Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
1234.847565
Write A Review
July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

If you love kids, books, literacy or the Caribbean, consider donating your time and resources to Hands Across the Sea! A great grass-roots non-profit that is 100% focused on developing a lifelong love of reading and learning throughout the islands. Working closely with dedicated educators, Peace Corps volunteers and other NGOs, Hands identifies the needs of local teachers and then makes dreams come true! Computers and iPads are great and all, but what good are they if you don't know how to read?? This group inspires a love of reading in young kids by providing great books and supporting teachers to get them into kids' hands - it's that simple!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping to refurbish a school in the country of Dominica

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more resources to achieve their mission

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is its top priority in the long run?

helping to create a love of reading and learning in the Caribbean

July 6, 2012

more

July 6, 2012

As a Peace Corps Volunteer serving in Saint Lucia I had the honor of working with Hands Across the Sea twice. They provided two different schools with a wealth of resources during my service. Not only did they supply needed resources but did their research up front and were able to supply targeted resources making their and my efforts sustainable. Harriett and Tom are passionate about their work, making them effective and efficient at what they do in the developing world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

The Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School is please to say that Hands Across the Sea is a great organization. The School have recieved many, many boxes of books from this nonprofit group which have been used to set up the school library. We are very proud to say we LOVE Hands Across the Sea

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

When I founded Boaters for Books in 2000 with the goal of sending a million new and gently used children's books to libraries in the Caribbean, I never thought I would find two MORE energetic and dedicated people committed to the same cause. Nine years later I realized that Hands Across the Sea was destined to become the legacy literacy non-profit organization in the Caribbean and our team joined forces. The Linskys and their dedicated volunteers and engaged board have done an amazing job in the years since. Hands has become an organization on whom dozens upon dozens of Caribbean schools and libraries depend for their books and educational resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Hands Across the Sea's reach and delivery of quality books throughout the Eastern Caribbean islands makes it the most efficient charity of this type. 51,470 books and 95 boxes of resources to 100 schools, libraries, reading programs, and youth centers (approximately 17,000 students in 7 countries) were donated in 2011/2012. This supply of literacy materials makes a huge difference to Caribbean children with little or no access to books (beyond school texts). Living in Grenada, I can see the impact that this organization has made as expressed by librarians, reading groups and schools and can only thank the founders of Hands Across the Sea over and over again. Great work for a great cause that is often overlooked because it is not percieved as 'desperate' or urgent!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

My name is Octavia Alfred and I live on a small island in the Caribbean name Dominica.I worked as a principal of a primary school in a poor rural area called Castle Bruce when I heard about Hands Across the Sea from an American friend. I filled in the information on the internet and the next thing I knew i got an answer and someone was promising me the most wonderful gift my students could ask for- books. we could hardly believe that we were going to receive new books from people we hardly knew- this was too good to be true.. but it was true. Then I understood that I was being moved to be the Principal of the Castle Bruce Secondary School, not too far away. I continue to correspond with Hands Across the sea. I told them I was being moved to a new school but PLEASE send the books to my primary school, because they need the books. Then the best thing happened again, they promised me books for the secondary school. So the students at the secondary who are mainly from the Carib Reserve and other areas which are poor can now borrow books from both school libraries and our students are walking around with a friend called "BOOK" tightly in their hands.Hands across the sea is the best. They did not send us discarded irrelevant books. they sent us new, interesting and relevant books. Thank you Hands Across the Sea, you made our children HAPPY.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

Hands across the sea has generously donated many books and useful resources to our school. These include a photocopier which we are most grateful for. Our students continue to benefit greatly from these gifts and we are sure that with continued success, Hands will continue to be a great source of help not only to our small private school but to many other deserving institutions.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

The materials were exctremely beneficial to the students and teachers. The possibuility for interactive classroom activities were made possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

As a Peace Corps Volunteer, serving on the Caribbean island of Antigua, I have found that the majority of students I work with, whether 6 or 16 years old, struggle with literacy. This challenge is primarily due to the lack of books available at home and at schools, as well as the culture's general apathy towards libraries and reading. Though my primary work here is not literacy, it is something I have become very passionate about, and try to incorporate into my service as much as I can. It can often be difficult to find reliable and enthusiastic persons to partner with, which is one of the things that makes Hands Across the Sea so special. Led by their hearts, not a paycheck, they are 100% committed to the work they do, and take an active role, every step of the way, in helping schools and communities attain books and create libraries. In my own work with the organisation, when problems or questions arose, Harriet was always quick to respond and work on a solution with me. I have seen apprehension of picking up a book on a child's face turn to joy as they become accustomed to having books available. And I can tell you, there are few things I've witnessed in life that can compare to this. Hands Across the Sea provides an incredible service to children and communities throughout the the Eastern Caribbean. And I would work with them again in a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer in St.LuciaWest Indies and have been able to receive help and support in getting books and school supplies into the hands of the children at the Infant School where I work. We have started a library in the school and the children are at our door whenever they have any free time. They are so excited about the books and the opportunity to take them home and share them with their families. I have made contribution to a wide variety of Non-Profits during my lifetime and Hands Across the Sea is the BEST, because I know that what they do directly benefits children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers