Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.850475
Write A Review
October 31, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 25, 2012

I first visited Hacienda de los Milagros (HDLM) in the summer of 2010 while looking for a donkey to adopt for my mom, who was celebrating a year of being cancer free. I can't begin to describe how ama... more

October 31, 2012

I first visited Wynne and Hacienda de los Milagros in 2010 when I was looking for a donkey to adopt for my mom, who was celebrating a year of being cancer free. There is nothing like standing among a herd of 60 donkeys coming up to greet us and then moving on to eat. I was impressed by Wynne and his non-profit and visited even after we adopted Annabelle, our wonderful BLM donkey who chose to go home with us from Hacienda de los Milagros. This non-profit is one of the best I've seen and deserves as much support as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first visited Hacienda de los Milagros (HDLM) in the summer of 2010 while looking for a donkey to adopt for my mom, who was celebrating a year of being cancer free. I can't begin to describe how amazing it was to stand in the middle of a herd of 60 or 70 donkeys milling about, eating hay, walking up to say hello and for a scratch on the ears, all the while feeling the tremendous love that infuses HDLM. When I returned a few days later with my mom, our Annabelle chose us to go home with. She stuck her head into the halter and walked into the trailer and into our hearts. The love and affection that Wynne, the director and founder of HDLM, and the donkeys show for one another is amazing. I have only tremendous respect for Wynne and good things to say about HDLM.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 13, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I first met Wynne when I drove up to HDLM to inquire about adopting a donkey for my mom. He led me out to meet the herd. There is no experience quite like standing in the middle of a herd of 60+ donkeys milling about, eating, coming up to sniff and say hello or for an ear rub. I ended up staying for hours and going back a few days later to let my mom pick her donkey, or rather, to let the right donkey pick my mom. We've been blessed with Annabelle for 2 years now, and she definitely is the right donkey for us. Wynne is an incredibly nice man who runs a wonderful rescue, and he and HDLM deserve recognition for what they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

several ways. First, I have visited HDLM a few times, and each time it is a wonderful, magical place with many happy donkeys and some horses too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure that all of their operating costs are covered by grants, and I would provide them with more land and more feed so that they could rescue even more animals.

September 2, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them. more

September 2, 2013

THIS WAS NOT A SANCTUARY BUT A HOARDING CONCENTRATION CAMP FOR EQUINES. ALL ANIMALS HAVE BEEN MOVED OUT TO LEGITIMATE RESCUES. ZAUGG WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES. THERE WAS NO MONEY TO FEED OR CARE FOR THE ANIMALS. THERE NEVER WAS. BAD FEET, 'SLIPPER' FEET ON BURROS, NO DENTAL CARE FOR ANY, NO MEDICAL CARE. WITH NOT ENOUGH MONEY TO FEED, THERE COULD NEVER BE ADEQUATE CARE OTHERWISE. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY UNTIL FINALLY THIS PLACE WAS CLOSED DOWN. DON'T BE MISLEAD BY PRIOR REPORTS HERE. AT ONE TIME, EVERYONE BELIEVED IT WAS A GOOD PLACE. BUT IT WAS ALL A SHAM. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY FOR YEARS. DO NOT SEND MONEY TO THIS PLACE. IT SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM GREAT NONPROFITS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

IT IS CLOSED DOWN. THAT IS THE BEST THAT COULD HAPPEN. THE ANIMALS HAVE BEEN REHOMED WITH OTHER LEGITIMATE RESCUES.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had a burro and horse - not adoptable, in need of a lifetime home...Wynne took them in, and they are so happy. What a beautiful sanctuary built on love and respect for the animals. Thank you for helping us, we are so grateful and we know they will have a good life with you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I first came to the sanctuary I simply fell in love with every animal there. I was amazed by all the hardships that each one had to go thru in their lives and how they still hold their heads up high! I was fortunate to be able to bring one of the horses home with me. His name is Blaze and he is the highlight of our little farm we have. Everyday he brings a smile to our faces. Even though I don't get to ride as much as I would like, he will never go hungry or without love from us. Anyone who has a love for animals should make the trip to see these wonderful animals. Spending a few hours with them will put a little spring back into your step! :o)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I found out that I had to find a new home for my burros, Nezzie and Daisy, I was told about HDLM by a close friend. I sent out an email which they promptly answered and in a few short weeks they had made a place for my two burros, Mom and Daughter, and my crippled paint horse, Rocky. They picked them up one day and took them to their new home. I thank them from the bottom of my heart for saving my two girls and guy and giving them the new home for the balance of their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make new four-legged friends by brushing burros or horses . . . clean and replace bedding in barn stalls . . . muck community paddock areas . . . add fresh water to the donkey and horse water troughs . . . cart hay . . . fill feed buckets . . . clean up the grounds . . . help out at a fundraiser . . . put on a fresh coat of paint . . . cut carrots and make tons of new friends in a single toss . . . help with a variety of ongoing or time-limited organizational and animal needs, based on your interests, abilities, special skills, availability, and willingness to learn! Volunteer