Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My family have had the privaledge of serving our underserved neighbors in Haiti through the Haitian Health Foundation by being volunteers and donors. Having gone on a mission trip myself with HHF, I was able to experience first hand how well this charity is run in distributing donations to those in such great need. I had the pleasure of meeting in one of the villages served, one of the families who received a Happy House in place of their previous hovel. The gratitude is real and the step up in quality of life is, undeniably for some, a factor in survival. There is follow up when a donation is made for a specific need, such as a Happy House, or a goat, etc comes in the form of an actual picture of the family helped at their new dwelling or with their newly given livestock, so one knows that the money has gone perfectly as directed in their gift (I have heard of some folks going on a mission trip and having the opportunity to meet the family in person!). Attending a container packing event closer to home, one sees how a variety of needs is met by the diversity of food, clothing, building materials, etc. going into the sea-going containers. The work is never-ending, and the dedication of the staff in Haiti and in the states is unwavering and with the large effort of many volunteers added is a beautiful sight to behold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I volunteered from time to time for this organization while I lived in CT. I have rarely seen such dedicated and honest people who cared so deeply for the cause they worked for. I know my time & donations that I gave to HHF directly benefited the people of Haiti and that I helped a wonderful organization and as small as my gifts were, that they were appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 19, 2011

HHF is a family-run non-profit and I have known the family for over twenty years. They are completely dedicated to Haiti and the cause of bringing excellent health care to a part of Haiti that has alm... more

November 26, 2012

You will not find a nonprofit run by more dedicated people anywhere. HHF's volunteers and staff in the US and Haiti are absolutely dedicated to easing suffering and giving people a much needed hand up in the poorest country in our hemisphere. The range of programs is staggering, from health care to home building to goat gifts. And all done on a relatively small budget with very low overhead.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2011

HHF is a family-run non-profit and I have known the family for over twenty years. They are completely dedicated to Haiti and the cause of bringing excellent health care to a part of Haiti that has almost no other health facilities or trained medical personnel. The main clinic in Jeremie, Haiti is the center of the foundation's programs but over the years the work has expanded to address other vital needs like housing, health and nutrition classes, and specialized care for expectant mothers. Programs like the goat program help Haitian families generate their own income. The health agent program trains (and employs) Haitians to treat basic medical needs and offer preventative medicine in villages far from Jeremie. From the beginning, HHF has had nuns running the administrative aspects of the clinic in Haiti -- although religion has nothing to do with the services they offer in Haiti. So the nuns live in the clinic in Haiti, are part of the local community, and are known for being completely honest in financial dealings. The entire HHF operation in Connecticut is no-frills and you can see in one visit that they run things frugally and put every penny of donated funds to work in Haiti. Dozens of volunteers from the US (including both trained doctors and nurses and non-medical people) visit the clinic each year for a week at a time to help out -- so you can go see their amazing work on the ground in Haiti for yourself, You may have to wait though -- they are often booked for several trips in advance. Imagine a charity where people will wait eagerly for months or years to volunteer!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The trip to Haiti that I took with HHF gave me a chance to see their work in person -- and also to see the abject poverty that most Haitians are living in. It was an amazing experience and it was so obvious what a beacon of hope the clinic is for so many people in Jeremie and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I truly can't think of anything. HHF is the kind of charity that truly appreciates its volunteers and donors and does incredible work in a place where the basic needs of the people are overwhelming.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Nothing, just my experience with HHF in Connecticut.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I donate on a regular basis but also try to give extra money when there is a special need --like after the big earthquake in Port-au-Prince.

What would you tell others about this organization?

This is grassroots charity at its best. Their outreach to donors and volunteers in the US includes personal effort by the people who run HHF. The services and programs offered in Haiti address specific local needs. HHF has always been focused on the long haul in Haiti and has never been a fly-by-night operation.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

HHF is the best. Unbelievalbe work; always puts people first. Best value for your donation. I have seen first hand the effects of donations. HHF is making a huge difference in Jermie Haiti and surrounding areas, one life at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

This organization is great! I do a good amount of volunteer work in a vast number of fields from Habitat to Healthcare. This organization I can say by far is the one I have most enjoyed. Unfortunately the headquarters are very far from me here in New Orleans so fundraising efforts have been left to my own organization. I have been working with the fine people in this organization for the past 6 years and have to say that this is a perfect example of a non-profit with a focused mission, it gets messy out there with other non-profits when you don't know what your money or efforts are really going towards. My group will be hosting benefit concerts for the holiday season in Portsmouth NH starting on the 23rd and every Sunday Jan 6th. If you are in the area please join us! We are also planning a mission trip for the summer of 2013. For more information on the NH chapter contact me at: boukmancoq@gmail.com We will also be doing supplies runs to Connecticut December 31st.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

As a volunteer, who helped with many of the fund raisers in the past, it was good to see exactly where and how the money raised was used in taking the trips with the group that I did. I journeyed to Jeremie 3 times and each time was very inspirational and memorable. Sister Mary Ann Berard, who is the administrator of the medical clinic in Jeremie, is a prime example of Christ's love for all the people of the world. When I personally go there and see Sr. Mary Ann's hard work and dedication to the Lord, to HHF and to the many Haitians that she encounters each day, greatly inspires me. God Bless Sr. Mary Ann and all the many staff and volunteers that make the Haitian Health Foundation work so well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Haitiian Health Foundation has been in my heart since my first trip to their clinic in Jeremie Haiti in 1999. A small group of us continue to work to help HHF with their mission for the poor of Jeremie. We personally see what a difference they make and the progress that has occured in Jeremie Haiti because of their presence there. Any money that goes to HHF is used for the good of the poor. They are committed to the people they serve and you too can help by supporting their Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

This organization is incredible! I had the honor of traveling to Jeremie with Dr. Lowney, Marilyn and a few other wonderful people. They have given their lives to better the people of Haiti and their enthusiasm, knowledge, dedication and level of care are truly unparalleled. I recently started sponsoring a family of five for $25/month. Every single penny, (YES!!) goes to the family. The village votes on the family most in need of the sponsorship. There are a few families nominated, based on their size, illness, need, etc and then their peers choose the family they think is best to receive the aid. I can't think of a better way to run such a program! I've had the chance to see first hand the effect this organization has had on over 200,000 lives in Jeremie and surround villages.. it's heart-warming, incredible and inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012

This charity is the REAL DEAL. This is where you can be SURE that your donations will be well spent. Hardly any overhead, almost all of the money you donate goes directly to helping the poor of Jeremie, Haiti. I have traveled to Jeremie about 12 times and have seen firsthand the good that is done through the Haitian Health Foundation. It is by far the largest employer of Haitians for the surrounding 75 miles and has improved the lives of hundreds of thousands through education, healthcare, construction, effort, and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I've been involved with the Haitian Health Foundation since 1996. I started sponsoring a $25/month Save-a-Family and then began to learn more about this outreach to the people of the Jeremie, Haiti area. The more i learned, the more impressed i became. They have an overhead of around 8 percent (the Save-a-Family program has zero overhead because it is run by volunteers here and in Haiti). HHF keeps receiving the highest designation (4 stars) from a charity watchdog, Charity Navigator. They invite sincere people to accompany them on their quarterly visits to Haiti and I was able to go in 2006 and actually meet the family that I had been sponsoring for ten years at that point. They were the same people that had been in the picture given to me when I first signed up. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life! I now volunteer about 3 days a week to help maintain their database. I know firsthand that my donations are prudently used.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many programs that they run, health-care, home building, goat distribution, small business start-ups, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to become involved through volunteering in Haiti, spreading the word about this wonderful outreach and donating.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers