Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

Hadley's business courses were excellent, in that they taught me me to examine my business ideas in depth. They brought up some things I would not thought of on my own. It was a valuable experience. The instructors were kind and knowledgeable. I highly recommend Hadley.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I love to cook and read. With my midlife vision loss I needed to find a resource for learning braille so I could continue to cook and read. Hadley filled that need and more! Hadley offers FREE courses in braille and independent living. Through their awesome Hadley courses, I learned in the privacy of my own home, at my own pace, with very little time input on my part. Hadley instructors are so caring and such professionals it stretches over the distance to make you feel so at ease. No wonder Hadley has over 10,000 students from around the world knocking at their door to get to their excellent courses, primarily braille. Hadley’s braille literacy program is easy and guaranteed to work for a newbie like me or anyone else. Their braille literacy program consisted of four courses: the first one just simply awakened my fingers to be better at tactile feeling and taught my hands to move about a braille page in six easy lessons; the second course taught the braille alphabet and had me making braille labels for items about the house after 16 easy lessons; the third course had me reading and writing uncontracted braille with nine lessons; and the fourth course provided the 189 braille contractions in its 30 very easy lessons to make me fully braille literate. Braille made me whole again giving back what I had lost. I was literate again, albeit in a different format, but I could read, cook from recipes, and even do my favorite Sudoku puzzles all in braille. I fell in love with braille and with Hadley. Thank you Hadley, thank you to those individuals upfront involved in teaching me, as well as, those behind the scenes, and those who keep Hadley going. There are many, many of us out here who fall between the cracks and are in need of Hadley. I am so glad I found Hadley!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take all the money in the world to make Hadley able to reach more and more people to give them the gift of braille literacy. Hadley is great! Hadley has been in the braille teaching business for over 90 years and their experience shows in their marvelous well-designed courses. The need is great out here for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

My experiences with Hadley School have provided me some useful and essential insights with the unique needs of adventitiously blinded students and potential applicants for guide dog schools. Understanding the “grief management” part of losing one’s sight later in life and the decision making process related to obtaining a guide dog has added to my experiences as a teacher and as a resource person for parents, teachers, and other school officials.

I was first informed of the Hadley School at the Spring Vision Conference for Teachers of the Visually Impaired in Harrisburg Pennsylvania.

My two favorite Hadley courses are: Self-Esteem and Adjusting with Blindness and the Guide Dog preparation course.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I would highly recommend Hadley braille courses to other potential students. I tried to learn braille twice before I took my first Hadley braille class. Not only did I succeed with Hadley, but I kept going and I have now learned contracted braille. The curriculum is well designed and the faculty support you every step of the way. It is amazing what you get for your time and effort. I am impressed with the organization, the faculty, staff and administration. They provide a quality education with limited resources. A lot of for-profit schools could learn many things from Hadley. Thanks to Hadley, I am closer to my goal of being independent. Now that I can label things and read braille, I cook for the family, grill, and do things for myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more financial resources so they can serve more students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I am a longtime professional who has worked in the field of blindness and low vision for 30+ years as a university professor and direct service professional. Truthfully, my finest and most fulfilling experience during recent years has been my great pleasure as serving as a Hadley School for the Blind Ambassador.

The goal of the Hadley Ambassador program is to provide a first-hand opportunity to learn how Hadley can help supplement local rehabilitation services through a collaborative learning partnership. To date, Hadley has trained 60 ambassadors, who represent more than 50 agencies from 28 states and 10 Canadian provinces. To the best of my knowledge, this type of program is unique within the blindness field.

As an educator, I can state with confidence that quality of Hadley's programs is extremely high, and all staff demonstrate unerring dedication to the maintenance of this high-quality content and to the accessibility of all courses to learners who are blind or have low vision.

Thanks to the Ambassador program, I have renewed admiration for the comprehensive services that Hadley provides to learners throughout the world. I am proud to be associated with Hadley School for the Blind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My education and training through the Hadley School for the Blind was life-changing for me. As a former member of the military who lost my sight following traumatic injury, the courses Hadley offered allowed me to begin and continue my rehabilitation while at home while I was healing. The courses were able to help me get on-track to realize that sight loss is more of an inconvenience than a disability. Following my military career, and with what I have learned through numerous Hadley courses, I have gone onto a successful career and future. Thank you Hadley!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2012

more

December 22, 2012

I successfully completed the Hadley business communications and powerpoint courses. This gave me the confidence and the technical skills needed to develop a power point presentation which I presented to the VIST committee at the VA in El Paso, TX.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am a current student in the braille literacy program. I recently enrolled after losing the last of my sight. So far, the school administration and professors have been of invaluable help in getting me started toward a life of increased independence. This is one of the few organizations offering education to the blind for free and it needs to continue to be funded. We have potential and need to realize it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

becoming literate in braille and thus becoming a more realized independent individual.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more courses in other varied subjects and a full degree program.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers