Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
163 Reviews
1234.846635
| 1 2 3...16 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

The Principal, Staff and students of the Fancy Government School, St. Vincent and the Grenadines would like to say a hearty thank you to Hands across the sea for the donations they have made to us.
They have donated a wide range of reading material that caters to the needs of all the pupils
from the slow readers to the independent readers. They have also given us some information on how to set up a school library and promised to donate more books in the future.
What they are doing is a very worthwhile venture as reading is an integral part of the school. If children cannot read then they cannot do the other subject area properly.
we are therefore thankful for the worthy venture.
March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

Hands Across The Sea have done a great job in helping to stock our school library at Kids Unlimited School in Antigua.
We were finally able to replace old worn out books with new exciting titles that the boys at the school were particularly pleased about. The "DK Eyewitness" range and the
"Goosebumps" range were also a huge success and it has been wonderful to see such enthusiasm from the children on their library days.
The fact that this organisation not only send donated books but also source the books that we actually ask for is pretty amazing and has made a massive difference to our library and our school.
Well done Hands Across The Sea, we think you are fabulous!!!
March 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Hands Across the Sea is an amazing group who have done wonderful thing for school libraries on my Island, Nevis. They listen and try as much as possible to get books that meet the students needs and the librarians requests. They always give books in excellent condition with relevant content. We on Nevis are truly grateful to Hands Across the Sea for the generous donations to school libraries over the year.........We pray Gods Guidance on them as the continue to do their best to improve literacy in the region.

Thanks
Londa Brown
Librarian

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe to expand their work into other literacies .....I.e. Computer literacy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

It is with grateful hearts we at Victoria School for Special Education say thank you to Hands Across the Sea for an invaluable supply of books contributed to our school. Our students are still enthusiastic and cannot wait for their scheduled reading period to delve into those exciting stories with their teachers and peers.

We were able to start our school library with the supply of books. Through the efforts of Hands Across the Sea, Literacy has improved at our institution.

THANK YOU HANDS ACROSS THE SEA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

We are immensely and eternally thankful for the assistance of books for the commencement of our reading project at Babonneau Secondary School. Hands Across the Sea also made it possible for us to obtain classroom cupboards for our classroom libraries.

I am extremely impressed with the
alacrity with which our request was met. Moreover, we are certain that Hands Across the Sea has changed the literacy awareness at our school and also students' interests in books. Our students are very enthused about the classroom libraries and they are asking for MORE BOOKS. This is truly remarkable and an immeasurable progress towards making our students and country more literate.

We thank the wonderful team at Hands Across the Sea for changing our lives and we look for further assistance to complete our classroom library reading project.

Our gratitude is BOUNDLESS! THANK YOU.

Mrs. Rosemond-Alphonse
Teacher
Babonneau Secondary School
St. Lucia
March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

Hands across the sea has literally throw us here at the Charles E.Mills Secondary School a life line, just in the nick of time. A time where our library was on the brink of going dormant.This library saver approached us and has revamped our school's library by generously donating books that the students and staff can't seem to get enough of.Our library membership has grown tremendously since we received the shipment of books from this nonprofit organization.Today we can proudly boast that we now have a functioning library that serves students of all academic abilities and teachers.Some students have even asked about getting more books as they have read majority of the supply that was sent to us,and for us here at the Charles E.Mills Secondary School is a big plus .It simply means that our students are reading and enjoying it.
Once again we are so thankful for the immeasurable donation

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has played a major role in the reopening of The Anglican High School Library (Grenada).When we approached as possible recipients of a shipment of books, the space available to house the library was used as a store room for the materials from the science labs that were destroyed by hurricane Ivan in 2004. Luckily for us though, new labs were recently constructed and were being stocked with materials stored in the library space. We were required to do one thing; transform the space with shelves. This we did in anticipation of receiving the donation of books. We immediately went to work. The space was transformed and we were ready to accept the promised gift of books.
The books finally arrived and today our library is fully functional. We have seen a renewed interest in reading. On a daily basis students are filled with excitement borrowing and reading books.
On behalf of the Principal, Staff, and Students of The Anglican High School, our profound gratitude is extended to Hands Across the Sea and other donors. Your gift is contributing to enhancing reading and literacy in general among our students.
Kim P

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

The students and staff at the La Ressource Combined School are thankful for your donation of books to our school library. Your assistance has made it possible to engage our students in reading and more importantly we are better able to cater to the reading needs of our boys.

Thank you
for such a wonderful gift.

Rameau

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

Hands Across the sea has been a blessing to the St.Joseph's Convent, Grenville. The immeasurable donationof books has helped the students greatly in improving their reading potential and their literacy skills.Our library was recently constructed and was in a high demand for books and thanks to your organization , wecan now boast of a resource center that can cater to the needs of our children.Thanks Hands Across the sea.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more books and manpower to assist more children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

The impact of Hands Across theSea cannot be underestimated. At the CrochuR C School we have been struggling to find appropriate reading material for students to read leisurely for quite some time. Hands Across the Sea came to our rescue not only by donating books but also organised a competent team of volunteers who assisted in the re organisation of our library. Today we are proud to say we have a functioning library that serves our students and even some of our parents. Hats of to Hands Across the Sea.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers