I am now a senior in high school. Hardy Girls has shaped my life and given me so much experience and self-confidence. Hardy Girls has opened up doors for me and has taught me how to use my voice and the importance of activism and speaking up for others. Because of my experiences on the Girls Advisory Board I feel more comfortable working with a team, speaking in public, teaching younger girls, and I know that my voice and what I have to say matters. In a world where girls are taught to blindly follow the media, Hardy Girls gives girls opportunities and the support they need to speak back and to encourage other girls to do the same. It is an organization full of wonderful, dedicated role models and programs that teach girls that they can, in fact, change the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I am in one of Hardy Girls Healthy Women's programs, the Girls Advisory Board (GAB). It is a place where I can talk with other teens who care about women and girls' rights to talk about real issues that girls are affected by. GAB also focuses on teaching girls about leadership, and I have learned many things about how to effectively communicate in a group setting and be responsible, especially when it comes to decisions that effect many people. I look forward to activities with the other girls in the group and going to the Girls Advisory Board meetings every month.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Hardy Girls Healthy Women is more than an organization for girls. It's an organization for everyone who not only believes that we can have healthier relationships and stronger kids, but that we can help kids be stronger by giving them a sense of power and allowing them to hold the reins. I've talked to so many girls who feel less alone because of Hardy Girls, who know it's okay to be brave and nothing less than necessary to remain true to who they are. Engagement - and I suppose, ultimately, that's what I love most about Hardy Girls Healthy Women is their ability to engage girls in the world and with each other - is so key for young women - and HGHW puts engaging with the world on so many levels within reach of girls in Maine - and increasingly - girls everywhere. It's an extraordinary feat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I have been involved with Hardy Girls Healthy Women since its creation. As an attorney, I have referred many clients to their programs. Hardy Girls work with girls, through their Girls Coalition Groups, the Adventure Girls programs and the Girls Advisory Board, promote girls learning first hand how important their thoughts and voices can be - creating critical thinkers and social activists. I have actively worked for 11 years helping HGHW obtain donations in the community and have donated as well especially for their Girls Rock awards and weekend. Their approach for working with girls is unique and powerful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers