Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.805565
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have volunteered at Happy Hollow Camp since 1988. This is a camp for kids that are from a socioeconomically challenged family or have a certain type of need(foster family, kids with asthma, ....). At this camp, these kids get to experience the great outdoors, see animals that they have only seen in a book, learn life skills and are able to do many things that they have never even heard of. They learn that there are all sorts of challenges that they can overcome and that they can do many things they never would have dreamed of. Many of these kids come back each summer, and it is so rewarding to see how they have matured in their decision making. It is especially rewarding when these children see the importance of camp and end up coming back at camp counselors when they are old enough. It is so special to see these you men and women grow up and pass on these opportunities to others. We had one girl that came to all 8 years of asthma camp that she was eligible, came back as a counselor in training, counselor, and then returned when she finished college and was a respiratory therapist. We have also had a young man that came many years to asthma camp, returned as a counselor in training, became a counselor, and now is working his way through college. He has turned into a fine young man and has been a great counselor and role model to the youth that are coming through camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My son has been to Happy Hollow Camp 3 times. They have provided him with an incredible experience each time. He comes home full of stories and memories that will last a lifetime ! They have camp counselors who are interns that come from all over the world. This adds to the experience for the camper, and many times they come back from year to year.
The application process is fairly smooth. The check in an out procedure has been perfected. Last and most importantly I trust them to take care of him while he is away.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

There is a very dedicated voluntary group of business leaders as well as young corporate leaders who go to great lengths to sponsor numerous annual fundraising events for this worthy cause. The camp is a well run organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have 2 children who have been going to Happy Hollow Childrens Camp for over 10 years. My son started when he was 7 with Asthma camp. He hasnt missed a year since. He is now a CIT- Councelor in Training. He LOVES the staff and the staff has treated him like family. Through the years my children have had the opportunity to met Tony Stewart and they have actually joined him in a commercial for some of his charity events. My son is turning 17 this year and he is hoping to become a Councelor. As single mother of 2, it is hard to find activites in the summer for the kids to do that wont break the bank and Happy Hollow has always done everything it can to make sure that my children are able to continue to comeback every year. They have been a blessing to my children!! I highly recommend this organization/camp for any child.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Happy Hollow is a great organization. It has a beautiful site in Brown County where children from the City who couldn't otherwise afford a camping experience can see what rural America is like. This also includes sessions which are adapted to serve the needs of children with medical conditions who couldn't go to camp without the help of medical professionals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think its run well and things are working great at the moment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Happy Hollow was the high point of the year for me as an inner-city youth and oldest child of a single working mother. Happy Hollow helped me realize how much opportunity was available to me as a youth and that we could positively change the course of our lives into adulthood.

My
experiences with Frank, Tom, Ann, Julie, Alfonso, Dimitri, Davie, Susie, Bernie and many others was invaluable to me as a camper. Besides the unmeasurable amount of fun we had I mostly remember choking back tears when we had to leave at the end of the week!

The camp counselors of America program brought foreign counselors into the camp, which opened my eyes to other cultures around the world. I attended camp as a camper for four-years, counselor in-training for a year and at then became a counselor for four years. My experiences throughout with all of the U.S. and foreign counselors of Happy Hollow truly changed my life for the better.

I'm now a Major in the U.S. Army and have been serving for 19-years. My love for other cultures, which I found at Happy Hollow, and service in the Army has blessed me to be able to travel to more than 11 countries around the world. I directly attribute what success I have to God, my family, and Happy Hollow Children's Camp!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put twenty more years of youth back into Bernie so he can keep serving and bringing hope to the inner-city youth of tomorrow! Bernie, I hope you plan to be there for a while longer. Please pass my love and well-wishes to Susie and the staff. Respectfully, Stephen S. Trotter

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am a therapeutic foster mom, and Happy Hollow has made the summers for my children wonderful! They were excited, empowered and wowed by their experiences at the camp! They had wonderful campers who were able to work with them through their problems and gave them positive resolutions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A longer length of time for the campers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Happy Hollow camp has been a blessing for my family. Before we found out about the camp
our three kids had never been camping due to time and money. All three of our kids have asthma
and our pediatrion suggested that they attend the asthma camp and that is how we began taking
them
there. For three years our kids have gladly attended the camp. With the help of the staff our
kids have learned how to manage their asthma and they have been able to do activities there that
they wouldn't normally be able to do. The camp also teaches them new levels of independence we've
never seen in them before. My family and I are so greatful for camp Happy Hollow. Thank you for
taking time to read this.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In the 60s a young man came around my low income, multi-racial neighborhood going from door to door and talking about this camp called, Happy Hollow. We had never heard of the camp and my mother was not too sure this would be a place to send an ethnic minority child off for a week. But with seven other children at home, she decided that it would be a good experience for me and my sister. Off we went to Brown County and my life was wonderfully changed from that point onward. I really believed that Happy Hollow Children's Camp saved my life. I learned so many wonderful things besides archery, swimming, camping. I learned that there are people that come in all colors who want to make a difference and have love and kindness to share regardless of your race, social background or family or origin. Now over 40 years later, I still love Happy Hollow Children's Camp and always have a warm feeling inside when I hear the name!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding so that publicity can be more extensive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have 2 boys that love to go to Happy Hollow Camp every year. They always come home with awards, and excitement of telling me all the fun things they did and learned. It is so nice to have a great place for my boys to go in the summer, on our tight budget. Thanks to everyone who makes it possible for Happy Hollow childrens camp, be affordable for the less fortunate children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers