Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I admire the work that Harbor House has accomplished in Central Florida. I've personally talked with volunteers and vendors who have nothing but kind words. Fantastic organization!
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

Harbor House of Central Florida made its mark on me over 2 yrs ago and now I am proud to serve on its board. I feel that what HH is doing for the community is indispensable. HH has great and creative ways to involve and educate the community on DV. With this groom of passionate people it's easy for me to get others involved! Thanks HH for letting me be a part of changing minds and saving lives!!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Love, love, love Harbor House! What a professional and powerful organization. Many don't realize they are more than just a shelter. They cover every facet of a person's path to safety. Phenomenal org!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Harbor House should be your #1 resource if you or someone you know is in an abusive relationship. They have incredible resources that take care of everything from your finances to your children to your pets. I have volunteered there many times and continue to be in awe of their work.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Outstanding organization! I always love volunteering for Harbor House and seeing firsthand the great work they do. Saving survivor's lives each and every day!
August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

I've witnessed Harbor House's dedication and life-saving resources first-hand. After volunteering for several of their events, I've seen the staggering statistics of domestic abuse and the overwhelming support of this organization to put it to an end. Such a powerful and professional non-profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

I am volunteer with Harbor House and I just learned that my job is ending in a few weeks. My first thought was not that I will not be getting a regular pay check but that I am going to sign up for mo... more

August 1, 2014

Harbor House is the best resource for domestic violence. Although they did not help me with a family member, I got involved after helping a family member. Attended the seminars/events and became a volunteer. Taking the RRR Core class has been the best. The ink pens they distribute have been most helpful as I've given to individuals who told me just having one made them know they could call. I wear my T-Shirts from past events and usually at least 1-2 individuals will tell me their story of family members and/or themselves. Harbor House is a great plan B for many. I have sent at least three people there who had positive experiences and having had the training and been an active volunteer I was able to share with them what to expect. The CEO, I can't say enough about her. I've seen her at the center putting doing all sorts of things and when we have events, door hanging she is out there with us. She just makes you want to do more. She is a hands on and approachable CEO. I introduced her to my son who was helping and she took the time to speak with him and thank him for helping. The one thing is that they don't turn anyone away..even when they are full you will have individuals on cots, etc. but they always have room for one more. I've seen this with my own eyes. Can't say enough. The Paws Kennel is great too as individuals can bring their pets and being a surivor myself my son said that was the hardest part of my leaving that we left our pet..years later I learned it still bother him and wish that I had been able to go to a place like Harbor House. I donate when I can and do "Tear Off Tuesday" putting up information all over in public bathroom. They make getting resources so available. Having become a volunteer I feel empowered to help others as I do know how to "recognize, respond, refer" individuals and feel good about encouraging them to give Harbor House a call. They also have support groups and on going trainings that individuals can attend and they will come to your organization. They are the BEST!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes great already.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am volunteer with Harbor House and I just learned that my job is ending in a few weeks. My first thought was not that I will not be getting a regular pay check but that I am going to sign up for more volunteer events and hours. I got involved with Harbor House because I was a victim of emotional abuse and later a close family member domestic violence. The emotional abuse lasted longer than the physical but both were life changing. I decided to become an advocate on my own and put together resources. For a few years I just printed off information from the Harbor House website and passed out but as I encountered individuals who needed to contact them speak on issues of what to expect, etc. I decided to volunteer and learn how they really help. It has been the best thing I could do. I volunteer for other agencies but this is one of my favorites. I put the tear off sheets that they make available to put in public places. I had the opportunity to volunteer with childcare at a support group and the joy of knowing a parent is safe but getting help on learning to heal. I am not a professional but felt it was important to help the professional counsel the parents knowing their child was in a safe place. The information that I learned from the Recognize, Respond, Refer class and the CORE Class was the best. My sister who is a resident manager in another state had a case with a tenant that was domestic violence and she did not know how to help her..we were able with the R3 App locate a shelter in the city she was and I sent my sister materials from Harbor House that was basic information until she could get the lady to call the shelter. I was able to talk to the tenant via phone and explain the danger she was in based on what my sister had witness in the rental office. The boyfriend was arrested and because of lease agreement the tenant was afraid to move. With information we gathered my sister was able to contact the corporate office, share some of the information that I had gained and I explained how not only was the tenant in danager but all of those who lived in her building direct or indirectly. I felt really great when my sister called me back said that the corporate office approved to let the lady out of her lease so she could move while the boyfriend was in jail and she was able to make connection with family members to move and would contact the local DV center for follow up. I learned all of this by seeing all the good work done here at Harbor House and felt really empowered that I was able to share the knowledge. I highly recommend you get involved with your time, talent, financial anyway possible. Get the wish list, if just every person did one item a month it would help. I don't see losing my job as bad as losing the life of someone who could have been saved. Everyone can do something, please visit their website.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I love volunteering for harbor house. This is a great organization , we are able to comfort and help survivors of domestic violence. Most survivors are greatful for our help, and just give them the help and love they so desperate need.
It is a shame we are needed, but , due to the fact we are
not living in a perfect world, it is great harbor house exists.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Such a professional organization. Truly a wonderful resource for our community. Love volunteering here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Harbor House is a leader across the nation for the establishment of the Paws for Peace Kennel. Persons seeking safety can now bring their furry family members. Pets are family, kids often have their pets as their greatest confidant, pets offer unconditional love to those whose self esteem and self worth have been shattered. This is a VITAL service that they offer. Saving additional lives (of the furry kind) that other shelters had not thought of before. I thank them for their leadership and ability to think outside the box when it comes to improving the lives of those in our community, pets included!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build a second shelter for Paws for Peace, the need is great.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Donate cell phones, pillows, blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, dishes, silverware; clean or paint a room at our emergency shelter; sort items in the donation center, participate in a door-hanging event for our It Takes Courage initiative. Volunteer