Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.850475
| 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next
Write A Review
April 27, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

As an animal communicator, I have had the invitiation & pleasure of speaking with some of the HDLM residents. They always expressed great joy and appreciation for being part of HDLM. Wynne, the director is also wonderful about corresponding with via e-mail. He has a loving heart for the work he does and a willingness to allow HDLM to evolve. I too have donated $ and am grateful for the letter of appreciation mailed my way as a result. Danielle Tremblay, NY

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

they are aware that the animals under their guardianship have their own awareness and divine nature. This is one of very few places actually aware of animals' conscious intelligence and ability to communicate and teach.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide sanctuary to more burros being displaced off of public lands while bringing awareness to how wonderfully amazing these being are in what they offer to teach humanity about love.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 24, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 24, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Hacienda de los Milagros is truly a magical place both for the animals who have found sanctuary there and for the people who visit them. Abandoned and abused horses and burros heal and thrive under the compassionate care and love of Director Wynne Zaugg. Visitors themselves have returned home healed, one woman having a notable improvement in her heart condition, after spending time with these gentle creatures. As an animal communicator I have spoken with many of the animals and recorded their wise words for humankind. At the Hacienda de los Milagros, we truly are all one.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

have everyone's hooves trimmed exactly when they need to be; hold experiential workshops for strengthening the animal-human relationship;provide hospice care for people so that their animals may remain with them.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a long time financial supporter of HDLM-Hacienda De Los Milagros. I've always appreciated their dates about the animals in their care. Although they were busy taking care of the animals, they never failed to send me a receipt and kind note thanking me for my donation now matter how big or small.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

They could open their doors to provide a permanent sanctuary to more animals so that they could live out their days in peace.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

What's odd is that I have never had the opportunity to visit Hacienda de los Milagros (HDLM.) I have a small group of individuals who are horse advocates trying to end horse slaughter and help local rescues. I learned that HDLM was having a rough time in this economy, loosing almost a third of their donation base. This is catastrophic for a non-profit. I started trying to get people to help HDLM, and in the meantime, I fell in love with the burros there! The group does a great job of marketing their Sanctuary on the website, describing all the animals, giving all their names, and when they arrived, while providing lots of wonderful pictures. I have donated several times, and I always get a nice receipt thanking me. I have spoken to the director, Wynne Zaugg, on the phone, and his attachment and communication with the animals is amazing. I now "talk" to Wynne regularly, communicating through email. HDLM has survived since around 1990 by developing a donation base, and by doing an excellent job with the animals there. Even the local feed-store praises them. It will be a magnificent day when I get to go visit the sanctuary, and talk to the burros myself!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach SO many more needy souls! The teachers want to reach as many as they can, providing personal growth, children's programs, and to heal the earth and all on it.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have visited and happily donated to the Hacienda De Los Milagros, Inc for about 5 years. This Teaching and Healing Sanctuary for 105 burros, 22 horses and other abused and neglected animals is amazing. Much is done for the animals with minimal finances. I am constantly impressed with the Executive Director, Wynne Zaugg. I have visited and am always amazed at his calling all animals by name and telling the touching stories of why they are their. The genuine concern for each animal is evident. Although, often struggling in this ecomony the atmosphere is positive and caring. I want to thank all for their wonderful work. There is a very spirtual feeling when you are in the presence of these sweet creatures.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

being in the presence of the animals. They are sweet, vulnerable, and have such a great spirit. I like feeding the burros and horses carrots. It makes me laugh out loud to see them run to the fence for their share of the goodies.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

| 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make new four-legged friends by brushing burros or horses . . . clean and replace bedding in barn stalls . . . muck community paddock areas . . . add fresh water to the donkey and horse water troughs . . . cart hay . . . fill feed buckets . . . clean up the grounds . . . help out at a fundraiser . . . put on a fresh coat of paint . . . cut carrots and make tons of new friends in a single toss . . . help with a variety of ongoing or time-limited organizational and animal needs, based on your interests, abilities, special skills, availability, and willingness to learn! Volunteer