Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

A woman out there alone with no where to turn. Harbor House has made it known to most women there is no need to be alone. Harbor House has many programs to offer even if you are not ready to get out but to educate yourself when you become ready, help in the court house for those that can be intimidated with legal documents ,outreach services to learn about the program also resources, referals and support groups. Many women are unaware that they are in an abusive relationship Harbor House is willing to help. It's an amazing place to get help information or just someone to help you out..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so proud to be apart of the staff here at Harbor House. Incredible woman, who are dedicated and truly care =)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Harbor house is a necessary and vital agency that helps to educate, and advocate for women and families, who are at risk, regarding the devestating epidemic that is Domestic Violence. As a clinician in th field of mental health, working specifically with women, I have found Harbor House to be an amazingly uplifting source for my clients who struggle with family violence. One client in particular was able to, not only leave her abuser for good, but also walked away with uplifting connections made with the wonderful ladies in the Harbor house support groups.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy that there was a Harbor House in my time of need, The Shelter staff met all of my needs and were always there when I needed a helping hand, always giving encouragement to myself and also my two sons I am forever greatful . I would definitely recommend this Shelter to any victim of Domestic Violence

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

A great organization that is doing so much to help future furry friends that are a part of animal abuse. As an animal lover and a partner with Harbor House it is so nice to see the Paws for Peace kennel being built, so women have a place to go with their beloved pets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a victim of domestic viloence. My exhusband tried to kill me almost two years ago. The case has still not gone to trial. I had never even heard of Harbor House until this happened to me. I can't find enough words to express the gratitude and respect I have for this organization. They have been there for me time after time. Since this happened I have been to HARBOR HOUSE at least 20 times for help, guidance, or just to have someone listen to me. Domestic Violence is the Secret Sin that no one wants to face or deal with. It just doesn't fit into a lifestyle unless you have lived it or are in it now..I can truly say with all my heart if it hadn't been for Harbor House and my ADVOCATE I would have given up a long time ago. I love Harbor House and will help them in every way I can as soon as this is behind me!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

Love the work that Harbor House is doing to keep not only victims of domestic violence safe, but their pets as well! Harbor House is a true leader in their cause. We are thrilled to partner with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

As a survivor of domestic violence, long time advocate in the movement and former domestic violence center direcctor I feel that I have unique insights into the operations of Harbor House. This is a dymanic organization that is well managed. I am amazed at how far they stretch a dollar, how much the community supports the organization and most especially the creativity and efficacy of their programs. Harbor House is among the best non profits I have ever seen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

As a professional in the field of domestic violence, I know first hand the innovative approach Harbor House is taking to end domestic abuse. The work they are doing from aggressively seeking out those in the most danger to preventing abuse in the first place is inspiring.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

As a former client of Harbor House, I later became a volunteer for their speaker's bureau and was invited to join their Advisory Board om 2011. I am impressed with the continuing innovation of their programs & services that I've seen over the past 15 years. They are continually expanding their collaborations with other stakeholders in the community and are the "go to" organization in the Orlando area when domestic violence is the topic. The new shelter building, children's center & upcoming kennel on their property are first-rate facilities, and their programs are designed to help victims and their children not merely survive abusive relationships, but thrive victoriously. Finally, their public awareness outreach into our community is extensive - far too involved to be able to detail in this forum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Donate cell phones, pillows, blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, dishes, silverware; clean or paint a room at our emergency shelter; sort items in the donation center, participate in a door-hanging event for our It Takes Courage initiative. Volunteer