Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
107 Reviews
1234.850475
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 18, 2013

I was a volunteer/ donor of the sanctuary and once becoming fully aware of the terrible situation those animals are in, they do not receive proper vet, hoof, dental care along with them facing missin... more

September 27, 2013

This was a terrible hoarding situation with 130+ equines that
suffered from not enough food, hoof care and dental care.
There was minimal vet care also. The parasite infestation
and mange infestation was terrible throughout the herd causing
many to rub their hair off and create
sores on their bodies
while baking in the sun with no hair protection.
I thank Hoof Prints of the Heart for stepping in to remove,
and provide all the necessary needs for the animals.
The founder of Hacienda de los Milagros, Wynne Zaugg, a known
hoarder is attempting to start another sanctuary and has
already taken in several horses and is begging for donations.
I urge all of you generous animal loving donors to NOT
give this man any money, this will only enable him to take
more animals and the suffering will start all over again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer/ donor of the sanctuary and once becoming fully
aware of the terrible situation those animals are in, they do not
receive proper vet, hoof, dental care along with them facing missing
meals. This organization is constantly out of money. My husband
also upon one
visit witnessed Wynne physically beating a horse.
This place is terrible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them. more

September 2, 2013

THIS WAS NOT A SANCTUARY BUT A HOARDING CONCENTRATION CAMP FOR EQUINES. ALL ANIMALS HAVE BEEN MOVED OUT TO LEGITIMATE RESCUES. ZAUGG WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES. THERE WAS NO MONEY TO FEED OR CARE FOR THE ANIMALS. THERE NEVER WAS. BAD FEET, 'SLIPPER' FEET ON BURROS, NO DENTAL CARE FOR ANY, NO MEDICAL CARE. WITH NOT ENOUGH MONEY TO FEED, THERE COULD NEVER BE ADEQUATE CARE OTHERWISE. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY UNTIL FINALLY THIS PLACE WAS CLOSED DOWN. DON'T BE MISLEAD BY PRIOR REPORTS HERE. AT ONE TIME, EVERYONE BELIEVED IT WAS A GOOD PLACE. BUT IT WAS ALL A SHAM. THE ANIMALS SUFFERED HORRIBLY FOR YEARS. DO NOT SEND MONEY TO THIS PLACE. IT SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM GREAT NONPROFITS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

IT IS CLOSED DOWN. THAT IS THE BEST THAT COULD HAPPEN. THE ANIMALS HAVE BEEN REHOMED WITH OTHER LEGITIMATE RESCUES.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

They took in a horse and burro for me. Their kindness and concern, gentleness were so greatly appreciated. The animals are loved and cared for so dearly...a spiritual place, a must see...bless them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I had a burro and horse - not adoptable, in need of a lifetime home...Wynne took them in, and they are so happy. What a beautiful sanctuary built on love and respect for the animals. Thank you for helping us, we are so grateful and we know they will have a good life with you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2013

more

June 9, 2013

https://www.facebook.com/Hoofprintsoftheheart
HoofPrints of the Heart in Marana AZ and Triple R Horse rescue in Cave creek AZ have rescued all the Burros and Horses formerly held at HDLM. All are currently getting the much needed vet and farrier care they have been lacking for so long. If you
wish to donate please send checks to HoofPrints of the Heart @ 12207 w. Swanson st Marana AZ 85653 or to Triple R @ P.O. Box 4925 Cave Creek AZ 85327.

Over the last week, Hoofprints Ofthe Heart and Triple R have worked diligently to remove all of the animals, approximately 80, from Hacienda de Los Maliagros, in Chino Valley. There have been numerous changes in the board of directors, but the conclusion was finally reached that the animals needed to be removed as they could not be cared for properly. Although some animals had to be euthanized, the remainer will be rehomed out of Hoofprints of the Heart and Triple R. This has required numerous trips from Marana and Cave Creek. Care For The Horses, Forever Home Donkey Rescue, and ATLASTA HOME HORSE RESCUE have all provided help with manpower and transportation. This would never have been done this effeciently without their support.

This endeavor has cost Hoofprints of the Heart and Triple R thousands of dollars. We are reaching out to the community at large and requesting donations be made to either of these rescues to help defray these unanticipated expenses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 29, 2012

more

December 29, 2012

My wife and I have visited the sanctuary twice and cannot describe the wonderful work being done by Wynn and the volunteers. Everyone should stop by and visit as it is a great experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2012

more

December 27, 2012

To other discerning supporters of animals: I have known Wynne Zaugg and HdlM since July 1997. I visited the santuary a year later. My wife and I have a private sanctuary in north Florida and I can state clearly some facts about HdlM: 1.) they are the "real deal" 2.) funds go to the animals' care there; no humans are getting rich 3.) HdlM's devotion to the lucky ones they assisst has never waivered over all these 15 1/2 years. Submitted with love & respect for Wynne & all the HdlM'ers. Michael & Gayle, Gus'Garden Sanctuary

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

HI Im an animal lover This is the first time THAT I Donated to an animal sanctuary but when i saw the faces on the animals i could not resist i wish i could help more but ill do what i can

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Hacienda De Los Milagros is a wonderful nonprofit! Whenever I have extra money to donate this is my first choice. I know Wynne and the rest of the team take great care of their animals and I am so thankful for them! Keep up the great work everyone and see you all soon!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was around November 2011 when i first saw Hacienda de los Milagros. I was looking for property with my realtor. I would come down at least once a week from Flagstaff in search of a home to purchase in the Prescott area. Quite by "accident" in this search, my realtor happened to drive by the sanctuary. I saw all the burros and I said, "Stop, I have to look at these gorgeous creatures." I got out of her car and walked over to the corral fence. At first there were about 3 or 4 burros who welcomed me. They wanted to be kissed on the nose and petted, which I easily complied with. Then one by one, more burros came to the fence for kisses and pats. Soon I was walking up and down the fence line, kissing and petting about 25 - 30 burros. As I walked, I saw a sign that said, "Hacienda de los Milagros a Teaching and Healing Sanctuary." I peaked around and saw a couple of barns, more burros and horses in other corrals. I remember thinking, "How can they have so many animals and it doesn't smell? " The grounds were very well cared for. As I walked around I noticed the beautiful condition of all the animals and how friendly they were. There were a few shy ones, but for the most part, the burros and horses wanted to say hi to me. Realizing most of these animals were rescued from neglect or abuse, and now live at Hacienda de los Milagros (HDLM), I became a fan immediately. These animals just oozed love. I told my realtor that I am going to volunteer here once I am settled into my new home. That became a reality in February, 2012. I started volunteering at HDLM as soon as I was mostly unpacked. I met the Wynne Zauug, the Executive Director and one of the founders of HDLM. When I met Wynne I figured out why these formally neglected and abused creatures oozed love for people. It is Wynne's love, dedication and respect for the animals that creates this. They learned to trust people. There is a mutual bonding that occurs after you have been on the grounds for just a very short while. The animals know they are safe now. They know they have a comfortable place to live out their days. They have other animal friends to hang out with. They get quality meals, grooming, medical care and lots and lots of hugs and pats from the people who visit, work, or volunteer at HDLM. Wynne enlists communicators that will listen and talk to the animals. He wants to know what they are thinking and feeling. Wynne always listens to what they have to say and responds to their requests. As I volunteered more and more, I had the opportunity to meet first hand many of the individuals who live there. I fell in love with them more and more. It is so gratifying to see happy animals, especially so because some of them came from not so happy backgrounds. But they are loved and happy now, and they know it. They give love back to those who come volunteer, work or visit. After several months of volunteering on the grounds of HDLM, I joined the Board of Directors. Now I am actively involved with the fundraising tasks for the sanctuary. I am so happy to dedicate my time and energy to this House of MIracles. Wynne has created many miracles with the animals who have come here to heal. The humans get healed too. Spending time with these magnificent beings, calms the soul. You slow down. Live in the moment. You get burro hugs and horse sniffs. You get to say hello and make new four legged friends. By the time you leave the property for home, you are filled with love, from the top of your head to the bottom of your feet. And you cannot wait to come back and do it all over again. Hacienda de los Milagros is a extremely worthy place to put your hard earned donation money. Every single dime that is donated goes towards the care of the animals. 100%. I hope you can come and visit the sanctuary soon. Visitors are always welcome and Wynne is there to take you on a personal tour and introduce you to those that live here. There are lots and lots of good stories to hear. Hacienda de los Milagros is a place of love and peace. Your soul will be revitalized any time you come and this good feeling stays with you for a long, long time. There is nothing like it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Compassion, Care and Love that these people have for these Beings are by far the greatest example of the capabilities of what Humans can provide to all inhabitants of this Planet. On very limited budget, all that have come here are treated with respect and are given the very best care possible. I have personally visited the Sanctuary and can give a first hand account of the Greatness and Devotion of this place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I love the animals here. They have such personalities. They love company and of course carrots. When you visit you can't help but leave with a warm feeling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make new four-legged friends by brushing burros or horses . . . clean and replace bedding in barn stalls . . . muck community paddock areas . . . add fresh water to the donkey and horse water troughs . . . cart hay . . . fill feed buckets . . . clean up the grounds . . . help out at a fundraiser . . . put on a fresh coat of paint . . . cut carrots and make tons of new friends in a single toss . . . help with a variety of ongoing or time-limited organizational and animal needs, based on your interests, abilities, special skills, availability, and willingness to learn! Volunteer