Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
November 13, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 13, 2013

The HAND Foundation understands the depth of hardship caused by sexual abuse as a child. Many survivors suffer from addictions, mental illness and have difficulties succeeding at measures of social success such as completing school, having a family or holding a job. And while healing is an important part of what the HAND Foundation works to improve, they also understand that healing alone is not a solution. The solution is prevention.

SNAP, the Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests, is a volunteer, self-help organization of survivors of sexual abuse by people in positions of authority such as clergy, teachers, coaches, and scout leaders. We are honored to be grantees of the HAND Foundation, which aids nonprofits such as ours that go beyond helping survivors of sexual abuse heal. We persue justice and institutional change by holding individual perpetrators and their enablers responsible, thus making the world safer for kids. With the HAND Foundation, we are able to be proactive by preventing children from suffering like we endured.

Noosheen Hashemi has an amazing insight into the complexity of child sex abuse and the lifelong effects it can take on a person and their loved ones. The support that she and the HAND Foundation are able to provide to SNAP goes far beyond funding. It allows survivors to help others, which in and of itself is a form of healing. We have built a community seeking social change as a form of self-help so that children everywhere are protected from sexual abuse.

We will never know what it was like to grow up not being raped. But we can help prevent others from having this same, horrific experience. We are forever grateful to the HAND Foundation for their understanding and validation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SNAP has been one of many grateful and humbled organizations to be a grantee of The HAND Foundation. Our only change to the organization would be that their support grows exponentially so that other organizations are able to benefit from their generosity and forward thinking.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 10, 2013

One of The Hand Foundation's missions is to educate the children so they can become more prepared in addressing their future challenges.
Also, MAP’s mission is to educate children in need to their fullest potential so that one day they can contribute and lead within their own communities; thus
breaking the cycle of poverty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We appreciate the support from The Hand Foundation and at this time we have no comments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 23, 2013

The HAND foundation provided a generous grant to a conference we were holding, recognizing the timeliness of the subject matter, and continued to be engaged with us during planning and execution. We appreciate their support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 23, 2013

The leadership is every aware and responsive to needs of grantees.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions at this stage. Very early expereince

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 5, 2013

I serve as the Executive Director of IDEO.org and we have been fortunate enough to be a grantee of the HAND Foundation. My meetings with Radha and Noosheen have been very helpful and they have given great feedback and input to guide our organization strategically.

They have been very
involved supporters, attending our events and making introductions for us. I highly recommend working with the HAND Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide multi-year grants to organizations so the organizations the foundation funds could have more confidence in their financial state.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Hand Foundation has provided Camp To Belong grant funding. Because of the generousity of the Hand Foundation, we have been able to not only continue our mission of reuniting siblings separated in foster care, but grow the number of camps (thus children) we serve. The Hand Foundation has been a great partner with the ultimate goal of insuring services are delivered to the children we serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 1, 2013

The HAND Foundation has been an engaged responsive donor to our organization--and has proactively worked to share stories about the impact of our work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers