Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
123.9090945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

To become a Veterinarian I volunteered as a Med Assistant at Happy Tails and they do great work for the cats they rescue. I volunteered with other animal rescue organizations over the years which were good but overall Happy Tails exceeds. The dedication and sincere care the volunteers give the animals is amazing! I only wish there were more organizations like Happy Tails!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As a retired Veterinarian I am impressed with this organization for a number of reasons. During a full tour and from visits with my family, I observed a friendly and organized group of volunteers who truly care about the animals. The facility was well maintained and clean, and I saw no over crowding within the enclosures, or in the area where the feral cats are kept. I have seen and worked in many animal rescue facilities and this one is first rate.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2013

more

July 27, 2013

I have adopted and donated to this rescue and I am impressed by the number of animals they rescue and their facility. It is cage free, clean, well run. My sister volunteers in the feral area which is enclosed, semi outdoor and the cats have plenty food, water, litter boxes and space.

Without Happy Tails these cats would otherwise parish outdoors, and they are all also altered, properly vaccinated and cared for. I enjoy my visits to this facility and look forward to many more.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 15, 2012

Happy tails is housing (hoarding) over 100 feral cats in a small room. (about 600 sq ft.) They adopt out cats with ringworm and other health issue. When you question the cats health you are referred ... more

July 17, 2013



If you want more information read the two articles below. Roger Dunstan, happy tails board member doesn't deny the
allegations.


http://ransackedmedia.com/2013/04/25/happy-tails-boardmember-responds-to-claims/

http://ransackedmedia.com/2013/04/25/not-so-happy-tales-concerned-volunteers-allege-hoarding-cruelty-at-popular-cat-sanctuary/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A new board of directors needs to be put in place. The feral cats need to be adopted out to qualifed outdoor homes.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2012

Happy tails is housing (hoarding) over 100 feral cats in a small room. (about 600 sq ft.) They adopt out cats with ringworm and other health issue. When you question the cats health you are referred to the "feline health advisor". The advisor is not a vet or even a vet tech. When asked happy tails said she has a lot of life experience. It's obvoius happy tails has their priorities mixed up. They obviously don't put the animals well being first.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I recently had the privilege of working with the current and past volunteer coordinator for a joint event and they were terrific! The organization itself it amazing but the fact that it is ENTIRELY ran by volunteers astonishes me. I have the upmost respect for these two and the volunteers that dedicate their time, energy and heart. They are making a huge difference in the lives of our furry friends but also in the lives of many people. Pets bring so much joy to people and that is what they are doing, they bring joy and happiness through pet adoption.
I cannot say enough good things about Happy Tails! They deserve to be at the top of the list!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for many nonprofits in my life but I would have to say Happy Tails is one of the best. It's been going on three years for me at Happy Tails and I don't believe I have ever met a more dedicated group of people. Both the staff who work at the center and those who foster our cats and dogs in their homes only have the animals best interests at heart. In addition to volunteering at the center I can proudly say I have also adopted a cat from Happy Tails and let me tell you our Ruby is both healthy and well adjusted. She is the purrfect addition to our family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Happy Tails has given me the meaning back in my life. After loosing my mom several years ago, I became depressed and despondant. It took all my energy just to go to work. That's where I was introduced to Happy Tails. Participating in a Mother's Day fair at work, Happy tails volunteers were showcasing kittens and dogs available for adoption. I was so moved by their kindness and self sacrafice, I couldn't stop thinking of the extrodinary people I had met and the life saving work they were doing. I had to be a part of it! By becoming a Happy Tails volunteer and joining in the massive effort to help those who cannot help themselves, I found once more my inner happiness. The satisfaction I have found working side by side these selfless and loving volunteers for the past two years is immeasurable. Never have i seen a group of people so consistantly and completely dedicated to the well being and happiness of each animal as an individual. Not only do I feel my heart swell with pride over the difference we make in hundreds of animals lives, but have found my own life and meaning in the process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love Happy Tails! The adoption center in East Sacramento is clean and well run. The volunteers are friendly and helpful -- and clearly care about the cats and their well-being. The cats are healthy and well socialized. It is amazing that the entire organization is operated by all volunteers -- no paid staff. So all donations go directlly to the care of the animals. And Happy Tails is "no-kill." The cats and dogs they rescue are kept safe for the rest of their lives. While Happy Tails has to turn some people away who want to surrender a pet -- mostly due to capacity issues -- they also take in all the at-risk and unwanted animals -- pets that would be automatically euthanized at other shelters. The public is always welcome to come into the center and just socialize with the cats in the cage-free environment. It is a great organization -- and I am proud to be a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

I have 2 cats and 1 dog from Happy Tails and they are great and healthy pets. We like it they are cage-free when we take the family to pick a pet. The volunteers know their personalities, medical records are current, it is clean and the cats are content. They are polite and positive and we donate as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 14, 2010

more

July 14, 2010

A number of times people have brought unwanted cats to the Happy Tails facility that is near our program director's private home. Happy Tails won't/can't take the animals in for whatever reason. Rather than giving out the phone number of another rescue group, they have occasionally given the people the address and directions to our director's home. So the director gets people leaving animals on the doorstep or ringing her doorbell to get her to take them in. Giving a phone number would be fine - we all are working towards the same goal and often refer to one another - but giving out the home address is completely inappropriate.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I get calls (as a volunteer for a rescue)& questions from people needing help. Have heard the same complaint about 50 times - they have called Happy Tails, no one answers or ever returns calls. This overloads other groups when we should be sharing the loa

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Retrieve & respond to customer messages left on HT voice mail (from home), or send donor thank yous. (Self-register for volunteer orientation from the volunteer button). Thank you! Volunteer