Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

This past summer I had the opportunity to volunteer at Half the Sky's China Care Home in Beijing. Words can not explain how grateful I am that their is an organization like Half the Sky working to better the lives of Chinese orphans. As a Chinese adoptee, it was a blessing to be able to work with the kids at the China Care home. The staff at Half the Sky are an amazing group of individuals who all share the common love these children and desire to give them every opportunity to succeed in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

My experience at Half the Sky China Care Home in Beijing was the most meaningful experience of my life. As a high school student spending my summer in Beijing, my opportunity to volunteer at the Home was amazing! I can't wait to go back next summer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My first introduction to Half the Sky (HTS) was through a fundraiser in San Jose. I was so impressed with the Organization's philosophy and vision for support of the orphans in China that I felt compelled to get involved. HTS's holistic efforts help infants and children to be adopted, and those with special needs who will never be adopted, to have the permanency of love, security, and bond of a family. This kind of humanitarian efforts will undoubtedly change the human spirit for a lifetime. Jenny and Richard Bowen, a small step for China, and a giant leap for mankind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to different charities which help children and the Half the Foundation is by far the most well-managed and effective organization. My family has been donating to HTS for over six years and we are delighted to be a part of their efforts to improve the lives of numerous orphans throughout China.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As my parents were planning to adopt more children, they came across Richard Bowen's book Mei Mei depicting orphaned children in China. We were so touched by the mission of the Half the Sky Foundation that we decided to help the needy orphans in China. Ever since 2007, we have not only sponsored several HTS children, but also raised funds through our volunteering efforts. Throughout the years, we are amazed by the dedication of the HTS staff, the leadership of its management, and their efforts in caring for tens of thousands of children. We still remember how the Bowens and HTS team were on the ground in delivering much needed supplies and food items to children stranded in HTS centers under the severe winter storm which paralyzed the country. The commitment of HTS in caring for children is phenomenal. We can only wish that there would be more charitable organizations like Half the Sky!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My wife Linda and I first met the founding members of Half the Sky in Berkeley CA in 2003 when Linda responded to a classified ad HTS had put out soliciting the services of a graphic designer. At the time we were new parents of a baby girl adopted from China. Having seen a Chinese Social Welfare Institute (orphanage) first hand as part of our adoption journey, we were immediately drawn to the vision and the work that Half the Sky was doing in China to improve the lives of the countless children who were growing up in the non-nurturing institutional environment that characterized most of the SWI's across China. We volunteered our time to support HTS's Berkeley office, and became annual donors to support the foundation's wonderful work. We continue to do so to this day, and I'm particularly proud to have played a supporting role in two annual fundraisers in Los Angeles where we currently reside. In the 10 years that Linda and I have been supporting HTS we have always been impressed with the growing scope of the foundation's work, as it eventually extended beyond the nurturing programs they set up in numerous SWI's throughout China to encompass the establishment of AIDS Villages, fostering programs, and in recent years the merger with China Cares, an organization that funds and arranges critical surgeries required by infants and young children in desperate need of medical intervention. Half the Sky now nourishes the lives of thousands of children thru its programs in the SWI's, and through China Cares they literally saves the lives of others. We are dedicated to supporting Half the Sky for as long as the work is required to improve the lives of China's disadvantaged children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I’ve been a donor to HTS for several years, and got involved with fundraising earlier this year. I’m not fond of fundraising, but HTS is a special case. I believe in the mission, I know how well the organization is run, and I have deep admiration for the people running it and what they have accomplished. Jenny Bowen and her very lean organization understand that the children are always the first priority. The mission of HTS is to provide the love of family for children who have lost theirs, and they do this effectively and efficiently through hard work, careful planning, and leveraging their deep experience in China. The strategies and tactics have changed over the years to meet the changing economic and social realities in China, but the focus on the mission has not wavered. HTS is not a nonprofit seeking an unlimited life span - they hope for a day when their role is no longer needed. This is a group of extremely dedicated and loving individuals who want to systemically eradicate the possibility that a child who has lost her family will go unloved. The attention and awards are well-deserved, and I will support this organization until they no longer have need of my support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I'm a college student and a big sister to two children adopted from China. Upon entering Tufts University, I joined Tufts China Care Club, a student organization under Half the Sky that fundraises for HTS's children who need surgeries. HTS brings the babies to Beijing to receive top-notch medical care and recover in their China Care Home. I myself am majoring in Child Development and hope to work in adoption in the future. Seeing how effective HTS programs are fills me with hope for the future of the orphans of the world. HTS not only works with individual orphanages in China, but has been so successful that the Chinese government is using its influence to bring HTS-designed programs to every state orphanage in China. I also have read some of the academic papers published by the HTS staff who have used their extensive professional experience to design the kinds of education and nurturance methods which, I expect, have never been seen in China before. I could not be happier that shortly after my little sister was adopted from China, HTS began programs in her own orphanage.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

After volunteering with Half the Sky through their China Care Program, I realized what a difference Half the Sky has made, and continues to make, for orphans in China. From fundraising to awareness, Half the Sky's dedication to helping children is remarkable. I was able to see first hand the positive changes that resulted because of Half the Sky's work in Beijing at the China Care Home, a place for children with medical conditions to come before and after surgery to receive extra care and attention. After recently attending the China Care Club conference, the passion and dedication that everyone involved with Half the Sky has is so apparent. Also, Half the Sky recently had a fundraiser that I volunteered for and it was amazing to see no only student China Care Club members, but also adults that have been impacted by Half the Sky in some way help contribute to raise money for an important cause. I am so fortunate to be involved in such a great organization that helps change children's lives, children who are in the same position I was in seventeen years ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am an alumni of a university club under Half the Sky/China Care. I could not praise this organization more for the work that they do. What I admire the most about Half the Sky is their big and bold vision - this has been indelible to the successes they have achieved. Not to mention, the staff that work for Half the Sky are full of passion and enthusiasm for what they do. When I was a student in one of their China Care clubs, I remember reaching out numerous times to their college liaison for questions - she was always available and always helpful. She even was willing to have an hour long chat with me after working hours. I am amazed at how much they have been able to do on the grounds in China. I know how tough it is to be a foreign non-profit trying to navigate various government policies and barriers. But Half the Sky Foundation has done extremely well in this regard, especially with their recent partnership with the Chinese government. It definitely made my tiny volunteering/fundraising efforts and an undergraduate mean so much. I can't wait to see where this organization goes and the impact it will leave on countless Chinese orphans. Definitely a great nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers