Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
163 Reviews
1234.846635
| 1 ... 8 9 10...16 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Excellent chariatable organization , Helped in organization materials for a library at our school . It will be used to enhanced the reading ability of the students .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The team at Hands Across the Sea has been phenomenal in helping to get the library started at the primary school where I volunteer. We had NO library when I began my service and now, a year and a half later, our students have a full library with brand new books. Our teachers are very excited to start reading with the students! I have nothing but good things to say about Hands Across the Sea. The donation site was very user-friendly, the team was extremely friendly and helpful, and the delivery time was expedient and hassle-free. In the future, our teachers would love to continue working with this organization, even after I'm gone! I recommend this organization to anyone that is looking to start a library or expand on an existing library.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 21, 2012

If not for the help, caring and encouragement from Harriet,T.L and Allegra, I don't know if the Primary School where I volunteer would still have a working library. I have been volunteering for five ... more

October 25, 2012

If not for the help, caring and encouragement from Harriet,T.L and Allegra, I don't know if the Primary School where I volunteer would still have a working library. I have been volunteering for five years and after many set backs and a lot of frustration, I almost quit but couldn't because of the beautiful, bright and funny children I have met and love so much. They truly want to read and learn. I could not believe the quality of books that were donated,Beautiful! and also the calls and emails and a visit to the school. They really care. It really has inspired me to keep going. Words cannot describe how much I love Hands Across the Sea. Wish I could rate more than 5 stars.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2012

If not for the help, caring and encouragement from Harriet,T.L and Allegra, I don't know if the Primary School where I volunteer would still have a working library. I have been volunteering for five years and after many set backs and a lot of frustration, I almost quit but couldn't because of the beautiful, bright and funny children I have met and love so much. They truly want to read and learn. I could not believe the quality of books that were donated,Beautiful! and also the calls and emails and a visit to the school. They really care. It really has inspired me to keep going. Words cannot describe how much I love Hands Across the Sea. Wish I could rate more than 5 stars.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Hands Across the Sea, Inc. continues to be a very generous and conscientious organisation. The Kingstown Government school stands proudly as a recipient of library resources and other educational resources from this organisation.. They responded well during our recent fire crisis in August 2012 by helping to replace burnt library books. Our students have benefited tremendously and are improving day by day in literacy. Long live Hands Across the Sea. May God continue to bless all of its members.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

For several years I have helped package and sort books that were to be shipped to the Caribbean schools. We had a Peace Corps volunteer helping too. We heard stories of the school kids'excitment upon receiving the boxes of books and supplies. Packaging and sorting gave some of us the chance to see the titles of the books and the supplies that were heading to the schools. It gave me a real feeling for how direct the money is spent and how Hands Across the Sea is making a huge impact on the kids and their schools. I now make a connection when I see the uniformed smiling faces saying thank you! It shows that Hands Across the Sea if fulfilling a need. The impact of gifts to Hands Across the Sea is visible in the faces of the students. I love to read myself and so this is an indirect way to make a direct contribution to literacy with new books that the students can be proud to read. No old discarded libary books for these kids! Every dollar counts! Every book is well received. Many schools had no library books at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Hands Across the Sea delivers modern, high-quality books to libraries and reading centers on many Caribbean islands. The impact on the children is a wonder to behold. Having access to exciting books is a key ingredient in supporting and improving literacy. Working with Hands Across the Sea, my wife and I have volunteered to help create inviting library and reading center spaces in schools on the island of Dominica.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I delivered books for Hands Across the Sea to a primary school on Anguilla. They're an amazing organization, completely dedicated to helping kids, and working with them made my trip to the Caribbean more meaningful than it ever could have been otherwise, showing me a side of the islands not often seen by tourists. The work they're doing to improve school conditions and literacy rates is badly needed! Even if you can't go deliver books yourself, you can feel good about supporting Hands in whatever way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

Thanks to Hands Across the Sea, many of our youths in Anguilla are reading and enjoying books donated through Hands Across the Sea.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 22, 2012

more

July 22, 2012

Primary Schools today are facing devastating budget cuts, as well as other government funded educational programs and projects. However, as society becomes more technologically advanced, the quantity and types of resource materials to be used in these schools are increasing. Students are expected to use information from these materials in new and more complex ways to maintain and enhance their literacy skills through life-long learning activities.
For that reason, Hand Across the Sea was contacted immediately for assistance, since the school I am presently employed, was unable to supply the teachers and students with the necessary tools in making teaching and learning more interesting, exciting and effective.
Listed below, are some of the items that were sent to my school, to be used in the Literacy Centre:- Copier/printer, compact disc player, transformer, travel adapter plugs, memory match games, jig saw puzzles, big books, small books, play doh, jump ropes, beads making sets, music CD's, blocks, lacing panels, pencils, crayons, etc.
On behalf of the staff and students of the Kingstown Anglican School Annex in St Vincent and the Grenadines, I will like to say a special THANK YOU to Hands Across the Sea Inc.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

If you love kids, books, literacy or the Caribbean, consider donating your time and resources to Hands Across the Sea! A great grass-roots non-profit that is 100% focused on developing a lifelong love of reading and learning throughout the islands. Working closely with dedicated educators, Peace Corps volunteers and other NGOs, Hands identifies the needs of local teachers and then makes dreams come true! Computers and iPads are great and all, but what good are they if you don't know how to read?? This group inspires a love of reading in young kids by providing great books and supporting teachers to get them into kids' hands - it's that simple!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping to refurbish a school in the country of Dominica

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more resources to achieve their mission

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is its top priority in the long run?

helping to create a love of reading and learning in the Caribbean

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers