Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.876925
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

Habitot remains the one place that whenever my 3 and 5 year old visit, they leave with a smile. That puts a smile on my face too. No matter the season, no matter their mood or their parents mood, my children and I always find just what we are looking for at Habitot. It is a place my children can be active, climbing and playing. It is a place they can be peaceful, enjoying books with their parents. It is a place they can explore on 'their own' to help develop and foster their own sense of self. it is also a place where they can play with mom and dad - especially at the train table. BTW the train table is the place to learn about sharing. Habitot is a place for dramatic play and for letting the imagination grow. There is so much to Habitot, so many activities that vary by the season, all under one roof. Our family is very thankful for Habitot.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

My daughter just turned 5 and has been going to Habitot since she was 1 and still absolutely loves it. We have gotten tremendous use and value from the membership program given my daughter declared Habitot a must have visit every week (unlike any other place we have a membership).
I see her
imagination run wild as she dresses up as a fire fighter, takes orders in the restaurant, figures out how a car wash works, goes shopping for food and builds the longest trains and tallest buildings she possibly can.
What I also see is her jumping in to navigate on her own because things are her size, overcoming issues like being sensitive to noise when she plays in the wind tunnel and learning to share and talk with other kids she doesn't know.
As a parent I have used many of the tip cards on fun ways to help your child learn and enjoy getting emersed in the activities with her. We have gone to all of the museums, exploratoriums, hall of science, etc. in the bay area but none of them seem to capture and keep my daughters attention like Habitot does. There is no other place that serves the younger children like Habitot does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add natural light and outdoor play space and a place to eat.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2013

An outstanding place to play and connect with the little people. Both of my kids loved spending time at Habitot and when I look around their bedroom the artwork and crafts that we've kept are mostly from Habitot. The art classes are superb utilizing high quality materials and expert hands-on instruction. The play space in the museum is so enriching and engaging for young children; they literally don't stop moving and exploring and creating from the minute they walk through the doors.

Staff are super friendly and helpful. As the name suggests it's a sanctuary for little ones and for young parents a guaranteed hit when you're looking for a special place to take your kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would say a better location...space needs to be bigger and allow natural lighting, heating and cooling systems.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

My three-year-old and one-year-old have a blast every time we visit Habitot. They enjoy every minute of the water room, the grocery store, the wind tunnel, the art room, etc., etc. I love watching my boys exploring, creating, laughing, and pretending at Habitot. We go as often as we can and it never gets old. Habitot also offers helpful hints related to the exhibits that I find really helpful as a parent. For example in the art room, they have a wonderful handout about how to help foster creativity in your child. Habitot is a wonderful resource. I also love that after a morning of fun at Habitot, my boys take fantastic naps in the afternoon!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More space for more creative exhibits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 21, 2013

Both of my boys, who are now 5 and 7, spent many mornings and weekends when they were toddlers and preschoolers playing and learning at Habitot. They enjoyed the African drumming lessons, painting on the art wall, dressing up as fire fighters, veterinarians, and astronauts, washing cars in the car wash and running boats down the water slide, shopping for pretend groceries, climbing through the wall tunnel, and so much more. Habitot was a place for them, their grandparents, their nanny, and me and my husband to play and grow together as a family. In fact, they still love visiting Habitot, even though they're onto their elementary school worlds now too. Habitot is a wonderfully creative and safe venue for young children and their families to explore together. When I joined the Board of Habitot a few years ago, I learned about many of the other wonderful contributions that Habitot makes to the community too. These are after-hours programs that much of the public does not see. Habitot opens its doors for gatherings of children with special needs; provides a safe place for parents who are recently out of incarcerated to reunite and play with their children; provides a welcoming space for GLBT families; and works with homeless families as well, and so much more. Habitot is a rare and wonderful place for all types of families in the Bay Area, and it serves a critical socal function as well. It also couldn't have a better leader than its founder and executive officer extraordinaire, Gina Moreland.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it an opportunity to grow with an expanded space, including outdoor space, that would allow it to serve an even broader audience, and provide it with more funding that would allow it, among other things, to expand its hours to serve even more of the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

Habitot Children's Museum has meant a great deal to my family - especially to my two daughters. Hardly a week goes by where the older one does not ask to go to Habitot. The younger one, well she cannot talk yet, but I see how big her smile is when she is there. We have been to Habitot so many times over the past few years to take classes, for our daughter to attend camp, for birthday parties, for parent's night out, and to attend the museum. After each and every single visit we have walked away glad we came. We say this not just because our kids have fun there. Habitot is more than just a fun place to play. We say that because Habitot has helped my children grow, nurtured their curiosity, and stimulated their development. Habitot has also helped my wife and I with all of the wonderful things Habitot provides parents. From parenting literature to the book library to the toy library to parents night out, Habitot supports parents and care givers. I will not forget the time when my then 2 year old daughter had a difficult time sharing at the train table and I looked up and saw the brochure on sharing and taking turns on the wall. Nor will I forget the first time I took our younger daughter in to the area for pre- and new walkers and saw her crawl through a padded obstacle for the first time. Moments like these with our kids are very precious for my wife and I. We thank Habitot for providing so many smiles, and so many lessons.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

My children beg me to take them to Habitot, even my 6-year old. It is a really creative space where kids can play and develop their imaginations. My children love to pretend they are astronauts as they climb aboard the spaceship exhibit wearing space gear and they like to pretend they are running a car wash in the water play area.

Habitot is more than just a children's museum. It is a place for parent education and it helps parents connect with their kids through play. In addition, Habitot has special playtimes for kids who would normally not get to go to a children's museum such as homeless kids, disabled kids and kids of teenage mothers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my kids really enjoy playing at Habitot and I am reminded of the benefits of joyful and creative play in a world filled with electronics and structured activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

publicize it to the greater East Bay community

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

My wife and I have had our son's 1st and 3rd birthday parties at Habitot, and clearly we've found it to be an excellent place to host our friends, and for young children to play and learn. The exhibit space is modest in size, compared to some larger children's museums, but it is very well designed and thought out. Our son looks forward to going to Habitot every time. He's had alot of fun there for several "Parents Night Out" drop-offs (the rare dates my wife and I can manage in our busy lives, and w/o grandparents or other family living in the area). He also participated this past summer in a couple week-long "summer camps" (4 hours/day), learning and exploring science, and interacting with children and adults from outside his preschool/day care. Great experiences all around, and I'm very proud to be a supporter and fan of the museum.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

birthday parties; Parents Night Out; summer camps; volunteered as a Board member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it find more of an audience and more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

fundraising

What is its top priority in the long run?

exploring alternative venue options

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

My 14 month old enjoys the activities at Habitot so much, I wanted to see how I could become more involved to help this great organization thrive and be available for future generations. I recently joined the Board of Directors to help Habitot continue the good work it currently does!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Becoming involved with the Board of Directors and working with other great volunteers to help the organization grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the organization find a space that would allow it to offer more activities

September 22, 2011

more

September 22, 2011

I had the opportunity to rent the museum out for my sons 4th birthday. What an amazing experience. The staff was fantastic and the intimate experience of sharing the museum with their friends and family was something we all enjoyed.

This is a special place to introduce young children to
- a place that changes the way they see things, and through their eyes how you see learning and growing all over again....

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a parent and as a board member for two years. Habitot touches the lives of so many children and their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more fundraising support in order to expand. An outdoor area and additional space for exhibits tailored to 5-8 year olds would be allow for further exploration opportunities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Word of mouth

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Supporting programs critical to children of low income families

What is its top priority in the long run?

Capital raising for new facility

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean and repair the museum for families during a "Spit & Polish Day"; teach a music class for kids during open hours; help our administrative offices make a dent in data entry (you would be our hero!). Volunteer