Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.854435
| 1 2 3 4...15 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

Hats off to Hands Across the Sea !! The work that this organization does is incredibly beneficial to thousands of children in our region, the Caribbean. The books received by Kids Unlimited School are of such a high quality and range of interest that our students look forward to the shipment arriving. They enjoy watching as the boxes are unpacked and eagerly await the books being placed in the library and available to them each Friday. Library day is always fraught with excitement so that new worlds can be explored through the books! Reading is an important part of our work here at Kids Unlimited School, and the wider the scope of material presented the better for our students.

Thank you Hands Across the Sea for a job well done,

Warm Regards,






Amaryllis Weeks



KIDS UNLIMITED SCHOOL
P.O.Box W 92
Scotts Hill
St. John’s
Antigua
Tel: 268 734-1834
Fax: 268 461-0414
Cel: 268 723-1556

Creative Learning in a Loving Environment
(Click Here )
http://www.kidsunlimitedschool-anu.com

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

The contribution of books that Hands Across the Sea has made to the All Saints secondary School Library is most invaluable. It has help to transform our school library by providing modern and relevant books that will better assist our students with their reading and research. Thank you Hands Across the Sea for your contribution.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

With little finance available, many schools in Grenada find it difficult to equip themselves with the adequate reading material for students. Four years ago,to our rescue, Hands Across The Sea came. We have received to date lots of books in this wonderful name.
The students of the St. Dominic’s
R.C. School have at their disposal a wide variety of books. Thanks to Hands Across The Sea who has granted to us resources of tremendous value. What used to be a store room, you can now find a library. On a daily basis scores of students can be seen visiting and leaving with books in their hands and smiles on their faces.
Last year, our appeal to Hands Across The Sea for books for our boys have been answered. The arrival of three boxes of books, have sparked our boys’ interest. It is our hope that all our students reading level will continue to improve.
May God grant great blessings to Tom and Harriett and all donors to Hands Across The Sea for the great deeds they have done.

Cephas Ettienne

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has been an invaluable resource to the Charles E. Mills Secondary School, St. Kitts. It has facilitated the revamping of our school library so that it is now age appropriate and culturally relevant. We are better poised to meet our reading and research needs. Our academic capabilities have been greatly enhanced thanks to the generous donations of time and resources by the hard working staff of the Hands Across the Sea organization. Thanks Hands Across the Sea! Your contribution is much appreciated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

When Hands Across the Sea donated the first boxes of books, the whole school was excited at the gifts. The children who helped the Peace Corps volunteer enjoyed unpacking, carrying, stamping, coding and labelling the books. They could not get enough of the smell, look, feel and content of these gems. They could often be found lost in a book while stacking them onto the shelves. The library was uplifted and became an interesting place for the children and parents. Hands Across the Sea sent another set of books and even art supplies which both the staff and children enjoyed using to make cards, masks, collages, posters and charts across the curriculum. With these new additions, our school library keeps being an exciting place for visitors to the school. All the donations were timely and extremely useful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I am the literacy coordinator at the St.Joseph's Convent Grenville in the parish of St. Andrew. We are an all girls secondary school. I was extremely happy when Hands Across the Sea donated a few boxes of books to our school. The students were very happy to have been afforded the opportunity and exposure to these books. The library really needed books of that type which were the choice of the students. This has aroused their interest and motivation to read. We were also grateful for the presence of representatives from Hands Across the Sea who visited our school's library and gave us valuable suggestions as to the way we present and shelve the books in the library.
Thank you Hands Across the Sea for helping to motivate our girls and to raise the literacy level at our school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding to reach many more children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 30, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has been instrumental in the development of the library at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia. The donation the school received last year more than doubled what had p... more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hands Across the Sea is the reason why the students at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia are becoming excited and hopefully life long readers. Their donation of several boxes of books over the past 3 years has supplied the school library with quality, appropriate and very appealing books to all age levels and both genders. It is a joy for me, as the librarian, to see these students' eyes light up when the new books arrive. The level of reading competency has increased tremendously simply because the students are being exposed to great books. We are very, very grateful to TL and Harriet and the rest of the great gang at Hands Across the Sea for their passion and determination to raise literacy levels in the Caribbean. I am so privileged to be watching this be accomplished first hand.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has been instrumental in the development of the library at the Bonne Terre Preparatory School in St. Lucia. The donation the school received last year more than doubled what had previously been in the library. The quality non fiction books that were included has had tremendous impact on the reading interest of especially the boys in the school. Literacy is alive and well at Bonne Terre Prep thanks to Hands Across the Sea!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I work as a Peace Corps volunteer in St. Vincent, and this organization is utilized by MANY of the volunteers serving in the Eastern Caribbean. My secondary school's library sorely needed appropriate books geared towards Caribbean adolescents, and Hands Across the Sea delivered with great books that lured struggling readers into our library. We now have far more books being borrowed by a wider range of students. On the behalf of the staff and students at St. Clair Dacon Secondary, THANK YOU!
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Hands Across the Sea Inc came to the assistance of the Dominica Community High School when it was most needed. The school is a government-assisted school which relies very heavily on the kind of sponsorship and concern which are characteristic of this non-profit organisation. The school supplies have reduced our expenditure in that area of need and the readership's interest has improved much to our delight because of the increased of our book stock.
The latter formed part of our goals in our School Development Plan and we are pleased to announce our success in attaining them.
Please note that the island is the Commonwealth of Dominica (DA not DR)- The Nature Island . I am Dominica! Are you?
Celia Nicholas
Principal
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has really ignited an interest in developing a school library to help elevate the literacy levels among our students. Their generous donation of books to our school will serve us well for years to come. Thanks a million guys!!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers