Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.945455
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

Handreach is an organization founded by a great, courageous,loving woman, who sacrifices and strops at nothing to help and give those in need from the goodness of her heart, and for absolutely nothing... more

October 29, 2013

Exactly one year passed since I wrote my first great review of this fine organization. Through the last year I had the honor in witnessing the dedication of all involved and especially the hard work and sacrifice of Dr. Brecken Chinn to aid those in need. by focusing on burn survivors, HandReach is a pioneer in directing the world's attention to the tragic pain and suffering of millions around the world who are waiting for a helping hand, waiting for HandReach.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

Handreach is an organization founded by a great, courageous,loving woman, who sacrifices and strops at nothing to help and give those in need from the goodness of her heart, and for absolutely nothing in return, but the smile on the faces of those in pain. She is Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz. An organization inspired by one of the most courageous young women on earth, Jolene Chinn Swartz, Brecken's adoptive Daughter, who despite her injuries, pain , and physical challenges was able to adapt to a new society, a new country, a new language, and become a happy successful college student, with bright future. I had the honor of knowing Brecken and Jolene personally, I admire their courage and spirit of giving, and urge all who read this to donate to this noble cause, and always believe that any donation to such cause is never money wasted, as God's reward to you will be much greater.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was impressed immediately by a mission that is based on love rather then judgement. What a breath of fresh air in troubled times. I feel comforted knowing Handreach exists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire an army to do this work

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

HandReach is an amazing organization that I was introduced to this summer after I was offered the opportunity to volunteer on a trip to China. The sponsored group was able to assist and treat in a hospital in Beijing, educating staff and providing services for an underserved group of pediatric burn survivors. I cannot speak more highly of the HandReach mission and its importance in places where access to expensive burn care is scarce at best. I know that funding has also assisted patients with travel expenses to receive care they desperately need in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to provide services in other parts of the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Both the vision and application of Hand Reach are touching many in beautiful ways. For me it's a chance to help. For others to serve. Others to learn and share inspiration , creativity and hope. And for burn victims and their families and community it's a chance to heal and live against great odds.any thanks to Hand Reach and divert appreciating and encouragement to grow and thrive for many years to come

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to make it and its mission better known

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

This past summer (2012) I went to Beijing to conduct some research in the burn ward at the China General Air Force Hospital. Handreach (and especially the Director Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz) helped to ... more

October 28, 2013

Handreach is one of the few truly dedicated non-profit organizations that both tries to help underserved populations by bringing modern medical equipment and techniques (trauma survivors, especially those who have been burned) while also trying to improve the lives of those affected individuals and their families through continued support and service. The organization is largely based in Jamaica Plains and was in a position to help survivors of the Boston bombing this past year, but that was only one of the many things that the organization has managed to accomplish. It has also sent doctors, clinicians, and even an epidemiologist in training to a burn ward in the China General Air Force hospital in Beijing, China. Likewise, Handreach also holds regular drumming sessions for burn survivors and other trauma survivors to help with the physical, mental, and social healing processes. There are other organizations that are equally as dedicated to helping others as Handreach has done, but they are quite rare. And I might dare say none deals with the pain and suffering in quite the same way as Handreach has managed to do. It it my honor and privilege to be able to volunteer for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with greater funding and more networking capabilities in other countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

This past summer (2012) I went to Beijing to conduct some research in the burn ward at the China General Air Force Hospital. Handreach (and especially the Director Dr. Brecken Chinn Swartz) helped to set up the study by introducing me to the head of the burn ward, assisting me financially by hiring translators, and offering background support for navigating the political aspects of the social waters of China (Visa's etc.). While the research is specifically intended to help burn survivors in China, without Handreach's support none of it would have been possible. I was able to use the staff that was hired for me to effectively reach out to every one of the patients who was in the hospital's burn ward (at least those who still had some means of contact available) in order to gather information for my study and hopefully be able to organize a burn survivor society of some sort. In my experience, there are two ways to see China: the first is to just go and spend money. This is the typical "tourist" experience and tends to lead to a number of consequences usually devolving into people who don't ever wish to go back because they've been thoroughly routed by the local scam artists (of which there are quite a few). However, I had the second experience: a professional journey into Beijing where I was able to work with actual professionals in the field of medicine and see the typical life lived daily by China's citizens. The second was much more pleasant and there was a lot more to be gained during the process. I hope my study will be able to help those burn survivors in need, but I can definitely say that it wouldn't have been possible without the work and efforts put forth by Handreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

HandReach is a fabulous organization working to support so many! Their leadership is unsurpassed in that of their Director Brecken Chinn Swartz. I am especially impressed by how a small organization such as HandReach works to both support individuals on the ground but also the more collective vision of disability rights via their support of the disability treaty (aka the Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities (CRPD)).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

A great organization with effective leadership, providing a unique (and very creative) mix of services to underserved populations. And they do it with a sense of fun.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 5, 2011

I became aware of HandReach when I reconnected with its Director, Brecken Chinn Schwartz, a college friend. I regularly support a number of humanitarian organizations, particularly those that focus o... more

October 28, 2013

I am proud to be a in my fourth year of donating to Handreach, through a recurring subscription. I know that my money is being put to good use, that it reaches its intended beneficiaries, and that I can count on the organization to be good stewards of my donations.

Twenty (ahem, or more)
years ago, I was a student in college, learning about the values of world citizenship and being caring and compassionate for those in need. The founders and administrators of this organization, one of whom was sitting beside me in those classes, exemplify the values I hold dear. They care for the most damaged of victims, and enable them to have meaningful and productive lives.

As a donor, I am confident in the use of my funds because I have regular, detailed, and meaningful communication with the organization. They demonstrate their accomplishment, and they make me aware of specific needs as they arise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If pressed to make a change, I would seek to make the education and preventative standards so significant that there would be no need to care for victims whose accidents could have been prevented. Barring that, I dream that funding for the organization would be so plentiful that there would never been a doubt whether they could care for one more victim, one more damaged child in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2011

I became aware of HandReach when I reconnected with its Director, Brecken Chinn Schwartz, a college friend. I regularly support a number of humanitarian organizations, particularly those that focus on education and health needs for children. I am amazed at the amount of good work this organization is able to do with such limited funds, and I am amazed at the incredible dedication of their small army of volunteers.

Personal connection is the strongest motivator for ongoing support of international humanitarian work. Attention spans are short, and there are always new critical needs... sustained support requires ongoing contact. SmileTrain is extremely well-funded, and they are in constant contact with me... what have we done with your money, who have we helped, what was the outcome, and what can you do to expand your help? I would like to point more of my friends to HandReach.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the photos of successful reconstruction, being notified of dire scenarios requiring the assistance of my acquaintances and me, and seeing important work continue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for more communication and material with which to solicit help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I donated to help a particular burn victim, whose body was burned so badly that her skin fused and orifices were nearly sealed. After seeing the impact of my small donation, and seeing the ongoing need, I made a decision to give the organization money on a monthly basis.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

This important humanitarian work is less popular than other well-funded and well-publicized organizations. I am convinced that we have a responsibility in this world to help those who are less fortunate, both at home and abroad.

What would you tell others about this organization?

The funds are well-managed, they are focused on care for victims, and there is no shortage of children in need of help.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

I recently found HandReach and after seeing the stories of the children they are helping, I knew in my heart that this was the charity I wanted to get involved in. These poor children have been through so much and I am sure that without HandReach they would be much worse off. Right now, a 12-person clinical team is just returning from a partner burn unit in Beijing, and now they are working on writing visa letters to bring several of the burn victims to Shriners for help. I signed up to help monetarily, but I was even invited to meet the children once they are transferred to a hospital in Galveston as well as I can volunteer to help personally. The organization is run by volunteers, so any donations that are made go toward helping the children. The volunteer staff that I have been in touch with is extremely friendly and open about sharing the current updates on the children. I am so thankful to HandReach for the work they do and I cannot wait to get more involved. They are a group of very special volunteers helping even more special children get the medical treatments they could not get without HandReach's help. Thank you HandReach for letting me be a part of this awesome charity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, I wish more people would volunteer to help this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I am currently in my fourth year at Northeastern University studying Human Services. I got to know about HandReach in last spring semester at a panel that was held at my University. When I heard about HandReach, I knew for sure that I wanted to be in Beijing that summer.

My professional
experience thus far has been focused on helping and educating a large population from diverse backgrounds and with varying needs. Moreover, I have an extensive background working with children as a teacher as well as a mentor coordinating effective programs and providing services to improve lives of others. So when I found out about the volunteering opportunities at HandReach, I wanted to give my contribution there helping and encouraging kids to have hopes and future.

Despite the fact that my Mandarin level was very poor, I still got around pretty well and was able to communicate with other therapists. I tried taking Mandarin class in advance but I’m not going to lie, it’s a challenging language! However, with my outgoing personality, I didn’t have too much problems forming friendships with children and my coworkers at the rehabilitation center. I was there to organize and coordinate activities for children as well as making sure the children are happy when they’re not receiving painful treatment.

My volunteering experience in Beijing this summer was beyond amazing; I was able to truly open my eyes toward burn victims and really think about how I can help these population. Because I have so much experiences with direct work, it has helped me to better understand the program aspect of business because I've seen the impact of these programs. So after working at HandReach for one month, if I ever do get the opportunity, I want to focus helping out in the administrative aspect of the organization in the future. I want to learn more about how funding is managed, and how this human service organization functions as a whole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold your own "hands-on" or "hands-around" event, join us for therapeutic drumming, work to help kids in developing countries get supplies and needed rehabilitation. Volunteer