Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I can never say enough wonderful things about HTS. I will always tell others about the work they did with my daughter in China. She was born with a limb difference as well as with three fingers on each hand. She was walking when she came hom at 16 months and able to grasp a pencil. The only photos I have are the progress reports from Half the Sky. Instead of having this blank space in her history, I am able to show her playing with people and engaging and interacting. HTS also took her outside and showed her the beauty in the world. We always knew she loved flowers, however we didn't completely understand until we received the photos from HTS from her reports. A HTS person was outside the orphanage looking at flowers with her. It's one of the most cherished photos we have of her, and I'm so happy I something happy to share with my daughter about her experience in China.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

This organization gave my daughter love , support , and life skills that she would have otherwise NEVER received. They were able to provide us with her milestones ( pictures and events) that we would have known or seen . We hold this , an always will , near and dear to our hearts. God bless Half the Sky

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I started my Half the Sky China Care Club last year as a sophomore at Ridgewood High School. With my board and club members, and the support of our community, we've raised over $1600 to support the surgery of three children! You can follow us on the following blogs:
http://www.rhschinacare.blogspot.com/
http://rhschinacareclub.edublogs.org/

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My daughter was cared for by the wonderful people at HTS. When we brought her home she was healthy and thriving. We were sent home with a thoughtful "journal" of her first year, complete with pictures and blurbs. As an adoptive parent it is nice to see this. For our daughter it has been healing and necessary to see a bit of her life in China.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

This organization cares about the health and welfare of children who have been abandoned through no fault of their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

I am a recent college graduate and was on the China Care club at my school all four years. China Care merged with HTS I believe two years ago, and since then, the club has improved drastically in all areas. The HTS staff makes a continuous effort to keep in contact with the club, in addition to providing support in running the club and networking with the other China Care Clubs. This past summer, I had the opportunity to volunteer at the China Care Home in Beijing for two weeks and paid a visit to the HTS office. It was absolutely amazing to see the high quality of facilities and staff. Everyone's dedication for the same cause was inspiring and gave me the motivation to further pursue my interests in international adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This past summer, I volunteered with at Half the Sky’s China Care Home as part of Half the Sky’s Chinese Adoptee Volunteer trip. Through four weeks of seeing Half the Sky’s programs in person, my eyes were opened to the amazing work that Half the Sky does for orphaned children in China’s social welfare system. The China Care Home was well run, efficient, and definitely lived up to their mission of providing love and care to children. The nannies cared for these children as if they were their own, and the difference this made was startling. One boy knew perhaps two words when he came, but with the encouragement of the nannies, he began to speak in full sentences. We also visited the Youth Services program, where they were learning to make a newsletter by themselves, and I think this definitely helped improve their self-confidence and increase their technical skills. Half the Sky does very important, meaningful work with a model that really works on a practical level. And even though this is not technically in their mission statement, they support the Chinese adoptee community worldwide, which I think is very important in continuing their work. In the end, everything they do directly benefits their programs and the children. I’d definitely recommend this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This summer I had the opportunity to volunteer in the China Care Home in Beijing for two weeks. I got to experience how the difference that Half the Sky makes. It was an amazing experience getting to know the kids at the China Care Home, and traveling and exploring the city with other adoptees on the trip that Half the Sky ran. Being adopted from China, the work that Half the Sky does, means a lot to me. I would encourage anyone to get involved in supporting their programs, or if you are a student to volunteer in China.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I have a daughter from China. She was never in one of Half The Sky's nurseries or programs, but I donate because she could have been. She could have been any of the hundreds of thousands of children there who need attention, care and comfort. I donate to Half the Sky because they function with complete transparency. I know where my dollars go and it isn't to administration fees or fundraising. My dollars goes to the child who needs it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

As the mother of a daughter adopted from China, I am of course a little bias. Half the Sky does so much work for the orphans in China. I am always so impressed when I get their newsletters and learn how much of a difference they have made in the lives of these children. I know how lucky both my daughter and I are to have found each other, but I always think of the little ones that aren't as lucky. Jenny Bowen has done the unimaginable, talked the Chinese government into allowing her, a westerner, to come in and help show how to bring light and love to these little bundles of joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers