Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
159 Reviews
1234.855355
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

Greetings from Stephanie Browne Primary |School ,Clifton, Union Island, a little Island in the Grenadines.
Since Hands visited us about five years ago our school has seen a great improvement in our Library resource and thus a significant improvement in students reading levels. The interest
showed by Hands Across the Seas in our children's development is greatly appreciated by our parents, staff and students.
Hands has has shown what it really means to make an impact to humanity.
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has joined with Open Books Open Minds to supply books to the school library at Petite Savanne Primary a developing school in Dominica. We have received books from hands across the... more

April 15, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has identified with Jungle Bay Resort and Spa's Open Book Open Mind Program to enhance the Literacy Program at the Petite Savanne Primary School here in Dominica. Hands has cotinued to supply the type of pupil friendly books that has kept our pupils reading. THANK YOU HANDS and all involed in this wonderful venture,we are seeing the impact.

Oliver Samuel
Principal

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has joined with Open Books Open Minds to supply books to the school library at Petite Savanne Primary a developing school in Dominica. We have received books from hands across the sea and I want to say "Hats Off" to them for the selection. This library initiative has indeed boosted pupils' reading. They read more and they read better. The 2011 National Assessment results revealed that 100% of our Grade 2 & 4 pupils were reading at or above class level. this made us very proud and I attribute alot of this tothe functioning library at school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2014

more

April 9, 2014

Hello, we are the Staff and Students of the Isaiah Thomas Secondary School located in Dominica. We were one of the first Secondary Schools which was adopted and loved by this wonderful and dedicated organisation.

Prior to Hands' generous and overwhelming contributions, our school's
library contained only out-dated books and very few resources. Additionally, the room required a complete make-over. We saw no light at the end of the tunnel.

Thankfully however, through Mr. and Mrs. Jerome Bardouille we were introduced to the "Hands Family." From that day forward, our partnership has continued to blossom.

We came from literally nothing to a completely new Literacy Centre and a refurbished Library with attractive, exciting, updated and meaningful fiction and non-fiction books. We worked tirelessly through summers and other holidays with Harriet and Tom as our ever- guiding earthly angels.

Our school will never forget your generosity, patience, kindness, sponsorship and hard work.

Presently, our reading population has improved significantly and our students simply love to visit both the library and literacy centre.

We can never say thank you enough to the Board of directors, volunteers and Tom and Harriet. Know that we will be eternally grateful.

And any school or institution who partners with "Hands Across the Sea" indeed, they are in great hands.

Sandra Roberts on behalf of the Isaiah Thomas Secondary School.

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

I am the principal of the Castle Bruce Secondary School in Dominica. Our students had the desire to read but the books in our library were outdated and not student friendly. Some of these books were not even at our students level or within their experiential background- just irrelevant. In addition the room in which we kept the books was a wooden house which was slowly deteriorating. I used to hold my head and wonder what to do. There was a hole in the floor. Students still came to check for books in spite of the limitations.Then the Lord sent the Hands Across the sea to my rescue.
We got beautiful, new, colorful, relevant, age-level friendly books for our library. Not only did we get books but our library was also repaired and painted and Hands Across the sea gave us an air condition unit. My goodness, this is by far the best thing that has happened at our school in the last five years. There are no words to describe what the work and donations of books by Hands Across the sea mean to us. It is just too good to be true. Thank you Hands across the Sea and we look forward to your continued support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes yet. if it is good why fix it?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

Altruistic, munificent, and benevolent are three of the words that the Vieux Fort Comprehensive Secondary School - Campus A family find fitting to describe the magnificent work of Hands Across the Sea, Inc.

The donation of over three hundred books that we received from the organisation in
2012 (through the efforts of peace corps volunteer, Adam Wohlman) has enhanced the literacy programme at our school; the students absolutely love the latest additions of fiction and non fiction books.

We are also elated to have won the Hands Across the Sea Literacy Award in March of this year (2014). This award is accompanied by US$1000 worth of new and exciting books which the students eagerly await.

We commend Hands Across the Sea Inc and wish to make special mention of Harriet, Tom and Colin. We are extremely grateful for their interest and commitment in developing the literacy skills of the Caribbean's children.

Thank you Hands Across the Sea from Dr. Cadelia Ambrose (Principal), the staff and students of Vieux Fort Comprehensive - Campus A.


Jeanne Lawrence
Learning Resource Center Manager
Vieux Fort Comprehensive Secondary School
Campus A
Vieux Fort, Saint Lucia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 4, 2014

more

April 4, 2014

The Principal, Staff and students of the Beach Allen Primary School in St. Kitts-Nevis, have welcomed the intervention of Hands Across the Sea in the restructuring of our school's library. Our school had just refurbished the library and had received books from another donor when Hands Across the Sea came and shared great ideas on structuring.

They did not just share but also provided some materials for cataloging our books and making it more simplified for the Librarian and students. They also gave us some of the Hardy Boys and Enid Blyton Series to add to our collection.

We are indeed grateful for their timely intervention and contribution. We pray God's blessings on all the volunteers and partners as they seek to educate our world's children; as only through literacy we can become reasonable citizens and make them better people.

Kudos to the organizers continue your good work. Keep the faith; because faith without good work is dead and good work without faith is just O because God is not in it.

Be blessed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change the current format which has been in operation for some time now. They have established friendship links in most of the territories they have visited and I believe that such will keep the candle burning.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

The Principal, Staff and students of the Fancy Government School, St. Vincent and the Grenadines would like to say a hearty thank you to Hands across the sea for the donations they have made to us.
They have donated a wide range of reading material that caters to the needs of all the pupils
from the slow readers to the independent readers. They have also given us some information on how to set up a school library and promised to donate more books in the future.
What they are doing is a very worthwhile venture as reading is an integral part of the school. If children cannot read then they cannot do the other subject area properly.
we are therefore thankful for the worthy venture.
March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hands Across the Sea is an amazing group who have done wonderful thing for school libraries on my Island, Nevis. They listen and try as much as possible to get books that meet the students needs and the librarians requests. They always give books in excellent condition with relevant content. We on Nevis are truly grateful to Hands Across the Sea for the generous donations to school libraries over the year.........We pray Gods Guidance on them as the continue to do their best to improve literacy in the region.

Thanks
Londa Brown
Librarian

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe to expand their work into other literacies .....I.e. Computer literacy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

It is with grateful hearts we at Victoria School for Special Education say thank you to Hands Across the Sea for an invaluable supply of books contributed to our school. Our students are still enthusiastic and cannot wait for their scheduled reading period to delve into those exciting stories with their teachers and peers.

We were able to start our school library with the supply of books. Through the efforts of Hands Across the Sea, Literacy has improved at our institution.

THANK YOU HANDS ACROSS THE SEA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

We are immensely and eternally thankful for the assistance of books for the commencement of our reading project at Babonneau Secondary School. Hands Across the Sea also made it possible for us to obtain classroom cupboards for our classroom libraries.

I am extremely impressed with the
alacrity with which our request was met. Moreover, we are certain that Hands Across the Sea has changed the literacy awareness at our school and also students' interests in books. Our students are very enthused about the classroom libraries and they are asking for MORE BOOKS. This is truly remarkable and an immeasurable progress towards making our students and country more literate.

We thank the wonderful team at Hands Across the Sea for changing our lives and we look for further assistance to complete our classroom library reading project.

Our gratitude is BOUNDLESS! THANK YOU.

Mrs. Rosemond-Alphonse
Teacher
Babonneau Secondary School
St. Lucia
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers