Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.850475
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 2, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them. more

September 2, 2013

THIS WAS NOT A SANCTUARY BUT A HOARDING CONCENTRATION CAMP FOR EQUINES. ALL ANIMALS HAVE BEEN MOVED OUT TO LEGITIMATE RESCUES. ZAUGG WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES. THERE WAS NO MONEY TO FEED OR CARE FOR THE ANIMALS. THERE NEVER WAS. BAD FEET, 'SLIPPER' FEET ON BURROS, NO DENTAL CARE FOR ANY, NO MEDICAL CARE. WITH NOT ENOUGH MONEY TO FEED, THERE COULD NEVER BE ADEQUATE CARE OTHERWISE. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY UNTIL FINALLY THIS PLACE WAS CLOSED DOWN. DON'T BE MISLEAD BY PRIOR REPORTS HERE. AT ONE TIME, EVERYONE BELIEVED IT WAS A GOOD PLACE. BUT IT WAS ALL A SHAM. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY FOR YEARS. DO NOT SEND MONEY TO THIS PLACE. IT SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM GREAT NONPROFITS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

IT IS CLOSED DOWN. THAT IS THE BEST THAT COULD HAPPEN. THE ANIMALS HAVE BEEN REHOMED WITH OTHER LEGITIMATE RESCUES.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had a burro and horse - not adoptable, in need of a lifetime home...Wynne took them in, and they are so happy. What a beautiful sanctuary built on love and respect for the animals. Thank you for helping us, we are so grateful and we know they will have a good life with you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

HI Im an animal lover This is the first time THAT I Donated to an animal sanctuary but when i saw the faces on the animals i could not resist i wish i could help more but ill do what i can

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was around November 2011 when i first saw Hacienda de los Milagros. I was looking for property with my realtor. I would come down at least once a week from Flagstaff in search of a home to purchase in the Prescott area. Quite by "accident" in this search, my realtor happened to drive by the sanctuary. I saw all the burros and I said, "Stop, I have to look at these gorgeous creatures." I got out of her car and walked over to the corral fence. At first there were about 3 or 4 burros who welcomed me. They wanted to be kissed on the nose and petted, which I easily complied with. Then one by one, more burros came to the fence for kisses and pats. Soon I was walking up and down the fence line, kissing and petting about 25 - 30 burros. As I walked, I saw a sign that said, "Hacienda de los Milagros a Teaching and Healing Sanctuary." I peaked around and saw a couple of barns, more burros and horses in other corrals. I remember thinking, "How can they have so many animals and it doesn't smell? " The grounds were very well cared for. As I walked around I noticed the beautiful condition of all the animals and how friendly they were. There were a few shy ones, but for the most part, the burros and horses wanted to say hi to me. Realizing most of these animals were rescued from neglect or abuse, and now live at Hacienda de los Milagros (HDLM), I became a fan immediately. These animals just oozed love. I told my realtor that I am going to volunteer here once I am settled into my new home. That became a reality in February, 2012. I started volunteering at HDLM as soon as I was mostly unpacked. I met the Wynne Zauug, the Executive Director and one of the founders of HDLM. When I met Wynne I figured out why these formally neglected and abused creatures oozed love for people. It is Wynne's love, dedication and respect for the animals that creates this. They learned to trust people. There is a mutual bonding that occurs after you have been on the grounds for just a very short while. The animals know they are safe now. They know they have a comfortable place to live out their days. They have other animal friends to hang out with. They get quality meals, grooming, medical care and lots and lots of hugs and pats from the people who visit, work, or volunteer at HDLM. Wynne enlists communicators that will listen and talk to the animals. He wants to know what they are thinking and feeling. Wynne always listens to what they have to say and responds to their requests. As I volunteered more and more, I had the opportunity to meet first hand many of the individuals who live there. I fell in love with them more and more. It is so gratifying to see happy animals, especially so because some of them came from not so happy backgrounds. But they are loved and happy now, and they know it. They give love back to those who come volunteer, work or visit. After several months of volunteering on the grounds of HDLM, I joined the Board of Directors. Now I am actively involved with the fundraising tasks for the sanctuary. I am so happy to dedicate my time and energy to this House of MIracles. Wynne has created many miracles with the animals who have come here to heal. The humans get healed too. Spending time with these magnificent beings, calms the soul. You slow down. Live in the moment. You get burro hugs and horse sniffs. You get to say hello and make new four legged friends. By the time you leave the property for home, you are filled with love, from the top of your head to the bottom of your feet. And you cannot wait to come back and do it all over again. Hacienda de los Milagros is a extremely worthy place to put your hard earned donation money. Every single dime that is donated goes towards the care of the animals. 100%. I hope you can come and visit the sanctuary soon. Visitors are always welcome and Wynne is there to take you on a personal tour and introduce you to those that live here. There are lots and lots of good stories to hear. Hacienda de los Milagros is a place of love and peace. Your soul will be revitalized any time you come and this good feeling stays with you for a long, long time. There is nothing like it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I stumbled upon HDLM this past July while looking for animal communication books in a small shop in Sedona. The store's owner showed me HDLM's book, Circle of One and told me about the amazing work of the sanctuary. I was so touched by the book and what HDLM stands for that I called the sanctuary to arrange for a visit the next day. After an hour and a half standing with Wynne amongst the beautiful and peaceful burros and horses, I was hooked. Now I am a proud HDLM volunteer! Cheers to Wynne and all of the animals at HDLM!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2011

I know first hand the work that goes into Hacienda de los Milagros. I was co-founder and this was my life for ten years. Wynne does an amazing job of taking care of the residents there, I sometimes ... more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was heavily involved with HDLM awhile back. After moving back to this area, it was such a pleasure to go back to the sanctuary and see so many old friends. It warms my heart to know that these souls have a lifetime home. Although for the wild ones this is not as good as being wild, it's the next best thing. They're taken care of and they can get to know two leggeds if they choose to. And that's a huge blessing for us two leggeds. There's nothing like looking into the eyes of a once wild animal and knowing that they are trusting you enough to be friends with you. There are no words to describe the feeling. I would invite everyone to have this experience with these humble souls.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I know first hand the work that goes into Hacienda de los Milagros. I was co-founder and this was my life for ten years. Wynne does an amazing job of taking care of the residents there, I sometimes don't know how he does it. Not only do the animals receive great care they also receive respect and honor. This work is not just a job, it's your life. And my life has not been the same since I left. Even though I'm no longer with the sanctuary I hold it and all of its residents lovingly in my heart. I encourage everyone to visit and support this wonderful sanctuary.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life and how much the animals have taught me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

April 27, 2010

more

April 27, 2010

I first visited the sanctuary after I had the Director, Wynn Zaugg, on my local radio program where I interview people doing interesting things with animals. I head about HDLM Sanctuary and wanted to learn more. After the show, I met Wyn at the prooperty and he took several hours to walk me throughout all of the corrals to meet the

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

walking among the animals myself and hating to leave the sanctuary. I always long to stay with these special creatures and bathe in their love.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Meeting other people who are open to experiencing animals of all kinds on another level than "subservient."

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Friendly, committed and devoted to the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Buy a larger piece of property, establish a full-fledged educational program in inter-species understanding, promote the sanctuary more widely so that people who have fears around animals or feel other challenges in their lives could come and experience.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make new four-legged friends by brushing burros or horses . . . clean and replace bedding in barn stalls . . . muck community paddock areas . . . add fresh water to the donkey and horse water troughs . . . cart hay . . . fill feed buckets . . . clean up the grounds . . . help out at a fundraiser . . . put on a fresh coat of paint . . . cut carrots and make tons of new friends in a single toss . . . help with a variety of ongoing or time-limited organizational and animal needs, based on your interests, abilities, special skills, availability, and willingness to learn! Volunteer