Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
163 Reviews
1234.846635
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

If you love kids, books, literacy or the Caribbean, consider donating your time and resources to Hands Across the Sea! A great grass-roots non-profit that is 100% focused on developing a lifelong love of reading and learning throughout the islands. Working closely with dedicated educators, Peace Corps volunteers and other NGOs, Hands identifies the needs of local teachers and then makes dreams come true! Computers and iPads are great and all, but what good are they if you don't know how to read?? This group inspires a love of reading in young kids by providing great books and supporting teachers to get them into kids' hands - it's that simple!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping to refurbish a school in the country of Dominica

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more resources to achieve their mission

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is its top priority in the long run?

helping to create a love of reading and learning in the Caribbean

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

When I founded Boaters for Books in 2000 with the goal of sending a million new and gently used children's books to libraries in the Caribbean, I never thought I would find two MORE energetic and dedicated people committed to the same cause. Nine years later I realized that Hands Across the Sea was destined to become the legacy literacy non-profit organization in the Caribbean and our team joined forces. The Linskys and their dedicated volunteers and engaged board have done an amazing job in the years since. Hands has become an organization on whom dozens upon dozens of Caribbean schools and libraries depend for their books and educational resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has a clear and defined mission to help to improve literacy levels in the Windward and Leeward Islands of the Carribean. Unlike many non-profits, their mission statement is concise, to the point and their business model makes sense and is feasable. I would never consider Hands Across the Sea to be an embellishment of any nature, but in fact a valuable resource to the world community which leverages the financial and education strength of the United States against the skills and determination of the Hands Across the Sea employees and volunters to provide a cost effective solution to improve literacy skills amongst the student population served.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Hands Across the Sea is a phenomenal nonprofit organization with a genuine interest in improving literacy among the youth in the Eastern Caribbean, as evident by its solid, sustainable mission and proven track record.
I became involved with Hands Across the Sea because I wanted to make a
meaningful and positive contribution to the region in which I was born. I was immediately impressed by the quality reading material donated to Eastern Caribbean schools, the libraries built in our schools, and the professional development provided to support this wonderful venture.
The enthusiasm of the founders, other board members, volunteers and especially the clients served is contagious! Literacy in my home region has turned a corner for the better and I am honored to be a part of this movement, thanks to Hands Across the Sea.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers