Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.854435
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

Hands Across The Sea have done a great job in helping to stock our school library at Kids Unlimited School in Antigua.
We were finally able to replace old worn out books with new exciting titles that the boys at the school were particularly pleased about. The "DK Eyewitness" range and the
"Goosebumps" range were also a huge success and it has been wonderful to see such enthusiasm from the children on their library days.
The fact that this organisation not only send donated books but also source the books that we actually ask for is pretty amazing and has made a massive difference to our library and our school.
Well done Hands Across The Sea, we think you are fabulous!!!
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

The students and staff at the La Ressource Combined School are thankful for your donation of books to our school library. Your assistance has made it possible to engage our students in reading and more importantly we are better able to cater to the reading needs of our boys.

Thank you
for such a wonderful gift.

Rameau

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 30, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has been instrumental in the development of the library at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia. The donation the school received last year more than doubled what had p... more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hands Across the Sea is the reason why the students at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia are becoming excited and hopefully life long readers. Their donation of several boxes of books over the past 3 years has supplied the school library with quality, appropriate and very appealing books to all age levels and both genders. It is a joy for me, as the librarian, to see these students' eyes light up when the new books arrive. The level of reading competency has increased tremendously simply because the students are being exposed to great books. We are very, very grateful to TL and Harriet and the rest of the great gang at Hands Across the Sea for their passion and determination to raise literacy levels in the Caribbean. I am so privileged to be watching this be accomplished first hand.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has been instrumental in the development of the library at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia. The donation the school received last year more than doubled what had previously been in the library. The quality non fiction books that were included has had tremendous impact on the reading interest of especially the boys in the school. Literacy is alive and well at Bonne Terre Prep thanks to Hands Across the Sea!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I work as a Peace Corps volunteer in St. Vincent, and this organization is utilized by MANY of the volunteers serving in the Eastern Caribbean. My secondary school's library sorely needed appropriate books geared towards Caribbean adolescents, and Hands Across the Sea delivered with great books that lured struggling readers into our library. We now have far more books being borrowed by a wider range of students. On the behalf of the staff and students at St. Clair Dacon Secondary, THANK YOU!
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Hands Across the Sea Inc came to the assistance of the Dominica Community High School when it was most needed. The school is a government-assisted school which relies very heavily on the kind of sponsorship and concern which are characteristic of this non-profit organisation. The school supplies have reduced our expenditure in that area of need and the readership's interest has improved much to our delight because of the increased of our book stock.
The latter formed part of our goals in our School Development Plan and we are pleased to announce our success in attaining them.
Please note that the island is the Commonwealth of Dominica (DA not DR)- The Nature Island . I am Dominica! Are you?
Celia Nicholas
Principal
November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

I work as a Peace Corps Volunteer in a coastal village primary school in St. Vincent. I've received two shipments from Hands Across the Sea and with the books provided, I was able to turn a defunct and dusty library, full of age-inappropriate books, into a great resource for getting kids interested in literacy.

While I provided literacy tutoring for all grades, I found that working in the library with classes was the best tool for getting kids excited about reading and interested in reading on their own, thereby developing fluency. I bring in classes for literacy-based activities weekly, working on strengthening their reading comprehension and just making reading fun. The library is now crowded at lunch and after school with children who previously had no access to books appropriate for their age and are clamoring for books to read.

While my service is almost over, I know that Hands Across the Sea will continue to work with my school and staff to improve the library. The interest the the kids have gained in reading for fun will not dwindle with the end of my service, and that is very satisfying to know. The library, which has turned into my main project at the school, will be sustainable and the children will continue to have a local resource to improve their literacy and maintain a positive attitude towards reading.

Tom and Harriet are also incredibly friendly and supportive and take an active interest in ALL the schools and projects they reach. They also put me in touch with a Grade 5 US teacher, who then developed a partnership with a Grade 5 teacher at my school. The teacher recently spent a week at my school strengthening that relationship, and the kids are all have pen pals. This is a great tool for resource sharing, developing cultural awareness, and just having fun. With relationships like these, I am confident that both teachers and students will continue to learn and grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If only they could ship more than once a year :) The more books the better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I spent three weeks working with Harriet and T.L. for the Hands in St. Lucia. I have worked for many charitable organizations and find that none works more diligently, efficiently or earnestly to serve their cause. Hands Across the Sea supports and sustains literacy by collaborating with students, teachers, Peace Corps Volunteers, librarians, principals and Ministry of Education officials to create and enhance libraries in classrooms, schools and communities. Working with Peace Corps Volunteers to clean out and organize their school libraries, was my favorite part because I got my hands dirty, saw real improvemnet and met lots of students and teachers who appreciated the work we were doing together. As a teacher on sabbatical, I liked experiencing Caribbean schools from the inside. I especially loved reading with students and helping them choose titles from the all the beautiful new books. This work was very fulfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I assisted in a service trip led to Dominica to help with the reorganisation of school libraries there. I greatly appreciated how much individual attention Hands Across the Sea gave each institution it was helping and I also greatly appreciated the high standards to which participants within the program were kept as this really helped to ensure that the assistance given would be used most efficiently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

Hands Across the Sea literally sailed into our lives when we met the Linskeys in Carriacou. We had money and school supplies that had been donated by our community in New Jersey and wanted to find a school that could put it all to good use. We live on our boat with our three children and sail with another family of five. Harriet found schools to use our school supplies on Dominica and then found a school on Union Island where all ten of us could donate our time as well. We spent a whole day reorganzing a school library, helping our new student friends as well as teaching our own children the joy of giving. We look forward to working with Hands Across the Sea again. We recommend them to anyone with books, time, or money to offer to an organization that is making an enormous impact in the Caribbean.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

I co-lead a volunteer service trip of Yale students to the island of Dominica and worked with Harriet on refurbishing three school libraries in the North of the island. Harriet proved to be caring, attentive and determined to better the schools libraries and really make a sustained impact on the literacy rates of the island's youth. Her work is greatly needed in Dominica and the impact that Hands Across the Sea has already managed to have on the island is quite substantial. While we were only there for a short period of time, we got great insight into running an NGO in the Caribbean and I for one have a greater appreciation for just how difficult it is to do what they do. I came away feeling impressed with their dedication and drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers