Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
159 Reviews
1234.855355
| 1 ... 9 10 11...15 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

My name is Octavia Alfred and I live on a small island in the Caribbean name Dominica.I worked as a principal of a primary school in a poor rural area called Castle Bruce when I heard about Hands Across the Sea from an American friend. I filled in the information on the internet and the next thing I knew i got an answer and someone was promising me the most wonderful gift my students could ask for- books. we could hardly believe that we were going to receive new books from people we hardly knew- this was too good to be true.. but it was true. Then I understood that I was being moved to be the Principal of the Castle Bruce Secondary School, not too far away. I continue to correspond with Hands Across the sea. I told them I was being moved to a new school but PLEASE send the books to my primary school, because they need the books. Then the best thing happened again, they promised me books for the secondary school. So the students at the secondary who are mainly from the Carib Reserve and other areas which are poor can now borrow books from both school libraries and our students are walking around with a friend called "BOOK" tightly in their hands.Hands across the sea is the best. They did not send us discarded irrelevant books. they sent us new, interesting and relevant books. Thank you Hands Across the Sea, you made our children HAPPY.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

Hands across the sea has generously donated many books and useful resources to our school. These include a photocopier which we are most grateful for. Our students continue to benefit greatly from these gifts and we are sure that with continued success, Hands will continue to be a great source of help not only to our small private school but to many other deserving institutions.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

The materials were exctremely beneficial to the students and teachers. The possibuility for interactive classroom activities were made possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

As a Peace Corps Volunteer, serving on the Caribbean island of Antigua, I have found that the majority of students I work with, whether 6 or 16 years old, struggle with literacy. This challenge is primarily due to the lack of books available at home and at schools, as well as the culture's general apathy towards libraries and reading. Though my primary work here is not literacy, it is something I have become very passionate about, and try to incorporate into my service as much as I can. It can often be difficult to find reliable and enthusiastic persons to partner with, which is one of the things that makes Hands Across the Sea so special. Led by their hearts, not a paycheck, they are 100% committed to the work they do, and take an active role, every step of the way, in helping schools and communities attain books and create libraries. In my own work with the organisation, when problems or questions arose, Harriet was always quick to respond and work on a solution with me. I have seen apprehension of picking up a book on a child's face turn to joy as they become accustomed to having books available. And I can tell you, there are few things I've witnessed in life that can compare to this. Hands Across the Sea provides an incredible service to children and communities throughout the the Eastern Caribbean. And I would work with them again in a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer in St.LuciaWest Indies and have been able to receive help and support in getting books and school supplies into the hands of the children at the Infant School where I work. We have started a library in the school and the children are at our door whenever they have any free time. They are so excited about the books and the opportunity to take them home and share them with their families. I have made contribution to a wide variety of Non-Profits during my lifetime and Hands Across the Sea is the BEST, because I know that what they do directly benefits children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has a clear and defined mission to help to improve literacy levels in the Windward and Leeward Islands of the Carribean. Unlike many non-profits, their mission statement is concise, to the point and their business model makes sense and is feasable. I would never consider Hands Across the Sea to be an embellishment of any nature, but in fact a valuable resource to the world community which leverages the financial and education strength of the United States against the skills and determination of the Hands Across the Sea employees and volunters to provide a cost effective solution to improve literacy skills amongst the student population served.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Hands Across the sea, is a non profitable organization dedicated to helping children across the world by providing books to aid with their literarcy skills. I am the principal of a rural school in St. Lucia. Our students are so eager to learn but resources are limited and so i contacted this organization through the help of a peace corp volunteer stationed in St. Lucia and together we were able to get a substantial donation of books that catered to the reading levels of the boys and girls of the school. Students found the books quite interesting and thanks to Hands Across the Sea, we had a successfull reading month where the national theme was, Literacy: For Peace and sustainable Human Development. Thanks Hands Across the Sea! Prinicipal Martha Foster

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

As a Peace Corps Volunteer in the small Caribbean island of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, I have been assigned to assist with the literacy program at a secondary school. Widespread illiteracy at the primary and secondary school level is one of the main challenges faced on this island, and a contributing factor to that is the lack of resources available to students, including interesting books that appeal to older struggling readers. Hands Across the Sea was instrumental in getting books that children would enjoy, and that would speak to their level. Any request I made for certain books was met by this organization, including a handful of headphones I needed for the computer lab. Between responding to queries in a timely fashion, accommodating book donations from my hometown, providing an easy donation process for friends and family to contribute money to my project, and getting donations to my island as smooth as possible, this organization is top notch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Hands Across the Sea was a hugh help to me and the school I am working at in the Eastern Caribbean. Our school library was full of outdated, damaged books. HAtheS sent 10 boxes of new to nearly-new books along with 3 boxes of school supplies. Not only were there a lot of great books, but they were conscious to choosing relatable books for kids of this region. HAtheS took great care in packaging the books, marking the boxes and getting them through customs. They made the process for my end very easy. Additionally, the donors that contributed to my project received Thank You letters from both the organization, and from students at the school including pictures of the kids reading the books. They really do a great job, and are providing a great service to schools and children of this region.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

Hands across the seas is a wonderful gesture by two great person. We at the Soufriere recieved books that updated our library's collection . The adults started reading agin the children started reading again. the donation from hands just increased our users oince again. Thanks to a Peace Corp volunteer Lisa Kuk for networking with Hands Across the Seas. I was able to start a reading program due to the new collection of books from Hands. The Soufriere Public library is booming again. It was a worthwhile effort by these good samaritans to have donated she a lovely collection of books to the Soufriere public library. We appreciate and love the work has been doing for libraries in St Lucia

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers