Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 22, 2013

more

December 22, 2013

I am very lucky to have met and worked with the HandReach team this summer as a volunteer! This is truly an incredible organization comprised of compassionate and dedicated people who genuinely want to help in whatever ways they can to support the physical and emotional recovery of these children. I was able to observe the team as they shared their expertise on burn contracture management with the Chinese physical therapists, and I got to see the smiles of the kids as they painted huge colorful murals with the HandReach team in between their therapy sessions! It was clear how much happiness the HandReach team brought these kids, and how receptive the hospital staff were to learning everything they could from the team.

Personally, HandReach has also helped me clarify my career goals and has nurtured my passion for caring for those afflicted with burn injuries. Coming straight from a 6 month work experience on a Burn/Trauma Unit in Boston, the 2 month experience on a pediatric burn unit in Beijing that HandReach assisted me in setting up enabled me to compare healthcare systems, determinants, and barriers as well as burn care techniques, which I feel has already made me a better nurse. I realized on this trip the vital role that organizations like HandReach has in providing experiential learning especially for aspiring healthcare professionals. The opportunity to observe care practices in a different country is invaluable, because it offers countless opportunities to not only learn, but also share experiences in a mutually beneficial partnership in which resources, education, and clinical work can be shared. Easily one of the best experiences I've ever had in my life. I came back from this trip inspired by the knowledge I had gained, touched by the children I met, and very excited to share all that I had experienced with my co-workers in the burn unit, my friends, and classmates. I honestly learned more than I ever expected to learn from the HandReach team, the hospital staff, the children, and their families, and only hope now that I will someday be able to pay it forward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I volunteered with HandReach during their last outreach to Beijing in June of 2013. Even expecting to have a great experience didn't prepare me for how much of an impact this organization and these children would make in my life. I look forward to many years of further involvement with HandReach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I started volunteering at HandReach since its inception. HandReach has done tremendously in helping children not only recover but also gain independence from trauma. I am especially grateful of what HandReach has done to help amputated children during China's earthquake in 2008 rehabilitate and regain confidence in life . HandReach's work has played an critical role to raise our awareness to the oftentimes marginalized groups in China, the amputated children in China.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Keep making maricles happen with very limited budget. Thanks to all volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A professional fund raising manager to support the growth of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've become familiar with HandReach by being personally involved in their Beat Brigade therapeutic drumming group which takes drumming into hospitals and other locations where it can serve as a great social and sonic therapy for burn victims or patient/trauma populations of any sort (and it's good for 'healthy' people too!) But I've also learned a lot about the organization's work in China and bringing burn victims to the US for treatment, and it's path-breaking approach to one of the most pressing and most ignored medical needs in the developing world. Simply in basic mathematical terms of human suffering that can and should be addressed, Hand Reach deserves your support and deserves to grow into a huge movement and organization that can network and bring resources to heal burn and trauma vicitims who otherwise will suffer terribly and needlessly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it as fast as possible - the need is URGENT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

Hand Reach is like coming home! This inclusive organization, founded by Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz, "reaches" out to burn victims (and others) and gives them dignity, empowerment, an outlet of healing, ... more

October 30, 2013

Handreach provides healing in more ways than one; physical, emotional, spiritual. Handreach is a loving, supportive community. To give back to burn survivors, renewing their self-confidence is something that's immeasurable. I am so proud to be a volunteer of Handreach for 3 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Hand Reach is like coming home! This inclusive organization, founded by Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz, "reaches" out to burn victims (and others) and gives them dignity, empowerment, an outlet of healing, connection and community. Health related organization are so important, because you don't feel so alone in your situation. Please volunteer with HandReach and you'll help in more ways than you know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

HandReach is an amazing organization that I was introduced to this summer after I was offered the opportunity to volunteer on a trip to China. The sponsored group was able to assist and treat in a hospital in Beijing, educating staff and providing services for an underserved group of pediatric burn survivors. I cannot speak more highly of the HandReach mission and its importance in places where access to expensive burn care is scarce at best. I know that funding has also assisted patients with travel expenses to receive care they desperately need in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to provide services in other parts of the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

This past summer (2012) I went to Beijing to conduct some research in the burn ward at the China General Air Force Hospital. Handreach (and especially the Director Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz) helped to ... more

October 28, 2013

Handreach is one of the few truly dedicated non-profit organizations that both tries to help underserved populations by bringing modern medical equipment and techniques (trauma survivors, especially those who have been burned) while also trying to improve the lives of those affected individuals and their families through continued support and service. The organization is largely based in Jamaica Plains and was in a position to help survivors of the Boston bombing this past year, but that was only one of the many things that the organization has managed to accomplish. It has also sent doctors, clinicians, and even an epidemiologist in training to a burn ward in the China General Air Force hospital in Beijing, China. Likewise, Handreach also holds regular drumming sessions for burn survivors and other trauma survivors to help with the physical, mental, and social healing processes. There are other organizations that are equally as dedicated to helping others as Handreach has done, but they are quite rare. And I might dare say none deals with the pain and suffering in quite the same way as Handreach has managed to do. It it my honor and privilege to be able to volunteer for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with greater funding and more networking capabilities in other countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

This past summer (2012) I went to Beijing to conduct some research in the burn ward at the China General Air Force Hospital. Handreach (and especially the Director Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz) helped to set up the study by introducing me to the head of the burn ward, assisting me financially by hiring translators, and offering background support for navigating the political aspects of the social waters of China (Visa's etc.). While the research is specifically intended to help burn survivors in China, without Handreach's support none of it would have been possible. I was able to use the staff that was hired for me to effectively reach out to every one of the patients who was in the hospital's burn ward (at least those who still had some means of contact available) in order to gather information for my study and hopefully be able to organize a burn survivor society of some sort. In my experience, there are two ways to see China: the first is to just go and spend money. This is the typical "tourist" experience and tends to lead to a number of consequences usually devolving into people who don't ever wish to go back because they've been thoroughly routed by the local scam artists (of which there are quite a few). However, I had the second experience: a professional journey into Beijing where I was able to work with actual professionals in the field of medicine and see the typical life lived daily by China's citizens. The second was much more pleasant and there was a lot more to be gained during the process. I hope my study will be able to help those burn survivors in need, but I can definitely say that it wouldn't have been possible without the work and efforts put forth by Handreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I recently found HandReach and after seeing the stories of the children they are helping, I knew in my heart that this was the charity I wanted to get involved in. These poor children have been through so much and I am sure that without HandReach they would be much worse off. Right now, a 12-person clinical team is just returning from a partner burn unit in Beijing, and now they are working on writing visa letters to bring several of the burn victims to Shriners for help. I signed up to help monetarily, but I was even invited to meet the children once they are transferred to a hospital in Galveston as well as I can volunteer to help personally. The organization is run by volunteers, so any donations that are made go toward helping the children. The volunteer staff that I have been in touch with is extremely friendly and open about sharing the current updates on the children. I am so thankful to HandReach for the work they do and I cannot wait to get more involved. They are a group of very special volunteers helping even more special children get the medical treatments they could not get without HandReach's help. Thank you HandReach for letting me be a part of this awesome charity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, I wish more people would volunteer to help this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am currently in my fourth year at Northeastern University studying Human Services. I got to know about HandReach in last spring semester at a panel that was held at my University. When I heard about HandReach, I knew for sure that I wanted to be in Beijing that summer.

My professional
experience thus far has been focused on helping and educating a large population from diverse backgrounds and with varying needs. Moreover, I have an extensive background working with children as a teacher as well as a mentor coordinating effective programs and providing services to improve lives of others. So when I found out about the volunteering opportunities at HandReach, I wanted to give my contribution there helping and encouraging kids to have hopes and future.

Despite the fact that my Mandarin level was very poor, I still got around pretty well and was able to communicate with other therapists. I tried taking Mandarin class in advance but I’m not going to lie, it’s a challenging language! However, with my outgoing personality, I didn’t have too much problems forming friendships with children and my coworkers at the rehabilitation center. I was there to organize and coordinate activities for children as well as making sure the children are happy when they’re not receiving painful treatment.

My volunteering experience in Beijing this summer was beyond amazing; I was able to truly open my eyes toward burn victims and really think about how I can help these population. Because I have so much experiences with direct work, it has helped me to better understand the program aspect of business because I've seen the impact of these programs. So after working at HandReach for one month, if I ever do get the opportunity, I want to focus helping out in the administrative aspect of the organization in the future. I want to learn more about how funding is managed, and how this human service organization functions as a whole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold your own "hands-on" or "hands-around" event, join us for therapeutic drumming, work to help kids in developing countries get supplies and needed rehabilitation. Volunteer