Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.876925
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I just love this place and everything it stands for. Our young girls love it too! It's creative, safe, friendly. Thank you so much for all you do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep that funding going!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

What a Spectacular Place! Perfect for me - a grandmother with 2 year old twins and their 3 year old sister. We open the door and they are off for morning of discovery and we adults just stand back and watch. No matter how corded it is they seem to figure out how to interact without adults getting involved. It is a very unique place. There are so few places designed for preschoolers. I just learned about their outreach programs for mothers and their children on the fringe. I am going to become a member and support this very worthy local endeavor - definitely an important asset in our very diverse community,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have been an employee for Habitot about a year now and I still can't get enough of it. It's the cutest place I've ever been and all the children love it. The only downside is their crying when Habitot closes. I recall one girl last week screaming "I WANNA STAY AT HABITOT FOREVERR!" Habitot is a great non-profit that any kid would be lucky to experience. I plan on bringing my new baby cousin very soon =].

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Habitot is a great resource for parents. It's a wonderful location for entertaining children of multiple age levels and interests, giving us moms time to take a breath and even get a conversation in while the kids engage with art and creativity activities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

For my 2 year old grandson and I, Thursday is "Habitot Day!" We have been regulars since Anthony turned one-- and we just renewed our membership! On the way there, Anthony tells me what he will do first and what he will do next. Although he originally bee-lined for the train table, he is now quite the devotee of Elise's and Nora's art projects. (I am amazed at the clever ways these ladies engage the children in art-- from salt painting to chalk and water on contour maps!) My grandson has certain children he has come to be friends with; they squeal in delight when they see each other! Whether it is the water room or the wiggly wall or spaceship or pillow and reading room, Anthony has really grown both socially and intellectually with this program. I can remember the little guy who toddled from one activity to another; now he is much more sustained in the processes! I am so thankful for this rather amazing and creative place to come and have fun in a stimulating, safe and educational way. The exhibits change periodically so there is always a new twist on what is presented, along with the oldies. We are all so fortunate to have this creative play place with its amazing and supportive staff. As a teacher in public schools for thirty years, I would say I am pretty clear on an engaging environment for children; Habitot is definitely that! I have used the parenting book library as a good source of ideas and the toy lending library is a kick! What fun to try out a new toy or game for several weeks. Come on by if you haven't done so. You will certainly leave with a smile!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

Habitot offers a wonderful learning and play environment for young children. Both my 5 year old and 20 month old daughters absolutely love playing at Habitot. From dressing up as astronauts and playing in the rocket ship to splashing about in the water room, there is always something fun to keep their bodies and imaginations active. We are yet to partake in any of the classes offered (due to a clash with pre-school times) however we plan to join in over the Summer. You can find photos and a write up about our first visit to Habitot at the following link: http://littlehiccups.blogspot.com/2012/02/habitot-childrens-museum.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

We took our two year old daughter few months ago and she had a blast there, especially in the space area in astronaut dress and the water fun area. I highly recommend Habitot to any parents with toddler or school age kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

I am a nanny of three young boys. Twins ages 4 and the youngest is 9 months old and Habitot provides something fun for each one of them. I've been taking the oldest boys to Habitot before their brother arrived and even today, 2 years later, the excitement of Habitot continues. The exhibit that changes frequently is usually one of their favorite places in the museum because they get to transform into firemen, veterinarians, or another fun, imaginative people or things. The twins have very different interests and its nice to go to Habitot with them because I get to interact with each individually, in a safe environment, doing something THEY love. One loves to play waiter and chef in the kitchen, play trains, and read in the cozy book room, while the other loves to do all things art, water play and face paint. Even though the place is small, we usually find at the end of our time visiting, there were still things we were unable to do because the space is used so well. Every place you turn there is another fun activity/adventure to grab the kids' attention.

With the 9 month old, the toddler/infant area provides a nice place to let the little ones move without needing to be right on their tail. However, I have found that there really isn't any place within Habitot that isn't suited for a little one on the move.

As the adult, my favorite part of Habitot is the grocery/kitchen area. I love this area because I get to play "customer" while all the kids, not just the kids I nanny for, pretend to cook for me, serve me food, and interact with me in such a fun way. In some ways the kids and the adults get to switch roles and I can watch as their brains and imaginations grow.

Habitot provides a safe environment for young kids to interact with others in their community doing imaginative play, art, water play, and even household activities. I believe this organization is a necessary part of the community and I will be taking the kids I nanny for and eventually my own children there for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the children develop their imaginations. I've also watched the boys take many things that they have learned or done at Habitot and incorporate those things into their lives at home, school or even on the playground.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a larger space.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

How did you learn about this organization?

Recommendations from other happy Habitot go-ers.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Both my 3 year old and my 13 month old very much enjoy what Habitot has to offer. My 3 year old especially enjoys the art. I love the art studio because she gets to express herself artistically and I get to let her do it without worrying about the mess that I would if we were at home. My 13 month old loves crawling and cruising around and is always discovering something new! As a stay at home mom, Habitot is a lifesaver!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching my children delight in learning!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it free for parents.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Amazing atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and amazing exhibits for young children. I took my friend's two young children here when babysitting one day and they loved it. There are many opportunities for free admission and involvement such as safety classes and parenting workshops that are beneficial for everyone to know. I have been to the museum about 5 times now and always have had a wonderful experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the attitudes of the children while at and after the museum. They often ask me to take them because they enjoy it so much and they are learning so many things at once that I love taking them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand. Both in exhibits and target audience. They have such an amazing grasp on early childhood needs and behaviors, I'm sure they have a wealth of knowledge for young grade school children as well.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean and repair the museum for families during a "Spit & Polish Day"; teach a music class for kids during open hours; help our administrative offices make a dent in data entry (you would be our hero!). Volunteer