Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.955225
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

I have known about HandReach for only a few months, but those few months have made a huge difference in my life! I am a volunteer with HandReach, working with both the BeatBrigade and community outreach. I know the Executive Director, Brecken Chinn, personally. I have met all of the board members and Jolene Swartz, the first burn survivor helped by HandReach. Every person involved has incredible dedication, passion, and compassion! They make excellent use of the small amount of resources they have to work with, including donor funds, volunteers, and medical technology. Their mission is truly inspiring because they know any person can become a burn survivor. They know that getting burned should not mean one stops being treated with compassion, no matter where you live! They match people's good intentions with resources that help every burn survivor, medically, psychologically, and socially. The BeatBrigade lifts the spirits of every person involved, because no matter how badly you have been burned, no matter where you have been burned, you can still experience the joy of drumming within a supportive community. The medical teams at Shriner's hospitals restore a burn survivor's face and body while the BeatBrigade and countless volunteers restore a burn survivor's hope. The strength of spirit demonstrated by burn survivors is truly astonishing!
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

Keep making maricles happen with very limited budget. Thanks to all volunteers! more

October 30, 2014

I have been a very committed volunteer for HandReach since 2009. The reason is only one: we help those children with terrible injuries and trauma, and they had no place to go.
The smiles on their faces are priceless!
Please keep up the good work and please continue to support Handreach,
where your love and care is only a tiny hand away!
Dr. Li Li, DPT, PT
October 30, 2013

Keep making maricles happen with very limited budget. Thanks to all volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A professional fund raising manager to support the growth of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My name is Hang and I am a university student. Last year I took a year off to volunteer in Beijing as part of the HandReach Team! I was able to marvel, FIRST HAND, at the love filled contributions HandReach makes for the children in the Burn Rehabilitation Unit at the Hospital I was placed at (both medical and psychological). It lightens my heart to know that because of HandReach, I had the honor of being a part of those kids' worlds during such a prominent part of their lives. HandReach is based on the solid foundation of selfless love and kindness, and this is why i know HandReach will continue to influence with world with its goals, and why I look forward to being part of the HandReach Team for years and years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I volunteered for a Hand Reach drumming event and was moved by the devotion of it's members, Director and everyone associated with the orgranization. The drum circle was well attended and brought such a diverse group together and all you could see were smiles, smiles and more smiles. Important work being done here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 30, 2013

Handreach provides healing in more ways than one; physical, emotional, spiritual. Handreach is a loving, supportive community. To give back to burn survivors, renewing their self-confidence is somethi... more

October 28, 2014

I have been volunteering for Hand Reach since 2010! Hand Reach is more than just drumming. I'm a Medical Sociology major and Hand Reach is a community! And a beautiful one at that! Reaching out to trauma survivors, of every kind, but especially burn survivors, Hand Reach restores the confidence and brings beauty out with every beat of the drum, every beat of the heart. So grateful to volunteer for such a GREAT Nonprofit! :)
October 30, 2013

Handreach provides healing in more ways than one; physical, emotional, spiritual. Handreach is a loving, supportive community. To give back to burn survivors, renewing their self-confidence is something that's immeasurable. I am so proud to be a volunteer of Handreach for 3 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Hand Reach is like coming home! This inclusive organization, founded by Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz, "reaches" out to burn victims (and others) and gives them dignity, empowerment, an outlet of healing, connection and community. Health related organization are so important, because you don't feel so alone in your situation. Please volunteer with HandReach and you'll help in more ways than you know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2013

more

December 22, 2013

I am very lucky to have met and worked with the HandReach team this summer as a volunteer! This is truly an incredible organization comprised of compassionate and dedicated people who genuinely want to help in whatever ways they can to support the physical and emotional recovery of these children. I was able to observe the team as they shared their expertise on burn contracture management with the Chinese physical therapists, and I got to see the smiles of the kids as they painted huge colorful murals with the HandReach team in between their therapy sessions! It was clear how much happiness the HandReach team brought these kids, and how receptive the hospital staff were to learning everything they could from the team.

Personally, HandReach has also helped me clarify my career goals and has nurtured my passion for caring for those afflicted with burn injuries. Coming straight from a 6 month work experience on a Burn/Trauma Unit in Boston, the 2 month experience on a pediatric burn unit in Beijing that HandReach assisted me in setting up enabled me to compare healthcare systems, determinants, and barriers as well as burn care techniques, which I feel has already made me a better nurse. I realized on this trip the vital role that organizations like HandReach has in providing experiential learning especially for aspiring healthcare professionals. The opportunity to observe care practices in a different country is invaluable, because it offers countless opportunities to not only learn, but also share experiences in a mutually beneficial partnership in which resources, education, and clinical work can be shared. Easily one of the best experiences I've ever had in my life. I came back from this trip inspired by the knowledge I had gained, touched by the children I met, and very excited to share all that I had experienced with my co-workers in the burn unit, my friends, and classmates. I honestly learned more than I ever expected to learn from the HandReach team, the hospital staff, the children, and their families, and only hope now that I will someday be able to pay it forward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I volunteered with HandReach during their last outreach to Beijing in June of 2013. Even expecting to have a great experience didn't prepare me for how much of an impact this organization and these children would make in my life. I look forward to many years of further involvement with HandReach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I started volunteering at HandReach since its inception. HandReach has done tremendously in helping children not only recover but also gain independence from trauma. I am especially grateful of what HandReach has done to help amputated children during China's earthquake in 2008 rehabilitate and regain confidence in life . HandReach's work has played an critical role to raise our awareness to the oftentimes marginalized groups in China, the amputated children in China.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've become familiar with HandReach by being personally involved in their Beat Brigade therapeutic drumming group which takes drumming into hospitals and other locations where it can serve as a great social and sonic therapy for burn victims or patient/trauma populations of any sort (and it's good for 'healthy' people too!) But I've also learned a lot about the organization's work in China and bringing burn victims to the US for treatment, and it's path-breaking approach to one of the most pressing and most ignored medical needs in the developing world. Simply in basic mathematical terms of human suffering that can and should be addressed, Hand Reach deserves your support and deserves to grow into a huge movement and organization that can network and bring resources to heal burn and trauma vicitims who otherwise will suffer terribly and needlessly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it as fast as possible - the need is URGENT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

HandReach is an amazing organization that I was introduced to this summer after I was offered the opportunity to volunteer on a trip to China. The sponsored group was able to assist and treat in a hospital in Beijing, educating staff and providing services for an underserved group of pediatric burn survivors. I cannot speak more highly of the HandReach mission and its importance in places where access to expensive burn care is scarce at best. I know that funding has also assisted patients with travel expenses to receive care they desperately need in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to provide services in other parts of the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold your own "hands-on" or "hands-around" event, join us for therapeutic drumming, work to help kids in developing countries get supplies and needed rehabilitation. Volunteer