Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Harboring Hearts Housing is one of the most integrated, comprehensive, and truly loving charities I have come across. Not only does HH bring together so many different people under a form of shared ex... more

April 17, 2014

Volunteering with, and working to forward the mission of, Harboring Hearts has been one of the most incredible and rewarding experiences in my efforts to remaining involved and present with society. The particular issues confronted by the patients and families who seek help from HH are challenging to confront, but the team and leadership at HH remains patient and welcoming of the process and learnings every volunteer must face.

Further, seeing the faces of other people and organizations from the community, hospitals, and treatment centers puts an identity to an issue--a disease--often invisible in daily life. There is no other organization with which I have been empowered and welcomed to contribute, and likewise learned from the dynamic, impressive perspectives each and every officer, volunteer, supporter, and recipient share with the organization.

An A-plus group of people with big hearts, focused vision, and strong will to bring change and betterment to society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way that could allow them to expand the number of full-time staff--but that will come in time, and when it does, the impact they will make is certain to be one of positive, enduring, and respectful proportion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 12, 2012

Harboring Hearts Housing is one of the most integrated, comprehensive, and truly loving charities I have come across. Not only does HH bring together so many different people under a form of shared experience and solace, but it nurtures a mission of educating the patients and families about prevention, coping, recovery, and the very process-of-treatment. The families and patients whom I have had the opportunity to meet are just exceptional examples of courage, strength, and support. The organization's day-to-day is driven by a staff of committed individuals that are accessible, focused, and compassionate. I am proud to say that co-founder Michelle Javian is an old friend, but even more proud when I am able to volunteer and extend whatever I can for her, co-founder Yuki Kotani, the large team of supporters, the hospitals, volunteers, and board members that keep this vision on a path of growth and evolution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Harboring Hearts is a highly motivated, blossoming nonprofit that focuses closely on accessing and serving the true needs of heart patients and their families. The organization is comprised of extremely passionate and enthusiastic employees who strive for innovation and excellence. As someone who has worked closely with the Harboring Hearts team, I am excited to see the ways in which this organization will undoubtedly grow and flourish.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I am truly moved and inspired by the work done by the Harboring Hearts team. The passionate and professional team at Harboring Hearts is able to address current unmet needs of patients and their families. Their work is truly meaningful, and absolutely needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

When I heard about what this organization was doing for people, I was truly touched. When my cousin had medical issues years ago, it was difficult to watch his Pennsylvania family be torn apart every surgery, and procedure when he had to travel with his mother to Philadelphia, leaving his brother and father behind. If something like your organization had existed then and there, I can only imagine the impact it would have had on his recovery. Keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to other cities in america with similar housing issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Harboring Hearts is a wonderful non-profit, run by enthusiastic and passionate people who care deeply for the community at large. As someone who has close ties to the medical field, I know it's sometimes a frightening venture for patients what with the costs of medical expenses AND for housing family members who fight to stay by their loved one's side. There is an immense need for the services and programs provided by Harboring Hearts that go above and beyond merely giving families a place to stay, but also providing place to also unwind with a reliable support group!
I am actually rather inspired by how quickly Harboring Hearts has secured a place for itself in the NYC community, with its partnerships with several local hospitals and the amount of outreach and visibility it has achieved in just a few short years! Volunteering with Harboring Hearts has not only satisfied and inspired my own service for the greater good, but also serves as a reminder that anything can be achieved--with enough effort and passion spurned to bring it to life. The team at Harboring Hearts truly deserves a round of applause for their tireless work, and hopefully will continue to grow in the years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

As a professional in the field of public health, I understand the immense need for the services and programs provided by Harboring Hearts. I am truly inspired by the dedication of all members involved and the profound impact the organization has on the lives of cardiac patients an their families. Harboring Hearts thoroughly addresses an unmet need of support services, particularly in terms of housing and emotional support for cardiac patients and their caregivers. During the incredibly stressful time of undergoing treatment, the caregiver is often forgotten and even disregards their own health and well-being. Harboring Hearts is cognizant of the important role of the caregiver and strives to provide emotional and financial support during this time. The organization is not only an amazingly inspiring non-profit, but the team is innovative and always looking for ways to make the programs and organization more effective while maintaining a clear focus on their mission and the people they serve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Having been a social worker at several long-established agencies, I am inspired by Harboring Hearts' innovative role in the human service and public health field. By identifying areas of need for patients and families facing cardiac treatment, providing practical solutions, and alleviating logistical burdens, I have no doubt that Harboring Hearts has paved the way for hope and healing for their clients. I am impressed by how they have established effective partnerships with NYC hospitals within a short period of time. I am looking forward to seeing how Harboring Hearts will continue to grow their programs and public health related services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure that their message and mission reaches a wider audience.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a co-founder of Harboring Hearts, this organization has a very special place in my heart. The mission of the organization is extremely personal to me but most importantly, it is a mission that resonates with so many people. Heart disease is an illness that affects thousands of people and sadly, many people know first-hand how hard it can be to see your loved ones go through this difficult times. Not only do the heart patients experience the hardships, financially and emotionally, but also the family and friends. In the past couple of years, we have provided emotional support and financial assistance for housing to hundreds of heart patients and their families. Under the leadership of Michelle, I have full confidence that we will be able to make a bigger impact on the cardiac community and help more families in need of our assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a nonprofit professional, I am impressed with Harboring Hearts and their work to address the significant need that heart patients and their families often face. Their mission- to create a nurturing community and to provide support and assistance- and their growth and development in the last few years, is truly inspirational. I have a deep respect for what they are able to accomplish in a challenging environment for nonprofits.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As a heart transplant recipient, I know first-hand how hard it can be on your loved ones watching you go through a life-threatening medical experience. It's been my honor to serve as a Board Member with Harboring Hearts to help support families going through similar experiences. Medical adversity is hard enough to deal with without the financial and emotional burden of not knowing if you can be close to your loved ones. I have the greatest respect for Harboring Hearts co-founders Michelle Javian and Yuki Kotani and Michelle has run the organization with the professional, passion, and heart of a true leader. I'm proud to see how far we've come, and look forward to where we'll grow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers