Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
164 Reviews
1234.847565
Write A Review
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Everyone who visits the Stephanie Browne Primary School library on the tiny island of Union Island is usually in awe as to the amount of resources that we are endowed with. EVERYBODY ASKED, WHERE DO YOU ALL GET THESE BOOKS FROM? THEY ARE EXCELLENT. And our answer for the past four years has been from Hands Across the Seas. Its an organization where promises are kept.

Mrs. Lorette Coy-James
Principal
June 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We thank Hands Across The Sea for partnering with the Sandy Point Primary.We now have a working library where children can come regularly to the library to read,be read to and borrow books.During this time we also teach the children to take care of the books.We see this as a valuable investment.The children are so excited to come to the library ,even when its not their turn.They even want to come lunch time and break time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2014

more

May 17, 2014

Hands Across The Sea has a great passion for literacy. I love their enthusiasm, their dedication and their willingness to assist schools with their library programmes. As a non-profit organization you are doing an excellent job in partnering with schools to raise the literacy levels of students across the Caribbean.

We, the principal, staff and students of the C. W. Prescod Primary School are grateful for your contribution and look forward to your assistance in enhancing our library programme.

Thank you! Thank You!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

The programme for Adolescent Mothers in Grenada extend their greatest thanks to Hands Across the Sea for their wonderful support and kind donation of books, stationery and toys to the young mothers. these gifts were greatly appreciated by the students and staff of the programme.

Once
again much thanks to Hands Across the Sea!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

Hands Across the Sea- An Organisation of Inspiration and Hope. Mr and Mrs Linskey are true champions in the cause of our children's educational development. We are extremely grateful for the many do... more

May 1, 2014

Thank you Hands Across The Sea. Thank you so very much for the passion and devotion you have shown to the staff and students of the Piaye Combined School and St,Lucia at large. Piaye Combined will remain forever grateful to this amazing organization. You have not only donated books and school supplies but you have certainly changed the educational landscape of my students and provided them with richer and deeper learning experiences. Thank you so much for giving of yourselves.
April 26, 2011

Hands Across the Sea- An Organisation of Inspiration and Hope.

Mr and Mrs Linskey are true champions in the cause of our children's educational development. We are extremely grateful for the many donations made to the Piaye Combined School and the many linkages and partnerships we have
established as a result of this organization. Through their efforts, the students of the Piaye Combined School have been ushered into a new dimension of their future which will certainly change the course of their lives forever.

The notable and eminent clinical psychologist, teacher and child therapist Haim Ginott asserts “I've come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element in the classroom. It's my daily mood that makes the weather. As a teacher, I possess a tremendous power to make a child's life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration. I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis will be escalated or de-escalated and a child humanized or de-humanized.”

And if Hands Across the Sea were to ever meet Dr. Ginott and he were to ask them, were you a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, We the staff and students of the Piaye Combined School would hasten to say, they most definitely were an instrument of inspiration.”

That's what you have been to us, an instrument of inspiration and hope. Thank you from all of our hearts-

Sharon McDonald -Piaye Combined


The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the reestablishment of the Piaye Combined School library Provision of arts supplies and other teaching materials establishment of other linkages and partnerships who are continuing to work with the students of Piaye Combined.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of visits to schools

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

Greetings from Stephanie Browne Primary |School ,Clifton, Union Island, a little Island in the Grenadines.
Since Hands visited us about five years ago our school has seen a great improvement in our Library resource and thus a significant improvement in students reading levels. The interest
showed by Hands Across the Seas in our children's development is greatly appreciated by our parents, staff and students.
Hands has has shown what it really means to make an impact to humanity.
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 11, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has joined with Open Books Open Minds to supply books to the school library at Petite Savanne Primary a developing school in Dominica. We have received books from hands across the... more

April 15, 2014

Hands Across the Sea has identified with Jungle Bay Resort and Spa's Open Book Open Mind Program to enhance the Literacy Program at the Petite Savanne Primary School here in Dominica. Hands has cotinued to supply the type of pupil friendly books that has kept our pupils reading. THANK YOU HANDS and all involed in this wonderful venture,we are seeing the impact.

Oliver Samuel
Principal

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2012

Hands Across the Sea has joined with Open Books Open Minds to supply books to the school library at Petite Savanne Primary a developing school in Dominica. We have received books from hands across the sea and I want to say "Hats Off" to them for the selection. This library initiative has indeed boosted pupils' reading. They read more and they read better. The 2011 National Assessment results revealed that 100% of our Grade 2 & 4 pupils were reading at or above class level. this made us very proud and I attribute alot of this tothe functioning library at school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Hello, we are the Staff and Students of the Isaiah Thomas Secondary School located in Dominica. We were one of the first Secondary Schools which was adopted and loved by this wonderful and dedicated organisation.

Prior to Hands' generous and overwhelming contributions, our school's
library contained only out-dated books and very few resources. Additionally, the room required a complete make-over. We saw no light at the end of the tunnel.

Thankfully however, through Mr. and Mrs. Jerome Bardouille we were introduced to the "Hands Family." From that day forward, our partnership has continued to blossom.

We came from literally nothing to a completely new Literacy Centre and a refurbished Library with attractive, exciting, updated and meaningful fiction and non-fiction books. We worked tirelessly through summers and other holidays with Harriet and Tom as our ever- guiding earthly angels.

Our school will never forget your generosity, patience, kindness, sponsorship and hard work.

Presently, our reading population has improved significantly and our students simply love to visit both the library and literacy centre.

We can never say thank you enough to the Board of directors, volunteers and Tom and Harriet. Know that we will be eternally grateful.

And any school or institution who partners with "Hands Across the Sea" indeed, they are in great hands.

Sandra Roberts on behalf of the Isaiah Thomas Secondary School.

April 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the principal of the Castle Bruce Secondary School in Dominica. Our students had the desire to read but the books in our library were outdated and not student friendly. Some of these books were not even at our students level or within their experiential background- just irrelevant. In addition the room in which we kept the books was a wooden house which was slowly deteriorating. I used to hold my head and wonder what to do. There was a hole in the floor. Students still came to check for books in spite of the limitations.Then the Lord sent the Hands Across the sea to my rescue.
We got beautiful, new, colorful, relevant, age-level friendly books for our library. Not only did we get books but our library was also repaired and painted and Hands Across the sea gave us an air condition unit. My goodness, this is by far the best thing that has happened at our school in the last five years. There are no words to describe what the work and donations of books by Hands Across the sea mean to us. It is just too good to be true. Thank you Hands across the Sea and we look forward to your continued support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes yet. if it is good why fix it?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

Altruistic, munificent, and benevolent are three of the words that the Vieux Fort Comprehensive Secondary School - Campus A family find fitting to describe the magnificent work of Hands Across the Sea, Inc.

The donation of over three hundred books that we received from the organisation in
2012 (through the efforts of peace corps volunteer, Adam Wohlman) has enhanced the literacy programme at our school; the students absolutely love the latest additions of fiction and non fiction books.

We are also elated to have won the Hands Across the Sea Literacy Award in March of this year (2014). This award is accompanied by US$1000 worth of new and exciting books which the students eagerly await.

We commend Hands Across the Sea Inc and wish to make special mention of Harriet, Tom and Colin. We are extremely grateful for their interest and commitment in developing the literacy skills of the Caribbean's children.

Thank you Hands Across the Sea from Dr. Cadelia Ambrose (Principal), the staff and students of Vieux Fort Comprehensive - Campus A.


Jeanne Lawrence
Learning Resource Center Manager
Vieux Fort Comprehensive Secondary School
Campus A
Vieux Fort, Saint Lucia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers