Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
1234.847565
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We thank Hands Across The Sea for partnering with the Sandy Point Primary.We now have a working library where children can come regularly to the library to read,be read to and borrow books.During this time we also teach the children to take care of the books.We see this as a valuable investment.The children are so excited to come to the library ,even when its not their turn.They even want to come lunch time and break time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has really ignited an interest in developing a school library to help elevate the literacy levels among our students. Their generous donation of books to our school will serve us well for years to come. Thanks a million guys!!
May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I spent a day with Harriet and Tom visiting primary schools in Dominica. They have the professional skills and the commitment to assess what the school libraries need, they take in - at a glance - how the libraries are being run, and they are considerate to the teachers who often work under difficult conditions. One thing that particularly impressed me is that Hands Across the Sea don't send rubbishy books and discarded books to their Caribbean schools - many of the books are brand-new and they are carefully chosen to fit the needs of the children. Harriet and Tom do a tremendous job - with great energy and enthusiasm and sensitivity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

Hands Across the Sea has assisted the Vieux-fort Infant School in Saint Lucia through the donation of new and relevant reading resources. The resources donated are currently being used in the school's library which was badly in need of an injection of new materials. I applaud this organization for this wonderful gesture especially as I see first hand the benefits to the children. They are excited about the new materials and they always seem eager to visit the library. In a nutshell, they are READING! Before this was not the case. With their continued support, I know the children at the Vieux-Fort Infant School will improve in their literacy skills. Thanks so much Hands Across the Sea, without you these children would not have ready access to great reading materials!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

Books and access to books are often taken for granted in many countries but, other than school text books, too many children in Dominica do not have books at home or easy access to a library. Limited finances, lack of book stores and the high cost of books mean that they are often low on the list of priorities in many homes and schools. Hands Across the Sea with the help of dedicated and passionate volunteers and school staff are doing an amazing job here in Dominica, building bright and comfortable school libraries and stocking their shelves with stimulating and relevant children's books. I have seen what a big difference the world of books, literature and poetry can make in the lives of the children (and often their parents too).
I like the "hands on" and practical way the organisation works, finding out the specific needs of each school, visiting the schools, providing books relevant for Caribbean children, working closely with the teachers and giving detailed feedback to donors. Celia Sorhaindo

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

The Hands Across The Sea has been very instrumental in student development in the federation of St.kitts and Nevis with the up-grading of libraries in schools on the island. The Irish Town Primary School has been blessed with new books and stationary supplies.............from the bottom of my heart thank you The Hands Across The Sea and to Tom and Harriet Lynskey we have to say a special thanks , from Mrs Jean Boddie and all teachers of Irish Town Primary School for all the hard you did.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

I have had the privilege of working with Hariett and Tom for two days, moving around the island visiting schools libraries. They are quite passionate about the work that they are doing and have left quite a impression on the librarians and principals. Some schools have been fortunate to get materials and paints to renovate their libraries. I commend them for the tremendous work that they have been doing and would definitely make a commitment to continue to make their dreams of properly outfitting schools with books. I am exciting about what is happening in our libraries and even more excited to know that friends like Hariett and Tom are willing to assist us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

The materials were exctremely beneficial to the students and teachers. The possibuility for interactive classroom activities were made possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers